Athens Regional Library System Logo Athens-Clarke County Library, Headquarters
2025 Baxter Street · Athens, Georgia 30606 · 706.613.3650
Hours | Directions
HOW DO I:

plain-text version of main menu

 
Choosing a College/University
 
Apple and worn book on pedestal
 

WEB SITES

101 Top College, University & Web Pages
Links to sites on everything about choosing a college: free scholarship searches, My Life Coach - finding the perfect career, distance ed, and grad school.

All About College.com
College & grad school directories including study abroad, college chat, test preparation, financial aid, even a job search directory.

College & University Rankings
Collection of sites that rank colleges, universities and professional programs.

College Board.com
Where to start, college visits, majors & careers with college search. Compare colleges and use the career browser tools.

CollegeSource® Online
"features over 20,000 college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools along with institutional profiles for all accredited colleges in the United States. The database may be searched by college name, major, enrollment, tuition, degrees, state, or affiliation. There are links to: college home pages, career information, and financial aid information."
Access using GALILEO. GALILEO- CollegeSource® Online. GALILEO users are provided the capability of downloading full college catalogs in .pdf format.

GAcollege411
"GeorgiaMentor.org - Your online guide to Georgia's private colleges & universities. Helping students plan, apply and pay for college."

Georgia Easy: Selecting the Right College
University system of Georgia offers aid for students in choosing a Georgia college.

Georgia's Technical Colleges
Offers help to students seeking a technical college in their area or in a specialty of interest to them.

GetEducated.com
For nontraditional students seeking online degrees, GetEducated.com provides a portal for information about online learning as well as a college directory to find programs for CHEA-accredited colleges and universities. It bars advertising from fake Internet universities.

Go College
Find your dream school. Links to resources for scholarships & aid, majors available, and free SAT & ACT practice tests.

Kiplinger's Best Values in Colleges
Compare colleges by rank, cost, financial aid offered, & various quality measures such as SAT scores & graduation rates.

Petersons.com
College search engine includes 2 & 4 year colleges, culinary, nursing, study abroad, graduate school. Many helpful features in making choices such as best college deals. Registration (free) required.

Princeton Review's Explore Schools
Research tools & articles with advice for all types of schools, looking for bargains, college rankings. Especially good "Counsel-o-matic," an advanced search engine that combines academic & extracurricular history with personal preferences to help find the right college.

Quintessential Careers
Steps to determining a college that's right for you with links to a planning calendar, choosing a college major, & resources for planning for teens.

US News Choose a College
Extensive collection of articles with answers to the questions prospective students have in selecting & getting into the right college.

return to top


REFERENCE BOOKS

Bear, Mariah. Bears' guide to college degrees by mail & Internet: 100 accredited schools that offer associates, bachelor's, master's, doctorates, and law degrees by distance learning. Berkeley, Calif.: Ten Speed Press, c2005.
R 374.4025 BEAR

Choosing the right college. Grand Rapids, Mich.: William B. Eerdmans Pub. Co., c2006.
R 378 CHOOSING 2006

Fiske, Edward B. Fiske guide to colleges 2005. Naperville, Ill.: Sourcebooks, c2005.
R 378.73 FISKE 2005

Four-year colleges 2005. 34th ed. Lawrenceville, NJ: Peterson's, c2005.
R 378.73 PETERSON 2005

Guide to career colleges: a comprehensive look at career-specific degree, diploma, and certificate programs. Lawrenceville, N.J.:Peterson's, c2001.
R 374.013 GUIDE 2001

Guide to college majors: everything you need to know to choose the right major. The staff of the Princeton Review. New York: Random House, c2005.
R 378.16 GUIDE

Guide to distance learning programs, 2004. Lawrenceville, NJ: Peterson's, c2003.
R 378.175 GUIDE

Peterson's two year colleges. Princeton, N.J.: Peterson's, c2006.
R 378.73 PETERSON 2006

Rugg, Frederick E. Rugg's recommendations on the colleges. 20th ed. Fallbrook, Calif.: Rugg's Recommendations, c2003.
R 378.73 RUGG

return to top


CIRCULATING BOOKS

Antonoff, Steven R. College match : a blueprint for choosing the best school for you! 5th ed. Alexandria, Va.: Octameron Associates, c1997.
NONFIC 378.3 ANTONOFF

Asher, Donald. Cool colleges for the hyper-intelligent, self-directed, late blooming, and just plain different: including addresses, phone numbers, and web sites for every accredited four-year institution in the United States and Canada. Berkeley: Ten Speed Press, c2000.
NONFIC 378.73 ASHER

Choosing the right college: the whole truth about America's 100 top schools. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans Pub., c1998.
NONFIC 378.73 CHOOSING

Fogg, Neeta. College majors handbook with real career paths and payoffs: the actual jobs, earnings, and trends for graduates of 60 college majors. 2nd ed. Indianapolis, IN: JIST Pub., c2004.
NONFIC 331.702 FOGG

Mitchell, Joyce Slayton. Winning the heart of the college admissions dean: an expert's advice for getting into college. Berkeley: Ten Speed Press, c2001.
NONFIC 378.161 MITCHELL

Mitchell, Robert. The young woman's guide to the top colleges: what you need to know to make the best choice. New York: J. Wiley & Sons, c1998.
NONFIC 378.73 MITCHELL

Ordovensky, Pat. College planning for dummies. 2nd ed. Foster City, CA: IDG Books Worldwide, c1997.
NONFIC 378.3 ORDOVENS

Peterson's guide to college visits. Princeton, NJ: Peterson's, c1998.
NONFIC 378.73 PETERSON

Pope, Loren. Colleges that change lives: 40 schools you should know about even if you're not a straight-A student. New York: Penguin Books, c2006 on order.
NONFIC 378.73 POPE

Springer, Sally P. Admission matters: what students and parents need to know about getting into college. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, c2005.
NONFIC 378.161 SPRINGER

return to top


LOCAL RESOURCES

  • College counseling is offered at most high schools.
  • Local institutions of higher education have admissions directors to assist prospective students in making decisions.
  • Use the Library's web page on local schools for access to web pages for area secondary schools, universities, technical schools, and colleges.

return to top