KEYWORDS
African American [geographic term]
African Americans - Genealogy - Bibliography
African Americans - Genealogy - Handbooks, Manuals, etc.
African Americans - Genealogy - Sources
Cemeteries
Confederate States of America. Army - African American troops
Death Notices
Epitaphs
Free African Americans
Freedmen
Marriage notice
Registers of births, etc.
Slave bills of sale
Slaves - [geographic term] - Genealogy
Soldiers, Afro-American
United States of America - History - Civil War, 1861 - 1865 - Participation, African American
return to top
DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
929.1 Genealogy
929.2 Family Histories
929.3 Genealogical Sources
929.4 Personal Names
929.5 Cemetery Records
929.6 Heraldry
929.8 Awards, Orders, Decorations, Autographs
975.8 Georgia History
See Also:
973.1 Early American History to 1607
973.2 American Colonial Period (1607-1775)
973.3 American Revolution & Confederation
973.4 American Constitutional Period (1789-1809)
973.5 American History, 1809-1845
973.6 American History, 1845-1861
973.7 Administration of Abraham Lincoln & American Civil War
973.8 American Reconstruction Period (1865-1901)
973.9 American History, 1901-
return to top
BASIC "HOW TO"
Books
Boy Scouts of America. Genealogy. Irving, Texas: Boy Scouts of
America, 1988.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1 BOY
This is a good first book on genealogy, as in a few pages it gives you the basics and
will make the other beginner's books easier to understand.
Burroughs, Tony. Black Roots: a beginner's guide to tracing the African American
family tree. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1089 BURROUGH
Probably the best known recent book on beginner's African American genealogy research.
It is highly readable, well-organized and has a great bibliography that can give you
ideas on other places to look.
Carmack, Sharon DeBartolo. Organizing Your Family History Search: efficient
& effective ways to gather and protect your genealogical research. Cincinnati: Betterway Books,
1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1 CARMACK
Croom, Emily Anne. Unpuzzling Your Past: a basic guide to genealogy. 3rd ed.
Cincinnati: Betterway Books, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1 CROOM 1995
This is a good beginning book on basic genealogy. Logically organized and easy to
read and understand.
Dollarhide, William. Managing a Genealogical Research Project. Baltimore:
Genealogical Pub. Co., 1990.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1 DOLLARHI
A good guide to managing papers and forms and setting up a system as you begin your
research.
Greenwood, Val D. The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy. 3rd ed.
Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1 GREENWOOD 3rd ed.
The "bible" of American genealogical research. It is crammed with important information.
Good to keep on hand to refer to when having question or problems.
Hinckley, Kathleen W. Locating Lost Family Members & Friends: modern
genealogical research techniques for locating the people of your past and present.
Cincinnati: Betterway Books, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1072 HINCKLEY
Smith, Franklin Carter and Emily Anne Croom. A Genealogist's Guide
to Discovering Your African American Ancestors. Cincinnati: Betterway Books,
2003.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1089 SMITH
First four chapters appropriate for beginners. The explanation on how to read and
analyze the census information is particularly helpful.
Thackery, David T. "Tracking African American Family History,"
in The Source: a guidebook of American genealogy. 3rd ed. Salt Lake City: Ancestry, Inc.,
1997, p. 574-586.
Call No.: GR 929.1072 SOURCE 1997
Discusses various types of records created by different entities like governments, churches,
etc. that are essential tools for genealogical research. This chapter focuses on those of
particular interest to people researching African Americans.
Walker, James Dent. Black Genealogy: how to begin. Athens, GA: University of
Georgia, Center for Continuing Education, 1977.
Call No.: GR 929.1 WALKER
Woodtor, Dee Parmer. Finding a Place Called Home: a guide to African-American
genealogy and historical identity. New York: Random House, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1089 WOODTOR
Most valuable for covering intermediate and advanced research techniques and sources, and
providing a historical context for your research.
return to top
REFERENCE TOOLS
Web Sites
Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States
"Guidelines for citing unpublished records it holds in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area,
and in the Regional Records Services facilities, the Presidential Libraries system, and Affiliated
Archives. The guidelines cover citations to textual records, microform records, non-textual
archives (i.e., photographic records, posters, motion pictures, tape recordings, cartographic
records, and architectural drawings), electronic records, and online references."
