GENERAL WORKS
Web Sites
The American Civil War
Dakota State University site includes gateways to the Civil War, links to archives, libraries, and
institutes, information on life in the armies and at home, slavery and emancipation, genealogy,
Canadians in the Civil War, Native Americans in the Civil War, and Civil War organizations.
The American Civil War Homepage
University of Tennessee site, very large collection of Civil War links, includes links to public
documents, private letters and journals, accounts of battles and campaigns, biographical information
on leading Confederate and Union figures, Civil War music, photographs, maps, information on reenactor
groups, and much more.
AmericanCivilWar.com
Short, informative articles on Civil War battles and people, also includes battle statistics, maps,
photographs, and the texts of the Confederate Constitution, the Emancipation Proclamation, and the
Gettysburg Address.
Civil War Battle Summaries
Civil War Sites Advisory Commission's summaries of 384 Civil War battles, each summary includes a
description of the battle, the commanders, and the estimated casualties.
Civil War Maps
Library of Congress site, includes Confederate battle maps used by Robert E. Lee and Stonewall Jackson
and Union maps detailing William Sherman's campaigns in Tennessee, Mississippi, Georgia, and the
Carolinas.
Civil War Treasures from the New York Historical Society
Photographs from the New York Historical Society's Civil War collections.
Rare Map Collection - The American Civil War
University of Georgia Library collection, includes a map of the siege of Atlanta, a map of Sherman's
Georgia operations and battlefield maps of Chickamauga and Gettysburg.
Research in Military Records - Civil War
From the National Archives and Records Administration, photographs and records of the Civil War.
Selected Civil War Photographs
Library of Congress site, large collection of Civil War photographs.
Shotgun's Home of the American Civil War
Includes an overview of the entire war, biographical sketches, information on the organization of the
armies, camp life, medical services, and more.
Books
Angle, Paul M. A Pictorial History of the Civil War Years. Garden City, NY: Doubleday,
1985.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 ANGLE
Bailey, Anne J. and Fraser, Walter, J. A Photographic History of Georgia in the Civil
War. Fayetteville, AR: University of Arkansas Press, 1996.
Call Number: GR 973.7458 BAILEY
Boatner, Mark Mayo. The Civil War Dictionary. New York, NY: McKay, 1988
Call Number: R 973.703 BOATNER
Catton, Bruce. The American Heritage New History of the Civil War. New York, NY:
MetroBooks, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 CATTON
Catton, Bruce. This Hallowed Ground: The Story of the Union Side of the Civil War.
Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1956.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 CATTON
Commager, Henry Steele. The Blue and the Gray: The Story of the Civil War as told by
Participants. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1950
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 COMMAGER
Davis, Kenneth C. Don't Know much about the Civil War: Everything You Need to Know
about America's Greatest Conflict but Never Learned. New York : William Morrow, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 DAVIS
Davis, William C. Battles of the Civil War. New York: Mallard Press, 1991.
Call Number: GR 973.7 DAVIS
Davis, William C., editor. Touched by Fire: A Photographic Portrait of the Civil War.
Boston: Little, Brown, 1985-1986, 2 vols.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7022 DAVIS
Davis, William C. Look Away!: A History of the Confederate States of America. New York:
Free Press, 2002.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.713 DAVIS
Dowdey, Clifford. A History of the Confederacy, 1832-1865. New York: Barnes & Noble
Books, 1992.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 DOWDEY
Eicher, David J. The Longest Night: A Military History of the Civil War. New York:
Simon & Schuster, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 EICHER
Evans, David, editor. Random Acts of Kindness: True Stories of America's Civil War.
Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot Publishing Company, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 RANDOM
Field, Ron. American Civil War: Confederate Army. London: Brassey's, 1996
Call Number: NONFIC 355.14 FIELD
Foote, Shelby. The Civil War, a Narrative. New York: Random House, 1958-1974, 3
vols.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 FOOTE
Glatthaar, Joseph T. Forged in Battle: the Civil War Alliance of Black Soldiers and
White Officers. New York: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 1990.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7415 GLATTHAAR
Harwell, Richard Barksdale, editor. The Confederate Reader. New York: McKay, 1976.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 HARWELL
Hattaway, Herman and Jones, Archer. How the North Won: A Military History of the Civil
War. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1983.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 HATTAWAY
Hauptman, Laurence M. Between Two fires: American Indians in the Civil War. New York:
Free Press, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 HAUPTMAN
Hitchcock, George A. From Ashby to Andersonville: The Civil War Diary and Reminiscences
of George A. Hitchcock, Private, Company A, 21st Massachusetts Regiment: August 1862-January 1865.
Campbell, CA: Savas Publishing Co., 1997.
Call Number: GR 973.78 HITCHCOCK
Kelly, C. Brian and Smyer, Ingrid. Best Little Stories from the Civil War with Varina:
Forgotten First Lady. Nashville, TN: Cumberland House, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 KELLY
Kennedy, James Ronald. The South was right! Gretna, LA: Pelican, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.711 KENNEDY
Lane, Mills, editor. Dear Mother, Don't Grieve about Me. If I get Killed, I'll only be
Dead: Letters from Georgia Soldiers in the Civil War. Savannah, GA: Beehive Press, 1977.
Call Number: GR 973.782 LANE
Lane, Mills, editor. Times that Prove People's Principles: Civil War in Georgia: A
Documentary History. Savannah, GA: Beehive Press, 1993.
Call Number: GR 973.782 LANE
Lanier, Robert S, managing editor. The Photographic History of the Civil War, Armies
and Leaders. New York: Fairfax Press, distributed by Crown Publishers, 1983.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.74 PHOTOGRAPHIC
McPherson, James M. The Battle Cry of Freedom. New York: Ballantine Books, 1989.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 MCPHERSON
McPherson, James M. The Negro's Civil War: How American Negroes Felt and Acted
during the war for the Union. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1982.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.715 MCPHERSON
O'Shea, Richard. American Heritage Battle Maps of the Civil War. New York: Smithmark,
1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 O'SHEA
Pollard, Edward A. Southern History of the War. New York: Fairfax Press, distributed
by Outlet Book Company, 1990. Reprint. Originally published: New York: C.B. Richardson, 1866.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.713 POL
Seidman, Rachel Filene. Civil War: A History in Documents. Oxford; New York: Oxford
University Press, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 SEIDMAN
Smith, Kristen M., editor. The Lines are Drawn: Political Cartoons of the Civil War.
Athens, GA: Hill Street Press, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 LINES
Smith, Robin. American Civil War: Union Army. London: Brassey's, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 355.14 SMITH
Stanchak, John. The Visual Dictionary of the Civil War. New York: Dorling Kindersley
Publishing, 2000.
Call Number: JNF 973.7 STANCHAK
Stephens, Alexander Hamilton. A Constitutional View of the Late War Between the States;
Its Causes, Character, Conduct and Results, Presented in a Series of Colloquies at Liberty Hall.
Philadelphia, PA, Cincinnati, OH, Atlanta, GA, Richmond, VA: The National Publishing Company, Chicago,
IL, St. Louis, MO: Zeigler, McCurdy and Company, 1868-1870, 2 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.7 STEPHENS
Time-Life Books, editors. Soldier Life. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.742 SOLDIER
Trudeau, Noah Andre. Like Men of War: Black Troops in the Civil War. 1862-1865
Boston: Little, Brown, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.741 TRUDEAU
United States War Department. The Official Military Atlas of the Civil War. New York:
Fairfax Press, 1983. Reprint. Originally published: Atlas to accompany the official records of the
Union and Confederate Armies. Washington, DC: G.P.O., 1891.
Call Number: GR 911.73 UNITED
Wiley, Bell Irvin. The Life of Billy Yank; the Common Soldier of the Union. Garden
City, NY: Doubleday, 1971.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.783 WILEY
Wiley, Bell Irvin. The Life of Johnny Reb, the Common Soldier of the Confederacy.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1943.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.784 WILEY
Wright, Mike. What They Didn't Teach You about the Civil War. Novato, CA: Presido, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 Wright
return to top
OFFICIAL RECORDS & ROSTERS
Web Sites
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Includes rosters, unit histories, battle summaries, cemetery and prison records.
