LISTING OF AUTHORS BY LITERARY FORM
Anthologies
Baraka, Ameer
Biographies
Angelou, Maya (Autobiography)
Hurston, Zora Neale (Harlem Renaissance)
Johnston, James Weldon (Harlem Renaissance)
Troupe, Quincy (African American Biography)
Washington, Booker T. (Autobiography)
Wright, Richard
X, Malcolm (Autobiography)
Comedy
William Allen
John Aylmer
Henry Barrow
Haley, Alex
Hurston, Zora Neale (Harlem Renaissance)
Essays
Baldwin, James
Bambara, Toni
Baraka, Ameer
Reed, Ishmael
Washington, Booker T.
X, Malcolm
Fiction
Adoff, Arnold
Andrews, Raymond
Ansa, Tina
Baisden, Michael
Baldwin, James
Bambara, Toni
Briscoe, Connie
Butler, Octavia
Campbell, Bebe Moore
Cary, Lorene
Chase-Riboud, Barbara
Chesnutt, Charles
Childress, Alice
Cleage, Pearl
Cooper, J. California
Dickey, Eric Jerome
Ellison, Ralph
Gaines, Ernest
Haley, Alex
Harris, E. Lynn
Hill, Donna
Himes, Chester
Hurston, Zora Neale (Harlem Renaissance)
Jones, Gayl
Kincaid, Jamaica
Lamar, Jake
McMillan, Rosalyn
McMillian, Terry
Marshall, Paule
Mitchell, Sharon L.
Morrison, Toni
Mosley, Walter
Naylor, Gloria
Parks, Gordon
Reed, Ishmael
Roby, Kimberla
Shange, Ntozake
Sinclair, April
Toomer, Jean (Harlem Renaissance)
Trice, Dawn Turner
Tyree, Omar
Walker, Alice
Walker, Margaret
Wesley, Valerie Wilson
Wideman, John Edgar
Wright, Richard
Yerby, Frank
History
Bethune, Mary (African American)
Harper, Francis
Thurmond, Michael (Local History)
Photography
Parks, Gordon
Plays
Ellison, Ralph
Hansberry, Lorraine
Poetry
Adoff, Arnold
Angelou, Maya
Baraka, Ameer
Brooks, Gwendolyn
Brown, Sterling
Childress, Alice
Cullen, Contee (Harlem Renaissance)
Giovanni, Nickie
Hayden, Robert
Hughes, Langston (Harlem Renaissance)
Johnston, James Weldon (Harlem Renaissance)
Jordan, June
McKay, Claude (Harlem Renaissance)
Parks, Gordon
Reed, Ishmael
Shange, Ntozake
Toomer, Jean (Harlem Renaissance)
Walker, Alice
Walker, Margaret
Sermons
King, Martin Luther, Jr.
Speeches
King, Martin Luther, Jr.
Washington, Booker T.
X, Malcolm
Videos
Walker, Alice
return to top
BIOGRAPHIES
Books
African American Writers: Portraits and Visions. Jackson: University
Press of Mississippi, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.9896 KOOLISH
American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Call No.: R 920.073 AMERICAN
Contemporary Authors. Detroit: Gale Research Co. 1967-1979.
Call No.: R 920
Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
Call No.: R 920
Current Biography Yearbook. New York: H.W. Wilson Co.
Call No.: R 920 CURRENT
Something About the Author
Call No.: R 920.03
return to top
CRITICISM
Books
Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts From Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black
Authors Over the Past 200 Years. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992- .
Call No.: R 809 BLACK
Black Women Writers(1950-1980): a Critical Evaluation. Garden City, N.Y. : Anchor
Press/Doubleday, 1984.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.9 BLACK
Contemporary Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1984- .
Call No.: R 809 CONTEMPO
Masterplots: 1,801 Plot Stories and Critical Evaluations of the World's Finest Literature.
2nd ed. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1996.
Call No.: R 809 MAGILL
Modern Black Writers. Supplement. New York : Continuum, 1995.
Call No.: R809.8896 SERAFIN
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1981- .
Call No.: R 809
Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the works of the most significant and widely
studies poets of the world literature. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc, 1991- .
Call No.: R 809.1 POETRY
Short Story Criticism. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1988- .
Call No.: R 809.31 SHORT
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co.
Call No.: R 809
Searching the PINES Catalog
Go to PINES Catalog
Search for works by a particular author by listing the author (last name first name) and then select
"Author".
Works about these authors (Criticism or biography) may be found by
entering the name (last name first) and selecting "Subject".
Example: Hurston, Zora Neale
return to top
REVIEWS
Web Sites
African American Literature Book Club
Author profiles, bestsellers, book reviews, and discussion boards.
