Biographies
Web Sites
- African Americans in History
University of Georgia site, short biographies of famous African Americans, including Harriet Tubman, Booker T. Washington, W.E.B. DuBois, James Langston Hughes, Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Colin Powell and Carole Moseley Braun.
- The Booker T. Washington Papers
Complete text of all 14 volumes of Booker T. Washington's papers, published by the University of Illinois Press
- A Biographical Sketch of W.E.B. DuBois
Short biography of W.E.B. Dubois by Gerald C. Hynes, part of the W.E.B. DuBois Learning Center website.
- The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Written by Mitchell C. Brown, Mathematics and Physics Librarian, Princeton University,has short biographical sketches of African-Americans who have made significant contributions in science and engineering.
- The Frederick Douglass Papers
Library of Congress site, includes newspaper articles, letters, speeches and legal documents, the site also contains a chronology of Douglass' life and his family tree.
- Harriet Tubman - Moses of Her People
Short biography of Harriet Tubman by Jane Johnson Lewis, part of About.com's Guide to Women's History.
- The King Center
Founded by Coretta Scott King in 1968, website includes a biography of Martin Luther King, a selected bibliography, information on the Martin Luther King holiday and a list of programs and services provided by the King Center
- The Malcolm X Museum
Includes a virtual tour, a brief biography of Malcolm X, speeches, interviews, letters, articles, photographs and discussion boards
- Martin Luther King and the Civil Rights Movement
Seattle Times website, includes a short biography of Martin Luther King, Jr., selected speeches, web links and photographs.
- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
Stanford University site, includes speeches, letters, papers, a biography, photographs, video and audio clips and lesson plans.
- Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave
University of California at Berkeley Digital Library site, complete text of Douglass' autobiography with prefaces by William Lloyd Garrison and Wendell Philips.
- The Official Web Site of Malcolm X
Includes a biography, quotations, photographs and the text of the eulogy delivered by Ossie Davis.
- Rosa Parks, Pioneer of Civil Rights
Short biography of Rosa Parks on the Academy of Achievement website, includes an interview and photographs.
- To Be More Than Equal: The Many Lives of Martin R. Delany, 1812-1885
Written and compiled by Jim Surkamp, includes a chronology of Delany's life and the texts of some of his books, letters, poems and newspaper articles.
Books
- Beckner, Chrisanne. 100 African-Americans who Shaped American History. San Francisco: Bluewood Books, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0496 BECKNER
- Fradin, Judith Bloom. The Power of One: Daisy Bates and the Little Rock Nine. New York: Clarion Books, 2004.
Call Number: JB BATES
- Douglass, Frederick. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave. New York: Signet Classic, 1997.
Call Number: BIO DOUGLASS
- Fradin, Dennis B. Ida B. Wells: Mother of the Civil Rights Movement. New York: Clarion Books, 2000.
Call Number: JB WELLS
- Franklin, John Hope and Meier, August, editors. Black Leaders of the Twentieth Century. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1982.
Call Number: R 920.0092 BLACK
- Frost, Helen. Sojourner Truth. Mankato, MN: Pebble Books, 2003.
Call Number: JB TRUTH
- Garrow, David J. Bearing the Cross: Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. New York: W. Morrow, 1986.
Call Number: BIO KING
- Gates, Henry Louis, editor. Bearing Witness: Selections from African-American Autobiography in the Twentieth Century. New York: Pantheon Books, 1991.
Call Number: NONFIC 920 BEARING
- Gray, Fred D. Bus Ride to Justice: Changing the System by the System: The Life and Works of Fred D. Gray, Preacher, Attorney, Politician. Montgomery, AL: Black Belt Press, 1995.
Call Number: BIO GRAY
- Hunter-Gault, Charlayne. In My Place. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux, 1992.
Call Number: BIO HUNTER-GAULT
- Jones, Amy Robin. Mary McLeod Bethune. Chanhassen, MN: Child's World, 2001.
Call Number: JB BETHUNE
- Jordan, Vernon E. Vernon can Read!: A Memoir. New York: Public Affairs, 2001.
Call Number: BIO JORDAN
- King, Martin Luther, Jr., edited by Clayborne Carson. The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr. New York: Warner Books, 1998.
Call Number: BIO KING
- Kudlinski, Kathleen. Harriet Tubman: Freedom's Trailblazer. New York: Aladdin Paperbacks, 2002.
Call Number: JB TUBMAN
- Larson, Kate Clifford. Bound for the Promised Land: Harriet Tubman, Portrait of an American Hero. New York: Ballantine, 2004.
Call Number: BIO TUBMAN
- Lewis, David L. W.E.B. Du Bois: Biography of a Race, 1868-1919. New York: H. Holt, 1993.
Call Number: BIO DUBOIS
- Lewis, John. Walking with the Wind: A Memoir of the Movement. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1998.
Call Number: BIO LEWIS
- Manheimer, Ann S. Martin Luther King Jr.: Dreaming of Equality. Minneapolis: Carolrhoda Books, 2005.
Call Number: JB KING
- Meadows, James. Jesse Jackson. Chanhassen, MN: Child's World, 2001
Call Number: JB JACKSON
- Myers, Walter Dean. Malcolm X: A Fire Burning Brightly. New York: HarperCollins, 2000.
Call Number: JB X
- Parks, Rosa. Rosa Parks: My Story. New York: Dial Books, 1990.
Call Number: JB PARKS
- Rappaport, Doreen. Martin's Big Words: The Life of Martin Luther King, Jr. New York: Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children, 2001.
Call Number: JB KING
- Ribeiro, Myra. The Assassination of Medgar Evers. New York: Rosen Pub. Group, 2002.
Call Number: JB EVERS
- Rustad, Martha E. H. George Washington Carver. Mankato, MN: Pebble Books, 2002.
Call Number: JB CARVER
- Stein, Judith. The World of Marcus Garvey: Race and Class in Modern Society. Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana State University Press, 1986.
Call Number: BIO GARVEY
- Troy, Don. Booker T. Washington. Chanhassen, MN: Child's World, 1999.
Call Number: JB WASHINGTON
- Williams, Juan. Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary. New York: Times Books, 1998.
Call Number: BIO MARSHALL
- X, Malcolm, with the assistance of Alex Haley. The Autobiography of Malcolm X. New York: Ballantine Books, 1973.
Call Number: BIO MALCOLM X
Portrait of Frederick Douglas--Photograph Number 200-FL-22, National Archives Gift Collection, Record Group 200, National Archives and Records Administration
Portrait of Harriet Tubman--Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, [reproduction number LC-USZ62-7816]
Portrait of W.E.B. Dubois--Portrait of W.E.B. Dubois, Carl Van Vechten, photographer. Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, [reproduction number LC-USZ62-42528]
Portrait of Malcolm X--Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, [reproduction number LC-USZ62-119478]
Portrait of Martin Luther King--Library Of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, [reproduction number LC-U9-11696-9A]
Portrait of Rosa Parks--Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, [reproduction number LC-USZ62-109426]

Athens Regional Library System
2025 Baxter Street · Athens, Georgia 30606 · (706) 613-3650