Historical and Genealogical Websites
From the Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park site, includes unit histories, rosters
and genealogical information.
Confederate Regimental Histories Links
Regimental histories from all the Confederate states as well as border state units and Native
American units.
Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion
Cornell University site, complete text of Series I, volumes 1-27 and Series II, volumes 1-3.
The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate
Armies
EHistory site complete text of all 128 volumes, official reports written by the Union and Confederate
battlefield commanders.
Books
Brightwell, Juanita S. Roster of the Confederate Soldiers of Georgia, 1861-1865.
Spartanburg, SC: Reprint Co., 1982, 6 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.78 BRIGHTWELL INDEX
Candler, Allen Daniel. The Confederate Records of the State of Georgia, Compiled and
Published under Authority of the Legislature. New York: AMS Press, 1972, 5 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.713 CANDLER
Hewett, Janet. The Roster of Confederate soldiers, 1861-1865. Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot
Pub. Co., 1995-1996, 26 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.742 HEWETT
Hewett, Janet. The Roster of Union soldiers, 1861 to 1865. Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot
Publishing Co., 1997, 33 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.741 HEWETT
United States Navy Department. Official records of the Union and Confederate Navies in
the War of the Rebellion. Harrisburg, PA: National Historical Society, distributed by Broadfoot Pub.
Co., Historical Times, Inc., Morningside House, 1987.
Call Number: GR 973.75 UNITED INDEX
United States War Department. The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official
Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1880-1901,
70 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.7 UNITED
return to top
PRELUDE TO WAR
Web Sites
Causes of the Civil War
Links to important primary documents of the secession crisis, including the 1860 platforms for the
major political parties, compromise proposals and secession ordinances.
Crisis at Fort Sumter
Interactive site that asks the question "What would you have done if you were Abraham Lincoln between
the time you were elected president in November, 1860 to the battle of Fort Sumter in April, 1861?".
Dred Scott v. Sanford
Text of Supreme Court Justice Roger B. Taney's 1857 decision, in which Taney declared that Congress had
no right to prohibit slavery in the territories.
John Brown and the Valley of the Shadow
John Brown's raid on Harper's Ferry, includes eyewitness accounts, newspaper articles, pictures and
photographs.
The Lincoln-Douglas Debates of 1858
Transcripts of the seven debates.
Books
Dennis, Frank L. The Lincoln-Douglas Debates. New York: Mason and Lipscomb Publishers,
1974.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.6 DENNIS
Freehling, William W. The Road to Disunion. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.711 Freehling
Freehling, William W. and Simpson, Craig M., editors. Secession Debated: Georgia's
Showdown in 1860. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Call Number: GR 973.7 SECESSION
Goodrich, Thomas. War to the Knife: Bleeding Kansas, 1854-1861. Mechanicsburg, PA:
Stackpole Books, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.1 Goodrich
Klein, Maury. Days of Defiance: Sumter, Secession, and the Coming of the Civil War.
New York: Knopf, distributed by Random House, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 KLEIN
Miller, William Lee. Arguing about Slavery: The Great Battle in the United States
Congress. New York: A.A. Knopf, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.5 Miller
Milton, George Fort. The Eve of Conflict: Stephen A. Douglas and the Needless War.
Boston, New York: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1934.
Call Number: BIO DOUGLAS
Oates, Stephen B. The Approaching Fury: Voices of the Storm, 1820-1861. New York:
HarperCollinsPublishers, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.5 OATES
Potter, David Morris. The Impending Crisis, 1848-1861. New York : Harper & Row, c1976.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 POTTER
Renehan, Edward. The Secret Six: The True Tale of the Men Who Conspired with John Brown.