Book-Remarks.com Book Reviews
"The website that promotes books written by or about African Americans." Contains book reviews
as well as links to author interviews, literary events, and book previews.
return to top
GENERAL
Web Sites
African-American Authors: Adult Fiction and Drama
A list of authors with links to bibliographies of works available at the Wisconsin
Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped. While the Athens-Clarke County
Library does not have all of the titles shown, this list provides a source
of African American authors prior to 2000.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
". . . A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black
women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access
to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured
in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these
19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is key-word-searchable.
Each individual title as well as the entire database can be searched to determine
what these women had to say about "family", "religion", "slavery" or any other
subject of interest to the researcher or casual reader."
The Fat African American Library
List of titles by African American authors arranged by subject.
Infoplease Crossword Puzzle- African American Writers
Interactive Crossword Puzzle focusing on African American authors. Difficult but fun.
Books
Contemporary Black American Fiction Writers. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 813.5409 CONTEMPO
Contemporary Black American Poets and Dramatists. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.9896 CONTEMPO
Black Writers: a Selection of Sketches from Contemporary Authors. Detroit, Mich.: Gale
Research, 1989.
Call No.: R 920 BLACK
Gumbo: a celebration of African American Writing. New York: Harlem Moon/Broadway Books,
2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.8089 GUMBO
Saints, Sinners, Saviors: Strong Black Women in African American Literature. New York:
Palgrave, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.9352 HARRIS
My Soul has Grown Deep: Classics of Early African-American Literature. Philadelphia: Running
Press, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.8 MY
Words with Wings: a Treasury of African-American Poetry and Art. New York:
HarperCollins/Amistad, 2001.
Call No.: JNF 811.008 WORDS
Call No.: YA 811.008 WORDS
African-American Writers: A Dictionary. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Call No.: R 810.9 AFRICAN
The Vintage Book of African American Poetry. New York: Vintage Books, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 811.008 VINTAGE
African American Women Writers. New York: J. Wiley, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.9928 WILKINSO
The Civitas Anthology of African American Slave Narratives. Washington, D.C.: Civitas/Counterpoint, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 973.0496 CIVITAS
The Furious Flowering of African American Poetry. Charlottesville, Va.: University Press of Virginia, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 811.0098 FURIOUS
African-American Literature: an Anthology. 2nd ed. Lincolnwood, Ill.: NTC Pub. Group, 1998.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.8 AFRICAN
I, Too, Sing America: Three Centuries of African-American Poetry. Boston: Houghton Mifflin,
1998.
Call No.: JNF 811.008 I
Call No.: YA 811.008 I
return to top
HARLEM RENAISSANCE (1900-1940)
Web Sites
Reuben, Paul P.
Chapter 9: Harlem Renaissance from PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
Includes primary works, selected bibliographies, images, study questions, and more for individual authors
of the Harlem Renaissance.
Circle's Harlem Renaissance History and Links
Includes an introduction of this period, a timeline, and a list of links.
Harlem 1900-1940: Schomburg Exhibit Timeline
A timeline of Harlem history between 1900 and 1940, including many of the writers and poets of the Harlem
Renaissance.
Poets of the Harlem
Renaissance and After- The Academy of American Poets.
Provides brief description of the Harlem Renaissance and the major black poets at that time.
Writers of the Harlem Renaissance
Provides short biographies of some of the writers during this movement.
Books
Krasner, David. A Beautiful Pageant: African American Theatre, Drama, and Performance in the Harlem Renaissance, 1910-1927. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 812.5209 KRASNER
Howes, Kelly King and Christine Slovey. Harlem Renaissance. Detroit: UXL, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 700.8996 HOWES
Remember me to Harlem: the letters of Langston Hughes and Carl Van Vechten, 1925-1964. New
York: Knopf, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 818.5209 HUGHES
This Waiting for Love: Helen Johnson, Poet of the Harlem Renaissance. Amherst: University
of Massachusetts Press, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 811.54 JOHNSON
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.8089 NORTON
Lost Plays of the Harlem Renaissance, 1920-1940. Detroit, Mich.: Wayne State University
Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 812.52 HATCH
Harlem's Glory: Black Women Writing, 1900-1950. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press,
1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.8092 ROSES
Jacques, Geoffrey. Free Within Ourselves: the Harlem Renaissance. New York: F. Watts, c1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 700.8996 JACQUES
Haskings, James. The Harlem Renaissance
Call No.: NONFIC 700.8996 HASKINS
Call No.: JUV 700.8996 HASKINS
Shimmy shimmy shimmy like my sister Kate: Looking at the Harlem Renaissance through Poems.
New York: H. Holt, 1996.
Call No.: YA 811.5089 GIOVANNI
Wall, Cheryl A. Women of the Harlem Renaissance. Bloomington:
Indiana University Press, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 810.9896 WALL
return to top
|