Vital Records Information, United States
"This page contains information about where to obtain vital records (such as birth, death
& marriage certificates and divorce decrees) from each state, territory and county of the
United States. See the guidelines for information on how to order vital records. If you are
looking for vital records from a foreign county, see my links to foreign vital records web
sites."
Books
Almanac of American History. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1983.
Call No.: R 973.0202
Bentley, Elizabeth Petty. The Genealogist's Address Book. Baltimore:
Genealogical Publishing Co., 1998.
Call No.: GR 929.1 BENTLEY
A state by state listing of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies,
genealogical societies and any other place or organization that might have
historical or genealogical records
Black, Henry Campbell. Black's Law Dictionary: definitions of the terms
and phrases of American and English jurisprudence, ancient and modern. 7th ed.
St. Paul: West Publishing co., 1990.
Call No.: R 340 BLACK
Black Studies: a select catalog of National Archives microfilm
publications. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration,
1984.
Call No.: GR 016.973 UNITED
This is a catalog of microfilm publications from the National Archives that
relate directly to Blacks or contain significant amounts of materials about
Blacks in the United States. The information provided includes:
- title of the microfilm publication
- a general description
- background of the office creating or accumulating the records
- type, scope, and organization of the records
- usually a detailed roll listing
The records listed can often be found at one of the Regional Archives or at
the National Archives. Many are also available from the Family History Library
through your local Family History Center. The catalog is also available online
at
http://www.archives.gov/publications/microfilm_catalogs/black_studies/black_studies.html
.
Dictionary of American History. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons,
1976- .
Call No.: R 973.03
Eichholz, Alice. Ancestry's Red Book: American state, county & town
sources. Rev. ed. Salem, UT: Ancestry, 1997.
Call No.: GR 929.1072 EICHHOLZ
Arranged alphabetically by state, this resource provides a guide to records available in each
state that are useful in genealogical research. Under each state listing and keyed to a state
map, there is also a list of counties with information on what records are available for each
county and when the county was formed. There is often a Special Focus Categories section that
has information on state specific materials for Black American research.
Federal Population Census Schedules 1790-1930.
Call No.: GR Microfilm
Also available through Ancestry Library Edition (GALILEO)
Schedules for the census that is taken every 10 years. This census was begun in 1790 and
continues to the present day. Although the raw data from each census is used for
reapportionment and statistical analysis, the individual information remains closed for
privacy reasons for 72 years.
The Handy Book for Genealogists: the United States of America. 10th ed.
Draper, UT: Everton Pubs., 2002.
Call No.: GR 929.1072 EVERTON 2002
Kemp, Thomas Jay. International Vital Records Handbook. 4th ed. Baltimore: Gen.
Pub., Co., c2000.
Call No.: GR 929.373 KEMP
Printed Sources: a guide to published genealogical records. Salt Lake City:
Ancestry, 1998.
Call No.: GR 016.929 PRINTED
Guide to published materials of all kinds including geographic tools, ethnic sources,
bibliographies and catalogs, published indexes, vital and cemetery records, church sources,
published probate records, printed land records, military sources, immigration sources, county
and local histories, biographies, family histories and genealogies and much more.
Mills, Elizabeth Shown. Evidence! : citation & analysis for the family
historian. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1997.
Call No.: 929.1 MILLS
Most current and comprehensive book to date on evaluating and analyzing evidence and
on citing sources of all kinds. Evidence! is essential reading and reference
for every family historian.
Rose, James and Alice Eichholz. Black Genesis: a resource book for African American
genealogy. 2nd ed. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co, Inc., 2003.
Call No.: GR 929.1 ROSE
This book, arranged alphabetically by state, provides basic information on the history of
African Americans in each state and a break down of the types of records that should be
checked for your African American ancestors in each state. As you find your ancestors
in a state be sure to check this title as a basic tool. For Georgia the 2nd edition is
not comprehensive; but it is a starting place, and a huge improvement over the 1st edition.