New York: Crown Publishers, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7116 Renehan
Wish, Harvey, editor. Ante-bellum: Writings of George Fitzhugh and Hinton Rowan Helper
on Slavery. New York: Capricorn Books, 1960.
Call Number: GR 973.7 WISH
return to top
THE WAR IN THE EAST
Web Sites
The Army of Northern Virginia
Short Wikipedia article on the Army of Northern Virginia, includes the major battles, short
biographical sketches of Robert E. Lee and some of his general officers, and an excerpt from
Lee's farewell address to the army.
The Army of the Potomac
Wikipedia article on the Army of the Potomac, includes the major battles and biographical sketches
of the principal commanders.
The Battle of Chancellorsville
"I just lost confidence in Joe Hooker"--General Joseph Hooker, USA.
The Battle of Cold Harbor
"I had seen the carnage in front of Marye's hill at Fredricksburg, and on the 'old railroad cut' which
Jackson's men held at the Second Manassas; but I had seen nothing to exceed this. It was not war; it was
murder."--General Evander Law, CSA.
The Battle of First Manassas
"There stands Jackson like a stone wall"--General Barnard Bee, CSA.
The Battle of Fredericksburg
"It is well that war is so terrible, or we should grow too fond of it."--General Robert E. Lee, CSA.
The Battle of Gettysburg
"General Lee, I have no division."--General George Pickett, CSA.
Books
Alexander, Bevin. Robert E. Lee's Civil War. Holbrook, MA: Adams Media Corp., 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7301 ALEXANDER
Dowdey, Clifford. Lee's last campaign: The Story of Lee and his Men Against Grant, 1864.
New York: Bonanza Books, 1960.
Call Number: GR 973.736 DOWDEY
Foote, Shelby. Stars in their Courses: The Gettysburg Campaign, June-July 1863. New York:
Modern Library, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7349 FOOTE
Freeman, Douglas Southall. Lee's Lieutenants: A Study in Command. New York: C. Scribner's
Sons, 1942-1944, 3 vols.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 FREEMAN
Furgurson, Ernest B. Not War but Murder: Cold Harbor, 1864. New York: Knopf, 2000.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.737 FURGURSON
Harsh, Joseph L. Confederate Tide Rising: Robert E. Lee and the Making of Southern
Strategy, 1861-1862. Kent, OH: Kent State University Press, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7301 HARSH
Lankford, Nelson D. Richmond Burning: The Last Days of the Confederate Capital. New York:
Viking, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 LANKFORD
Longacre, Edward G. Lee's Cavalrymen: A History of the Mounted Forces of the Army of
Northern Virginia, 1861-1865. Mechanicsburg, PA: Stackpole Books, 2002.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7455 LONGACRE
Power, J. Tracy. Lee's Miserables: Life in the Army of Northern Virginia from the
Wilderness to Appomattox. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7455 POWER
Sears, Stephen W. Chancellorsville. Boston: Houghton-Mifflin Co., 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.733 SEARS
Symonds, Craig L. American Heritage History of the Battle of Gettysburg. New York :
HarperCollins, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7349 SYMONDS
Time-Life Books, editors. Antietam. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.733 ANTIETAM
Trudeau, Noah Andre. The Last Citadel: Petersburg, Virginia, June 1864-April 1865. Boston:
Little, Brown, 1991.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.737 TRUDEAU
Woodworth, Steven E. Davis and Lee at War. Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 WOODWORTH
return to top
THE WAR IN THE WEST
Web Sites
Army of the Cumberland and George H. Thomas source page
History of the Army of the Cumberland, includes chronology, battle reports and photographs.
The Battle of Atlanta
"You cannot qualify war in harsher terms than I will. War is cruelty, and you cannot refine it; and
those who brought war into our country deserve all the curses and maledictions a people can pour out."
--General William Tecumseh Sherman, USA.
The Battle of Chattanooga
"Chattanooga was the key to the situation, and its loss was terrible to the Confederacy. Our only
comfort was, that the people at Washington did not know what to do with it."--Jefferson Davis,
President, CSA.
