![]() |
Age is Opportunity
|
||
|
DDC NUMBERS :
LOCAL RESOURCES :
GENERAL :
COMPUTERS & SENIORS : | |||
DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
| 305.26 | Social Aspects |
| 574.372 | Biology of Aging |
| 612.67 | Human Physiology |
| 613.0438 | Health |
| 613.704 | Physical Fitness |
| 618.97 | Geriatrics |
| 641.5627 | Cooking For |
| 646.79 | Personal Living |
| 720.43 | Architecture For |
LOCAL RESOURCES
Athens Community Council on Aging
(706) 549-4850
Resources for education, information, referral, counseling, & general assistance. Programs include senior center, home delivered meals, transportation services, home care services, adult day care, employment and volunteer services.
Northeast Georgia Area Agency on Aging
(706) 369-5650
The Area Agency on Aging (AAA) contracts with counties, private organizations, senior centers, attorneys at law, and non-profit organizations to provide services to the elderly. Multiple services include adult day care & respite, home delivered meals, legal assistance, to senior community services search.
Oconee County Senior Center
(706) 769-3979
Social Security Office
(706) 227-1195 or (800) 325-0778
Special Need Library of Athens Regional Library
(706) 613-3650
UGA Gerontology Center
(706) 425-3222
Coordinates and promotes multi- and inter-disciplinary aging research, training, and outreach at The University of Georgia.
GENERAL
Web Sites
AARP
Information about family, service, elections, computers, health, legislation, money, travel, and fun. "AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan membership organization for people age 50 and over."
Administration on Aging
Services for seniors—health, housing, news, rights; a key to a broad range of government resources.
Benefits Check-up
Service of the National Council on the Aging. Free. "Nation's most comprehensive online service to screen for federal, state, and some local private & public benefits for older adults (ages 55 & over)."
Eldercare Locator
"Links those who need assistance with state & local agencies on aging & community-based organizations that serve older adults & their caregivers."
Elderweb
Research and news site on elder care, long term care, legal, financial, medical and housing issues for seniors. Extensive index under "Finance & Care."
FirstGov for Seniors
Access to many services; a sample includes Social Security questions, comparing nursing homes, consumer action, elder abuse, Medicare options, applying to be a Peace Corps volunteer."
GrandDriver
Pilot program providing the chance to learn more about the effects of aging on driving.
Georgia Senior Service Search
Search engine to locate services for seniors in Northeast Georgia.
COMPUTERS & SENIORS
Web Sites
Blogger
Google's site that lets anyone create a blog - a web page that serves as a publicly accessible personal journal for an individual.
Computers for Beginners
For beginning computer users, especially Internet users, to learn the basics.
CyberSeniors
Award-winning organization dedicated to connecting seniors & teaching them how to use computers.
SeniorNet
Information & services to help seniors become computer literate: on-line tutorials, gallery of meetings & computer projects, discussions & chat sites.
CHILDREN & CAREGIVERS OF AGING PEOPLE
Web Sites
Benefitscheckup.org
Gives personal report of public programs & benefits you may qualify for.
Caregiver.org
Family Caregiver Alliance offers caregiving advice & information, fact sheets, newsletters, & news.
Careplanner.org
Offers help in assessing needs & finding type-of-care options. Also in Spanish.
Children of Aging Parents
Nonprofit organization that provides information and support services to caregivers of older people.
ElderCare Online
Resources for people caring for aging loved ones. Articles, tips, chat lines on a wide variety of topics including long term care and improving communication.
Family Caregiver Guides
Several good guides for caregivers, from care management, choosing a nursing home, doctor communications, checklists for healthcare encounters, and more.
DEATH & DYING
Web Sites
AARP Internet Resources on Aging: Death & Dying
Click on the section on Death and Dying for links on end of life issues, funeral practices, grief, hospice, and more.
About.com: Death & Dying
About.com's site dedicated to death, dying, terminal illness, funerals, euthanasia, hospice, grief, bereavement and pet loss.
US Living Will Registry
Electronically stores advance directives & makes them available to health care providers through secure & private links by phone or Internet. Forms and explanations are provided.
HEALTH
Web Sites
ADEAR
Current, comprehensive information and resources on Alzheimer’s Disease.
Alliance for Aging Research
Non-profit organization supporting medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health.
American Society on Aging: Live Well, Live Long
Health promotion and disease prevention for older adults. Includes optimal medication use, strategies for cognitive utility, and more.
Clinical Trials
Clinical trials database from the National Institutes of Health. Searchable by disease, location, treatment, etc.
Health and Age Centers
"Interactive health information for seniors, written by medical professionals. Accurate, reliable help to identify, prevent, treat, and understand health issues, and communicate with health professionals."
InfoAging.org
Latest research on the biology of aging, age-related health conditions, and healthy aging.
NIH Senior Health
Up-to-date information on specific diseases & conditions, treatment and medications for seniors from the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE Plus.Text size is adjustable; spoken option available.
HOSPICE
Web Sites
Home Care and Hospice Agency Locator
Database of 22,500+ home care and hospice agencies.
National Hospice Foundation
Support & information on hospice care options. Locate hospice facilities. Extensive advance directives and care planning. Forms for all states.
HOUSING
Web Sites
Administration on Aging: Housing
Information on housing from independent living to nursing facilities.
HUD for Senior Citizens
Housing options for seniors, from assisted living to stay-in-your-home. Good links. Option for Spanish language.
Retirement Living Gateway to Resources for Senior Living
Housing options, tax considerations, retirement news, and more.
Senior Resource.com - Housing Choices
Information on senior housing options with extensive links. Quality varies.
NUTRITION
Web Sites
Meals on Wheels
Meals on Wheels program information.
Nutrition for Seniors
Information & the latest news from MedlinePlus, checklists, directories, and a health check tool.
Seek Wellness: Nutrition & Aging
Articles on nutrition & aging, a nutrition program for the elderly, healthy eating guide, and more.
SOCIAL SECURITY
Web Sites
Social Security
The official Social Security site, includes assistance for planning retirement, calculating Social Security benefits, applying for benefits, etc.
TRAVEL
Web Sites
Access-able Database
Find accessible accommodations, transportation, equipment repair around the world.
Access-able Travel Source
Travel tips, feature tours, newsletter on travel for mature & disabled travelers.
Elderhostel
Educational travel programs for people over 55. Thousands of national & international programs.
Travel Information for Seniors
From the Travelocity site, travel bulletins, cruising, tours & packages, security, plus more.

Athens Regional Library System
2025 Baxter Street · Athens, Georgia 30606 · (706) 613-3650