Rose, Christine. Nicknames: past and present, a list of nicknames for given
names used in the past and present times. San Jose: Rose Family Association, Inc., 1987.
Call No.: GR 929.4 ROSE
Rubincam, Milton. Pitfalls in Genealogical Research. Salt Lake City:
Ancestry, 1987.
Call No.: GR 929.1 RUB
This small book is worth triple its weight in gold with the tips it provides on avoiding
errors and assumptions.
Szucs, Loretto D. and Sandra H. Luebking. The Source: a guidebook of
American genealogy. 2nd ed. Salt Lake City: Ancestry, Inc., 1997.
Call No.: GR 929.1072 SOURCE 1997
Thorndale, Williams and William Dollarhide. Map Guide to the U.S.
Federal Censuses, 1790-1920. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1987.
Call No.: GR 911.73 THORNDAL
return to top
BACKGROUND MATERIALS
Web Sites
African American World
Created by the Public Broadcasting Service. "Your guide to African American history
and culture. From Sojourner Truth to Jacob Lawrence, discover the courage and talent that
shaped the African American experience."
Books
Bass, Patrik Henry and Karen Pugh. In Our Own Image: treasured African American
traditions, journeys, and icons. Philadelphia: Running Press, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 973.0496 BASS
Photographs and memorabilia are used to tell the story of African Americans.
Dennis, Denise. Black History for Beginners. New York: Writers and Readers Pub.,
1984.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.896 DENNIS
Franklin, John Hope and Alfred A. Moss, Jr. From Slavery to Freedom: a history
of Negro Americans. 6th ed. New York: Knopf, 1988.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.896 FRANKLIN
Title has remained a standard through numerous updates and revisions.
Gutman, Herbert George. The Black Family in Slavery and Freedom, 1750-1925.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1976.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.85 GUTMAN
Provides much factual data about African American history and family relationships and
dynamics during the period covered.
Smead, Howard. The Afro-Americans. New York: Chelsea House, 1989.
Call No.: NONFIC 973.0496 SMEAD
Stevenson, Brenda E. Life in Black and White: family and community in the
slave South. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.8 STEVENSO
return to top
GENERAL GENEALOGY
Web Sites
Afrigeneas
"AfriGeneas is a site devoted to African American genealogy, to researching
African Ancestry in the Americas in particular and to genealogical research and resources in
general. It is also an African Ancestry research community featuring the AfriGeneas mail list,
the AfriGeneas message boards and daily and weekly genealogy chats."
Christine's Genealogy Website
A forum, links and stories. Contributors are also working to load cemetery transcriptions
online.
Cyndi's List, African American Category
Comprehensive categorized listing of genealogical websites.
Online Searchable Death Indexes & Records: a genealogy guide.
"Gathers together links to online death indexes by state and county. Included are death
indexes, obituaries, probate indexes and cemetery and burial indexes."
Family Search- church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Particularly useful for beginning researchers on this site is the U.S. Social Security Death
Index. In addition in the Search section, under Research Guidance and Research Helps,
are outlines and guides to assist in your research. There are also CDs available from the
LDS Church in the Heritage Room.
ROOTS-L Home Page
"The main genealogy discussion list Web site. Contains: the ROOTS-L library, with hundreds
of files, including how to obtain vital records, useful tips for beginners, book lists, etc.;
the Roots Surname List or RSL, a list of over 900,000 surnames and contact information for the
almost 100,000 people researching them; GENSERV, a massive database comprised of the GEDCOMs
of over 11,000 submitters; the U. S. Civil War Units file; United States Resources: A Web page for
every state in the United States, with links to genealogical and historical resources; and the
ROOT-L archives, searchable."- Source: Librarian's' Index to the Internet.
RootsWeb.com
"Billing itself as The Oldest & Largest FREE Genealogy Site, RootsWeb
includes search engines and databases, family trees (over 70 million names), surname and
geographical mailing lists, and message boards. The site also hosts other volunteer projects
such as the Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild and Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness.
Although it remains free to users, RootsWeb is now sponsored by Ancestry.com, whose databases
(both free and pay) can also be searched from this site."
Source: Librarians' Index to the Internet.
USGenWeb Project
"This comprehensive site provides links to all the state genealogy Web sites which,
in turn, provide gateways to the counties. They also sponsor Special Archiving Projects that
include putting all U.S. census data online; transcribing cemetery tombstone information;
tracking single lineage; and genealogy for children. In addition, there is an excellent guide
to doing genealogy research that also includes such information as caring for old documents;
repairing old books; preserving old photographs; and publishing your results."
Source: Librarians' Index to the Internet.
return to top
CEMETERIES
Web Sites
African American Cemeteries Online
Although this homepage has not been updated since October 2003, you can get a
list by state of cemeteries for which information has been submitted. one can
participate in the African American cemetery forum (moved to Afrigeneas), and
access the excellent links for additional cemetery information.
Books
Brooke, Ted O. The Cemetery Book: cemetery preservation, restoration, and
recording. Atlanta: Georgia Genealogical Society, 1989.
Call No.: GR 363.69 BROOKE
Cemeteries of the U.S.: a guide to contact information for U.S. cemeteries
and their records. Washington, D.C.: Gale Research, Inc., 1994.
Call No.: GR 929.5 CEMETERI
Lay Down Body: living history in African American cemeteries. Detroit:
Visible Ink Press, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 393.9 WRIGHT
Call No.: GR 393.9 WRIGHT
return to top
MAPS & GEOGRAPHY
Web Sites
David Rumsey Map Collection
Over 8,000 historical maps in digital format, available for personal use.
Library of Congress- American Memory Collections: Original Format: Maps
Maps from the American Memory digital collection.
United States Geological Survey,
Geographic Names Information System
"Our Nation's official repository of domestic geographic names
information." Query page for mapping information located at
http://geonames.usgs.gov/pls/gnis/web_query.gnis_web_query_form.
UT Library Online- Perry
Castaneda Map Collection- Historical Map
This site has a wonderful collection of historical maps from all over the world.
The site also provides links to other good web sites.
Books
Carnes, Mark C. and John A. Garraty. Mapping America's Past: a historical
atlas. New York: Henry Holt & Co., 1996.
Call No.: R 911 CARNES
Call No.: NONFIC 911 CARNES
Ferrell, Robert H. and Richard Natkiel. Atlas of American History.
New York: Facts on File, Inc., 1993.
Call No.: NONFIC 911.73 FERRELL
return to top
MILITARY SERVICE & RECORDS
Books
Lanning, Michael Lee. The African-American Soldier: from Crispus Attucks
to Colin Powell. Secaucus, New Jersey: Carol Publishing Group, 1997.
Call No.: GR 355.008 LANNING
Call No.: NONFIC 355.008 LANNING
Hewett, Janet B. The Roster of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865. 16 vols.
Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot Publishing, Co., 1995-96.
Call No.: GR 973.742 HEWETT
Hewett, Janet B. The Roster of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865. 33 vols.
Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot Publishing, Co., 1997.
Call No.: GR 973.741 HEWETT
Contains volunteers and draftees, not regular Army.
Hoyt, Max Ellsworth and Frank Johnson Metcalf. Index of Revolutionary War
Pension Applications. 3 vols. Washington, D.C.: National Genealogical Society,
1943-1963.
Call No.: GR 939 HOYT
**See Also Corrections to the Index of Revolutionary War Pension Applications.
Washington, D.C.: National Genealogical Society, 1965.
Johnston, Richard S. and Debra Johnson Knox. How to Locate Anyone Who Is or Has
Been in the Military: Armed Forces locator guide. 8th ed. Spartanburg: MIE Publishing, 1999.
Call No.: R 355.0025 JOHNSON
Call No.: NONFIC 355.0025 JOHNSON
Moore, Brenda L. To Serve My Country, To Serve My Race: the story of the only
African American WACS stationed overseas during World War II. New York: New York University
Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 940.5403 MOORE
Nalty, Bernard C. Strength for the Fight: a history of Black Americans in the
military. New York: The Free Press, a division of Macmillan, Inc., 1986.