The Battle of Shiloh
"Men, they are stubborn; we must use the bayonet. I will lead you!"--General Albert Sidney Johnston,
CSA.
Braxton Bragg and Army of Tennessee Source Page
History of the Army of Tennessee, includes chronology, battle reports and photographs.
The Chickamauga Campaign
"But it seems to me that the elan of the Southern soldier was never seen after Chickamauga...He fought
stoutly to the last, but, after Chickamauga, with the sullenness of despair and without the enthusiasm
of hope. That "barren victory" sealed the fate of the Southern Confederacy."--General D. H. Hill,
CSA.
The Siege of Vicksburg
"The Father of Waters again rolls unvexed to the sea."--Abraham Lincoln, President, USA.
Books
Arnold, James R. Grant Wins the War: Decision at Vicksburg. New York: J. Wiley and
Sons, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 ARNOLD
Bragg, William Harris. Joe Brown's Army: The Georgia State Line, 1862-1865. Macon,
GA: Mercer University Press, 1987.
Call Number: GR 973.7458 BRAGG
Daniel, Larry J. Shiloh: The Battle that Changed the Civil War. New York: Simon
and Schuster, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.731 DANIEL
Davis, Stephen. Atlanta Will Fall: Sherman, Joe Johnston, and the Yankee Heavy
Battalions. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7371 DAVIS
Time-Life Books, editors. Chickamauga. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.735 CHICKAMA
Winik, Jay. April 1865: The Month that Saved America. New York: HarperCollins
Publishers, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 WINIK
Woodworth, Steven E. Jefferson Davis and his Generals: The Failure of Confederate
Command in the West. Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas, 1990.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7462 WOODWORTH
return to top
THE TRANS-MISSISSIPPI WEST
Web Sites
The Battle of Honey Springs, Indian Territory
"I never saw such fighting as was done by the Negro regiment...The question that negroes will
fight is settled; besides they make better solders in every respect than any troops I have ever
had under my command."--General James G. Blunt, USA.
The Battle of Pea Ridge
"The deadly whizzing of rifle bullets, loud bursting of shell and shrapnel, rattle of canister,
shrieks of the wounded, groans of the dying, seemed like music for devils at the harvest of death."
--Private Samuel Black, 1st Battery, Iowa Light Artillery, USA.
The Civil War in Arkansas
Includes a timeline, short articles on the Civil War experiences of individual Arkansas soldiers and
a message board.
The Civil War in Indian Territory
Summary of the Civil War battles in present day Oklahoma.
The Civil War in New Mexico
Museum of New Mexico site includes a timeline, maps, photographs, and letters.
Texas in the Civil War
Includes unit histories, muster rolls and biographical sketches.
Books
Josephy, Alvin M. The Civil War in the American West. New York: A.A. Knopf, distributed
by Random House, 1991.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 JOSEPHY
Josephy, Alvin M. War on the Frontier: The Trans-Mississippi West. Alexandria, VA:
Time-Life Books, 1986.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.02 JOSEPHY
return to top
UNION & CONFEDERATE NAVIES
Web Sites
The American Civil War--Naval War
From Shotgun's Home of the American Civil War, includes official records, organization of the Union
and Confederate Navies, Union and Confederate Marines, gunboats, cruisers, USS Monitor versus CSS
Virginia, and shipboard life.
Index of Civil War Naval Forces, Confederate and Union Ships
Includes general chronology of Civil War naval actions, summaries of the major battles, information
on individual Confederate and Union ships, information on Civil War shipboard life, and
photographs.
U.S. Civil War Navies, A Collection of Articles, Muster Rolls and Images of the Union
and Confederate Naval Services
Includes official reports, eyewitness accounts, muster rolls, photographs and more.
Books
Calore, Paul. Naval Campaigns of the Civil War. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2002.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 CALORE
Coombe, Jack D. Gunfire Around the Gulf: The Last Major Naval Campaigns of the Civil
War. New York: Bantam Books, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 COOMBE
Coombe, Jack D. Thunder along the Mississippi: The River Battles that Split the
Confederacy. New York: Sarpedon, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 COOMBE
Fowler, William M. Under Two Flags: The American Navy in the Civil War. New York:
Norton, 1990.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 FOWLER
De Kay, James T. Monitor: The Story of the Legendary Civil War Ironclad and the Man
whose Invention Changed the Course of History. New York: Walker, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.757 DE KAY
De Kay, James T. The Rebel Raiders: The Astonishing History of the Confederacy's
Secret navy. New York: Ballantine Books, 2002.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.757 DE KAY
Duffy, James P. Lincoln's Admiral: The Civil War Campaigns of David Farragut. New
York: Wiley, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 DUFFY
Hicks, Brian. Raising the Hunley: The Remarkable History and Recovery of the Lost
Confederate Submarine. New York: Ballantine Books, 2002.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.757 HICKS
Jones, Virgil Carrington. The Civil War at Sea. New York: Holt, Rinehart, Winston,
1960-1962, 3 vols.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 JONES
Luraghi, Raimondo. A History of the Confederate Navy. Annapolis, MD: Naval Institute
Press, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.757 LURAGHI
Musicant, Ivan. Divided waters: The Naval History of the Civil War. New York:
HarperCollins Publishers, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 MUSICANT
Porter, David D. The Naval History of the Civil War, Illustrated from Original Sketches
made by Rear-Admiral Walke and Others. Secaucus, N.J. : Castle, 1984. Reprint, originally published:
New York: Sherman, 1886.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 PORTER
Wise, Stephen R. Lifeline of the Confederacy : Blockade Running during the Civil War.
Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1988.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.75 WISE
return to top
THE HOMEFRONT
Web Sites
Cabinet of the Confederate States of America
June 1, 1861 Harper's Weekly article on the formation of the Confederate cabinet.
Civil War Women--Primary Sources on the Internet
Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library site, includes diaries,
letters and photographs.
Confederate Government
Columbia Encyclopedia article on the formation and activities of the Confederate government.
A Diary from Dixie, by Mary Boykin Chesnut
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries site, complete text of Mary Chesnut's diary,
biographical information and related information on Confederate society, social life and customs.
Overview of the Confederacy
Short article on the Confederate government, from Shotgun's Home of the American Civil War site.
United States Government
Internet Public Library Presidents of the United States site includes election results for 1860 and
1864, short biographies of Lincoln's vice presidents and cabinet officers and historical documents.
Books
Biel, Timothy L. Life in the North during the Civil War. San Diego, CA: Lucent Books,
1997.
Call Number: JNF 973.71 BIEL
Brooks, Noah. Washington, D.C. in Lincoln's Time. Athens, GA: University of Georgia
Press, 1989.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 BROOKS
Campbell, Edward D. C. and Rice, Kym S., editors. A Woman's War: Southern Women, Civil
War, and the Confederate Legacy. Richmond: Museum of the Confederacy; Charlottesville: University
Press of Virginia, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7082 WOMAN'S
Chesnut, Mary Boykin Miller. Mary Chesnut's Civil War. New Haven: Yale University
Press, 1981.
Call Number: GR 973.782 CHESNUT
Clayton, Sarah Conley. Requiem for a Lost City: A Memoir of Civil War Atlanta and the Old
South. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 1999.
Call Number: GR 973.782 CLAYTON
Corsan, William Carson. Two Months in the Confederate States: An Englishman's
Travels through the South. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.742 ENGLISH
Davis, William C. An Honorable Defeat: The Last Days of the Confederate government.
New York: Harcourt, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.71 DAVIS
Jackson, Donald Dale. Twenty Million Yankees: The Northern Home Front. Alexandria,
VA: Time-Life Books, 1985.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 JACKSON
Graves, Kerry A. Going to school during the Civil War, the Confederacy. Mankato, MN:
Blue Earth Books, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 370.975 GRAVES
Graves, Kerry A. Going to school during the Civil War, the Union. Mankato, MN: Blue
Earth Books, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 370.973 GRAVES
Leonard, Elizabeth D. Yankee Women: Gender Battles in the Civil War. New York. W.W.
Norton, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.715 LEONARD
Moore, John Hammond, editor. The Confederate Housewife: Receipts and Remedies, Together
with Sundry Suggestions for Garden, Farm and Plantation. Columbia, S.C.: Summerhouse Press, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 641.5975 MOORE
Ramsdell, Charles. Behind the Lines in the Southern Confederacy. Baton Rouge:
Louisiana State University Press, 1944.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 RAMSDELL
Sullivan, Walter, editor. The War the Women Lived: Female Voices from the Confederate
South. Nashville, TN: J.S. Sanders, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 975.03 SULLIVAN
Thomas, Emory M. The Confederate Nation, 1861-1865. New York : Harper & Row, 1979.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 THOMAS
Van der Heuvel, Gerry. Crowns of Thorns and Glory: Mary Todd Lincoln and Varina Howell
Davis, the two First Ladies of the Civil War. New York : Dutton, 1988.
Call Number: NONFIC 073.70922 VAN
Varhola, Michael J. Everyday Life during the Civil War. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's
Digest Books, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.1 VARHOLA
Volo, Dorothy Denneen. Daily Life in Civil War America. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.71 VOLO
Waugh, John C. Reelecting Lincoln: The Battle for the 1864 Presidency. New York: Crown
Publishers, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 324.973 WAUGH
Yearns, W. Buck. The Confederate Congress. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press,
1960.
Call Number: GR 973.713 YEARNS
Yearns, W. Buck, editor. The Confederate Governors. Athens, GA: University of Georgia
Press, 1985.
Call Number: GR 975.02 CONFEDERATE
return to top
RECONSTRUCTION
Web Sites
"Harper's Weekly" coverage of the 1868 impeachment of Andrew Johnson
Includes articles, editorials and political cartoons from Harper's Weekly as well as background
information on the key players.
Reconstruction: The Second Civil War
Website for the PBS program includes a Reconstruction timeline, the economic impact of the Civil
War on each state as measured by the 1860 and 1870 federal censuses, and excerpts from primary
sources.
Reconstruction Web Links
A large collection of links from Yahoo, includes accounts of the Reconstruction Period from differing
points of view, articles on the thirteenth, fourteenth and fifteenth amendments and a timeline of
events.
Books
Bowers, Claude Gernade. The Tragic Era: The Revolution after Lincoln. New York: Blue
Ribbon Books, 1940.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.8 BOWERS
Carter, Hodding. The Angry Scar: The Story of Reconstruction. Garden City, NY:
Doubleday, 1959.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.8 CARTER
Dennett, John Richard. The South as It is, 1865-1866. Athens, GA: University of
Georgia Press, 1986.
Call Number: NONFIC 975.041 DENNETT
Drago, Edmund L. Black Politicians and Reconstruction in Georgia: A Splendid
Failure. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1992.
Call Number: NONFIC 975.8 DRAGO
Du Bois, W. E. B. Black reconstruction in America: An Essay toward a History of the
Part which Black Folk Played in the Attempt to Reconstruct Democracy in America, 1860-1880.
Cleveland, World Pub. Co., 1964.
Call Number: GR 973.8 DU BOIS
Foner, Eric. Reconstruction, 1863-1877. New York: Harper and Row, 1988.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.8 FONER
Lane, Mills, editor. Standing upon the Mouth of a Volcano: New South Georgia.
Savannah, GA: Beehive Press, 1993.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.8 STANDING
Peacock, Judith. Reconstruction: Rebuilding after the Civil War. Mankato, MN.:
Bridgestone Books, 2003.
Call Number: JNF 973.8 PEACOCK
Rozwenc, Edwin Charles. Reconstruction in the South. Boston: Heath, 1952.
Call Number: GR 973.8 ROZWENC
return to top
BIOS, MEMOIRS & PAPERS
Web Sites
Abraham Lincoln Links
Many links, including links to Lincoln's papers, historic sites, museums, memorials, