DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
Web Sites
305.26 Social Aspects
574.372 Biology of Aging
612.67 Human Physiology
613.0438 Health
613.704 Physical Fitness
618.97 Geriatrics
641.5627 Cooking For
646.79 Personal Living
720.43 Architecture For
return to top
LOCAL RESOURCES
Athens Community Council on Aging
(706) 549-4850
Resources for education, information, referral, counseling, & general assistance. Programs
include senior center, home delivered meals, transportation services, home care services, adult
day care, employment and volunteer services.
Northeast Georgia Area Agency on Aging
(706) 369-5650
The Area Agency on Aging (AAA) contracts with counties, private organizations, senior centers,
attorneys at law, and non-profit organizations to provide services to the elderly. Multiple services
include adult day care & respite, home delivered meals, legal assistance, to senior community services
search.
Oconee County Senior Center
(706) 769-3979
Social Security Office
(706) 227-1195 or (800) 325-0778
Special Need Library of Athens Regional Library
(706) 613-3650
UGA Gerontology Center
(706) 425-3222
Coordinates and promotes multi- and inter-disciplinary aging research, training, and outreach at The
University of Georgia.
return to top
GENERAL
Web Sites
AARP
Information about family, service, elections, computers, health, legislation, money, travel, and fun.
"AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan membership organization for people age 50 and over."
Administration on Aging
Services for seniors—health, housing, news, rights; a key to a broad range of government resources.
Benefits Check-up
Service of the National Council on the Aging. Free. "Nation's most comprehensive online service to
screen for federal, state, and some local private & public benefits for older adults (ages 55 &
over)."
Eldercare Locator
"Links those who need assistance with state & local agencies on aging & community-based
organizations that serve older adults & their caregivers."
Elderweb
Research and news site on elder care, long term care, legal, financial, medical and housing issues
for seniors. Extensive index under "Finance & Care."
FirstGov for Seniors
Access to many services; a sample includes Social Security questions, comparing nursing homes, consumer
action, elder abuse, Medicare options, applying to be a Peace Corps volunteer.
GrandDriver
Pilot program providing the chance to learn more about the effects of aging on driving.
Georgia Senior Service Search
Search engine to locate services for seniors in Northeast Georgia.
Books
Anderson, Norma B. Emotional Longevity: What Really Determines How Long You Live.
New York: Viking, 2003.
Call No.: NONFIC 612.68 ANDERSON
Dychtwald, Ken. Age Power: How the 21st Century will be Ruled by the New Old. New
York: Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.2609 DYCHTWAL
Ellis, Albert. Optimal Aging: Get Over Getting Older. Chicago: Open Court, 1998.
Call No.: NONFIC 158.1 ELLIS
Greene, Phyllis. Shedding Years: Growing Older, Feeling Younger. New York: Villard,
2003.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.26 GREENE
Linkletter, Art. Old Age is Not for Sissies: Choices for Senior Americans. New York:
Viking, 1988.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.26 LINKLETT
Lipschitz, David A. Breaking the Rules of Aging. Washington, DC: Lifeline Press, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 613.0438 LIPSCHIT
The Practical Guide to Aging: What Everyone Needs to Know. New York: New York University
Press, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 646.7909 PRACTICA
Raines, Robert Arnold. A Time to Live: the Seven Tasks of Creative Aging. New York:
Dutton, 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 155.67 RAINES
Resource Directory for Older People. Bethesda, MD: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services,
Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, 2001.
Call No.: R 362.6 RESOURCE
Roizen, Michael F. RealAge: Are You as Young as You Can Be? New York: Cliff Street Books,
1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 613.0434 ROIZEN
Schneider, Edward L. Ageless: Take Control of Your Age and Stay Youthful for Life. Emmaus,
Pa.: Rodale, 2003.
Call No.: NONFIC 612.68 SCHNEIDE
Vaillant, George E. Aging Well: Surprising Guideposts to a Happier Life from the Landmark
Harvard Study of Adult Development. Boston: Little, Brown, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 305.2609
return to top
COMPUTERS & SENIORS
Web Sites
Blogger
Google's site that lets anyone create a blog - a web page that serves as a publicly accessible personal journal for an individual.
Computers for Beginners
For beginning computer users, especially Internet users, to learn the basics.
CyberSeniors
Award-winning organization dedicated to connecting seniors & teaching them how to use computers.
SeniorNet
Information & services to help seniors become computer literate: on-line tutorials, gallery of
meetings & computer projects, discussions & chat sites.
Books
Frank W. Cawood & Associates. Computers for Seniors. Peachtree City, GA:
FC&A, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 004.16 COMPUTER (Available Through PINES)
Sherman, Richard A. Mr. Modem's Internet Guide for Seniors. San Francisco: SYBEX,
2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 004.678 SHER (Available Through PINES)
West, Joe. 300 Incredible Things for Seniors on the Internet. Marietta, GA:
300incredible.com, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 025.06 WES (Available Through PINES)
return to top
CHILDREN & CAREGIVERS OF AGING PEOPLE
Web Sites
Benefitscheckup.org
Gives personal report of public programs & benefits you may qualify for.
Caregiver.org
Family Caregiver Alliance offers caregiving advice & information, fact sheets, newsletters, &
news.
Careplanner.org
Offers help in assessing needs & finding type-of-care options. Also in Spanish.
Children of Aging Parents
Nonprofit organization that provides information and support services to caregivers of older
people.
ElderCare Online
Resources for people caring for aging loved ones. Articles, tips, chat lines on a wide variety
of topics including long term care and improving communication.
Family Caregiver Guides
Several good guides for caregivers, from care management, choosing a nursing home, doctor
communications, checklists for healthcare encounters, and more.
Books
Beerman, Susan. Eldercare 911: the Caregiver's Complete Handbook for Making Decisions.
Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.874 BEERMAN
Carnot, Edward J. Is Your Parent in Good Hands?: Protecting Your Aging Parent from
Financial Abuse and Neglect. Sterling, VA: Capital Books, 2004.
Call No.: NONFIC 362.6097 CARNOT
Focus on the Family: Complete Guide to Caring for Aging Loved Ones. Wheaton, Ill.:
Tyndale House Publishers, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.8 FOCUS
return to top
DEATH & DYING
Web Sites
AARP Internet Resources on Aging: Death & Dying
Click on the section on Death and Dying for links on end of life issues, funeral practices, grief,
hospice, and more.
About.com: Death & Dying
About.com's site dedicated to death, dying, terminal illness, funerals, euthanasia, hospice, grief, bereavement and pet loss.
US Living Will Registry
Electronically stores advance directives & makes them available to health care providers through
secure & private links by phone or Internet. Forms and explanations are provided.
Books
Ashenburg, Katherine. Mourner's Dance: What We do When People Die. New York: North
Point Press, 2003.
Call No.: NONFIC 393.9 ASHENBUR
Basta, L. Life & Death on Your Own Terms. Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 174.24 BASTA
Bstan- 'dzin-rgya-mtsho, Dalai Lama XIV. Advice on Dying and Living a Better Life.
New York: Atria Books, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 294.344 BSTAN'D
Death and Dying Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information for the Layperson About
End-of-Life Care and Related Ethical and Legal Issues... Detroit: Omnigraphics, 2000.
Call No.: R 362.175 DEATH
Kubler-Ross, Elisabeth. On Death and Dying. New York, NY: Simon & Schuster/
Touchstone Book, 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 155.973 KUBLER-R
Welshons, John E. Awakening from Grief: Finding the Way Back to Joy. Makawao, Maui, HI:
Inner Ocean: Distributed by Publishers Group West, 2003.
Call No.: NONFIC 115.937 WELSHONS
return to top
HEALTH
Web Sites
ADEAR
Current, comprehensive information and resources on Alzheimer’s Disease.
Alliance for Aging Research
Non-profit organization supporting medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and
health.
American Society on Aging: Live Well, Live Long
Health promotion and disease prevention for older adults. Includes optimal medication use,
strategies for cognitive utility, and more.
Clinical Trials
Clinical trials database from the National Institutes of Health. Searchable by disease, location,
treatment, etc.
Health and Age Centers
"Interactive health information for seniors, written by medical professionals. Accurate, reliable
help to identify, prevent, treat, and understand health issues, and communicate with health
professionals."
InfoAging.org
Latest research on the biology of aging, age-related health conditions, and healthy aging.
NIH Senior Health
Up-to-date information on specific diseases & conditions, treatment and medications for seniors
from the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE Plus. Text size is adjustable; spoken option
available.
Books
Fielding, Betty. The Memory Manual: 10 simple things you can do to improve your
memory after 50. Clovis, CA: Quill Driver Books, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 153.1 FIELDING
The Johns Hopkins Medical Guide to Health After 50: the Latest Recommendations from
the Hopkins Specialists. New York: Rebus, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 613.0434 JOHNS
Lieverman, Trudy. Consumer Reports Complete Guide to Health Services for Senior:
What Your Family Needs to Know About Finding and Financing Medicare, Assisted Living, Nursing Homes,
Home Care, Adult Day Care; with Ratings of Medicare HMOs and Supplemental Policies. New York: Three
Rivers Press, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 362.16 CONSUMER
Looking After Your Body: an Owner's Guide to Successful Aging. Pleasantville, NY:
Reader's Digest, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 613 LOOKING
Michaels, Evelyne. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging: the Complete Guide to Health
and Well-Being in Your Later Years. Toronto: Key Porter Books, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 613.0438 MICHAELS
Small, Gary W. The Memory Bible: an Innovative Strategy for Keeping Your Brain Young.
New York: Hyperion, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 153.14 SMALL
Restak, Richard M. Older and Wiser: How to Maintain Peak Mental Ability for as Long as
You Live. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1997.
Call NO.: NONFIC 155.67 RESTAK
Wei, Jeanne Y. Aging Well: the Complete Guide to Physical and Emotional Health. New
York: Wiley, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 613.0438 WEI
return to top
HOSPICE
Web Sites
Home Care and Hospice Agency Locator
Database of 22,500+ home care and hospice agencies.
National Hospice Foundation
Support & information on hospice care options. Locate hospice facilities. Extensive advance
directives and care planning. Forms for all states.
Books
Burnell, George. Final Choices. New York: Insight Books, 1993.
Call No.: NONFIC 174.24 BURNELL
Smith, Doug. Care-giving: Hospice-proven Techniques for Healing Body & Soul. New
York, NY: Macmillan, 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 362.1 SMITH
return to top
HOUSING
Web Sites
Administration on Aging: Housing
Information on housing from independent living to nursing facilities.
HUD for Senior Citizens
Housing options for seniors, from assisted living to stay-in-your-home. Good links. Option for
Spanish language.
Retirement Living Gateway to Resources for Senior Living
Housing options, tax considerations, retirement news, and more.
Senior Resource.com - Housing Choices
Information on senior housing options with extensive links. Quality varies.
Books
Cleveland, Joan. Everything You Need to Know about Retirement Housing. New York:
Penguin Books, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 646.79 CLEVELAN
Consumer Reports. Consumer Reports Complete Guide to Health Services for Seniors. New
York: Three Rivers Press, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 362.16 CONSUMER
Raschko, Bettyann Boetticher. Housing Interiors for the Disabled and Elderly. New York:
Van Nostrand Reinhhold, 1982.
Call No.: NONFIC 643.604
Telford, Gillian. Making the Right Move: Housing Options for Seniors. North Vancouver,
BC: International Self-Counsel Press, 2004.
Call No.: NONFIC 363.5946 TELFORD
return to top
HUMOR
Books
Cosby, Bill. Time Flies. New York: Doubleday, 1987.
Call No.: NONFIC 818.5402 COSB
Gould, John. Tales from Rhapsody Home, or What They Don't Tell You about Senior
Living. Chapel Hill, N.C.: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 818.5209 GOULD
Rivers, Joan. Don't Count the Candles: Just Keep the Fire Lit. New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 1999.
Call No.: 814.54 RIVERS
return to top
NUTRITION
Books
Meals on Wheels
Meals on Wheels program information.
Nutrition for Seniors
Information & the latest news from MedlinePlus, checklists, directories, and a health check
tool.
Seek Wellness: Nutrition & Aging
Articles on nutrition & aging, a nutrition program for the elderly, healthy eating guide, and
more.
Books
Atkins, Robert C. Dr. Atkins' Age-defying Diet Revolution. New York: St. Martin's
Press, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 613 ATKINS
Edell, Dean. Eat, Drink, and Be Merry. New York, NY: Quill, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 613 EDELL
Gittleman, Ann Louise. How to Stay Young & Healthy in a Toxic World. Los Angeles:
Keats, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 613 GITTLEMA
return to top
SOCIAL SECURITY
Books
Social Security
The official Social Security site includes assistance for planning retirement, calculating Social
Security benefits, applying for benefits, etc.
Books
Epstein, Lita. Complete Idiot's Guide to Social Security. Indianapolis, IN: Alpha
Books, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 368.43 EPSTEIN
Matthews, J.L. Social Security, Medicare, & Government Pensions. Berkeley, CA:
Nolo, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 344.7302 MATTHEWS
Tomkiel, Stanley A. Social security Q & A: Your Guide to Navigating the System
and Getting What You're Owed. Naperville, Ill.: Sphinx Pub., 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 344.73 TOMKIEL
return to top
TRAVEL
Web Sites
Access-able Database
Find accessible accommodations, transportation, equipment repair around the world.
Access-able Travel Source
Travel tips, feature tours, newsletter on travel for mature & disabled travelers.
Elderhostel
Educational travel programs for people over 55. Thousands of national & international
programs.
Travel Information for Seniors
From the Travelocity site, travel bulletins, cruising, tours & packages, security, plus more.
return to top
|