Call No.: NONFIC 355.0089 NALTY
White, Virgil D. Genealogical Abstracts of Revolutionary War Pension Files. 4 vols.
Waynesboro, TN: National Historical Publishing Company, 1990-1992.
Call No.: GR 973.34 WHITE
White, Virgil D. Index to Old Wars Pensions Files, 1815-1926. Waynesboro, TN: National
Historical Publishing Company, 1993.
Call No.: GR 929.373 WHITE
White, Virgil D. Index to Pension Applications for Indian Wars Service Between 1817 and
1898. Waynesboro, TN: National Historical Publishing Company, 1997.
Call No.: GR 929.373 WHITE
White, Virgil D. Index to Revolutionary War Service Records. 4 vols.
Waynesboro, TN: National Historical Publishing Company, 1995.
Call No.: GR 973.4 WHITE
White, Virgil D. Index to War of 1812 Pension Files. 2 vols. Waynesboro, TN:
National Historical Publishing company, 1992.
Call No.: GR 973.524 WHITE
World War I Selective Service System Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918: [microform]:
Georgia. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 2000.
Call No.: GR 929.3758
Microform copies of the cards for Clarke, Oconee and Oglethorpe Counties. The originals of all of
these for the entire nation are in the Southeast Regional Archives at East Point. Digital versions
of these records for some states are also accessible through Ancestry Library Edition (GALILEO)
.
Wynn, Neil A. "War, Society and the Afro-American," in The Afro-American
and the Second World War. New York: Homes & Meier Publishers, 1976. p. 1-20.
Call No.: NONFIC 940.5315 WYNN
return to top
NEWSPAPERS
Web Sites
Afro-American Newspapers on Microfilm at the University of Georgia Libraries.
Listing of the African American newspapers on microfilm at UGA. Provides state, city,
title. UGA Call No., years published, and the years UGA owns.
Books
Brigham, Clarence S. History and Bibliography of American newspapers,
1690-1820. vol. 1. Hamden,[CT]: Archon Books, 1962.
Call No.: GR 071.3016 BRIGHAM V.01
Danky, James Phillip. African-American Newspapers and Periodicals:
a national bibliography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Univ. Press, 1998.
Call No.: GR 051.7303 AFRICAN
Gregory, Winifred, ed. American Newspapers, 1821-1936: a Union List of
files available in the United States and Canada. Millwood, NY: Kraus Reprint, 1967.
Call No.: GR 016.071 AMERICAN
Henritze, Barbara K. Bibliographic Checklist of African American Newspapers.
Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., Inc. 1995.
Call No.: GR 071.3 HENRITZE
return to top
ORGANIZATIONS & SOCIETIES
Web Sites
African American Historical and Genealogical Society
"The Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc. (AAHGS) strives to preserve
African-ancestored family history, genealogy, and cultural diversity by teaching research
techniques and disseminating information throughout the community. Our primary goals are to
promote scholarly research, provide resources for historical and genealogical studies, create
a network of persons with similar interests, and assist members in documenting their histories."
National Genealogical Society
"The National Genealogical Society, a non-profit organization founded in 1903, is the premier
national society for everyone from the beginner to the most advanced family historian. The NGS
serves its members by:
- Providing genealogical skill development through education, information, publications,
research assistance, and networking opportunities;
- Establishing and promoting the highest standards of ethical research principles and
scholarly practices;
- Establishing important links with other groups worldwide;
- Providing depth and breadth of knowledge and opportunities for our members;
- Creating programs to increase public awareness of opportunities to discover family
history; and,
- Promoting interest in the fascinating field of genealogy and family history."
return to top
INTERMEDIATE RESEARCH
Web Sites
National Archives and Records Administration- Genealogy- African American Research.
This is a research guide with links from the Genealogy section under the Research Room on the
web site.
Books
Fears, Mary L. Jackson. Slave Ancestral Research: it's something else.
Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, Inc., 1995.
Call No.: GR 929.2 FEARS
Call No.: NONFIC 929.2 FEARS
Hatcher, Patricia Law. Producing a Quality Family History.
Salem, UT: Ancestry, Inc., 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1072 HATCHER
Kemp, Thomas Jay. The Genealogist's Virtual Library: full-text books on
the World Wide Web. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, Inc., 2000. p. 207-220.
Call No.: GR 025.0692 KEMP
These titles are from digital collections of major repositories. Therefore the digitizations
are reliable and accurate; and furthermore, unlikely to be withdrawn from the Web. The pages
listed in the citation are those from the African Americans section in the chapter on "General
Subjects"
Montgomery, Elvin. Collecting African American History: a celebration of America's
Black Heritage Through Documents. New York: Stewart, Tabori, and Chang, 2001.
Call No.: 9730496 MONTGOME
Smith, Franklin Carter and Emily Anne Croom. A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering
Your African American Ancestors. Cincinnati, Ohio: Betterway Books, 2003.
Call No: NONFIC 929.1089 SMITH
return to top
FREE BLACKS
Books
Heinegg, Paul. Free African American of North Carolina, Virginia,
and South Carolina from the Colonial Period to About 1820. 4th ed. 2 vols. Baltimore, MD:
Clearfield, 2001.
Call No.: GR 929.375 HEINEGG
Stevenson, Brenda E. Life in Black and White: family and community in
the slave South. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.8 STEVENSO
Woodson, Carter G. Free Negro Owners of Slaves in the United States in 1830,
Together with Absentee Ownership of Slaves in the United States in 1830. New York:
Negro Universities Press, 1968. ©1924.
Call No.: GR 305.5 WOODSON
return to top
SLAVE TRADE & SLAVERY
Web Sites
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1719-1820.
"A database of information on 100,000 slaves who were brought to Louisiana in
the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains "African slave names, genders, ages, occupations,
illnesses, family relationships, ethnicity, places of origin, prices paid for slaves,
and slaves' testimony and emancipations." Searchable by name, master, gender,
racial designation, time period, plantation location, and origin. "Miscellaneous
Searches" has lists of African names, slaves involved with revolts, and runaways.
Demographic tables are available." Source: Librarians' Index to the Internet
Books
Gomez, Michael Angelo. Exchanging our Country Marks: the transformation of
African identities in the Colonial and Antebellum South. Chapel Hill: University of North
Carolina Press, 1998.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.896 GOMEZ
Johnson, Walter. Soul by Soul: life inside the Antebellum slave market.
Cambridge. Massachusetts: Harvard Univ. Press, 1999.
Call No.: GR 976.335 JOHNSON
Thomas, Hugh. The Slave Trade: the story of the Atlantic Slave Trade: 1440-1870.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 380.122 THOMAS
U.S. Census Population Schedules. 1850, 1860.
Separate Slave Schedules taken as part of the census process. These list the
names of the slave owners and then tally the dwellings on the property and the
slaves by gender and age.
Watson, Alan. Slave Law in the Americas. Athens, GA: University of Georgia
Press, 1989.
Call No.: GR 342.7087 WATSON
return to top
ADVANCED RESEARCH
Books
African American and American Indian Patriots of the Revolutionary War.
Washington, D.C.: National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, 2001.
Call No.: GR 973.344 AFRICAN
Ham, Debra Newman. List of Black Servicemen Compiled from the War Department
Collection of Revolutionary War Records. Washington: National Archives and Records Service,
General Services Administration, 1985.(Special list, no. 36)
Call No.: GR 929.3 LIST
List of Black Heads of Household in the First Census of the United
States 1790. Washington: National Archives and Records Service, General Services
Administration, 1973. (Special List no. 34).
Call No.: Currently In Processing
return to top
GEORGIA- BASIC TOOLS
Web Sites
Old Georgia Newspapers
This is an online listing of newspapers that have been microfilmed by the Georgia
Newspaper Project. These microfilms are located in the basement of the University
of Georgia Main Library in Athens. The list includes newspaper title, years available,
call number and where it was published and the site is searchable by town, county,
name of newspaper, and county map. This site does not index each paper, it just
indicates which newspapers might be available.
Books
Davis, Robert Scott, Jr. The Georgia Black Book: morbid, macabre &
sometimes disgusting records of genealogical value- just when you thought it was safe
to get back into genealogy. Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press.
Call No.: GR 929.3758 DAVIS V.1 (1982)
Call No.: GR 929.3758 DAVIS V.2 (1987)
Davis, Robert Scott, Jr. and Ted O. Brooke. Georgia Research: a handbook
for genealogists, historians, archivists, lawyers, librarians, and other reseachers.
Atlanta, GA: Ga. Genealogical Society, 2002.
Call No.: GR 929.1758 DAVIS
Call No.: NONFIC 929.1758 DAVIS
Davis, Robert Scott, Jr. A Researcher's Library of Georgia History, Genealogy,
and Records Sources. Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, 1987.
Call No.: GR 929.3758 DAVIS V.1
Call No.: GR 929.3758 DAVIS V.2
Thurmond, Michael L. Freedom! Georgia's Anti-slavery Heritage, 1733-1865.
Atlanta, GA: Longstreet Press, 2002.
Call No.: GR 975.8 THURMOND
Call No.: NONFIC 975.8 THURMOND
An overview of African American history in Georgia and of the conflicting economic pulls
between anti-slavery and pro-slavery factions from Georgia's colonization by Oglethorpe
until the end of the War Between the States. This is essential reading for anyone with
African American ancestors in Georgia.
return to top
GEORGIA- INTERMEDIATE RESEARCH
Books
Georgia 1850 Slave Schedule Census Index. Salt Lake City, Utah:
Accelerated Indexing Systems International, Inc., 1988.
Call No.: GR 317.58 GEORGIA
Georgia 1860 Slave Schedule Census Index. North Salt Lake, Utah:
Accelerated Indexing Systems International, Inc., 1990.
Call No.: GR 317.58 GEORGIA
Martin, Joann. Slave Bills of Sale Project. 2 vols. Atlanta, GA:
African American Family History Association, Inc., 1986.
Call No.: GR 929.3758 SLAVE
United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Marriage records of the Office of the Commissioner, Washington Headquarters of the
Bureau of Refugees, Freemen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870. Washington D.C.: National
Archives and Records Administration.
Call No.: MF 929.3 M1875
United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands. Records
of the Field Offices for the State of Georgia, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen,
and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Congress and National Archives
and Records Administration.
Call No.: MF 929.3758 M1903
United States, National Archives and Records Administration. Records of
the Field Offices for the State of Georgia, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and
Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Congress and National Archives and
Records Administration, 2003.
Call No.: GR 929.3758 M1903
Pamphlet describing microfilm publication M1903.
White, Index to Georgia Confederate Pension Files. Waynesboro, TN:
National Historical Publishing Company, 1995.
Call No.: GR 929.3758 WHITE
return to top
GEORGIA- ADVANCED RESEARCH
Personal Papers
Often have information on slaves. These can be found at repositories throughout the state.
Examples of collections to look in are:
- The Georgia Archives
- Special collections departments in academic libraries (public and private)
- Local history collections and archives in communities
Dissertations and Theses
- Public Library Services- has copies on microfilm of a
number of dissertations and theses concerning Georgia. This microfilm is available for
reference use at the library at Public Library Services or can be requested on ILL.
Public Library Services created print lists of these materials and the Heritage Room
has these (uncataloged) print listings.
- Doctoral Dissertations on Georgia- Covers dissertations
written from 1941-1969. An alphabetical listing by author. Not indexed. Will need to go
through all the pages and look at the subjects listed in the far right column.
- Georgia: a dissertation collection at the Georgia Department of Education,
Division of Public Library Services, Subject Index - Author Index.-
Has a table of contents that shows the pages the subject listings begin. Has both subject
and author indexes. Although there is no introductory information the provides dates,
these seem to pick up around 1970 and go through the 1908s.
- Dissertation Abstracts at ProQuest- Access through
GALILEO. Full texts of these dissertations can be purchased online, but are
somewhat pricey.
return to top
|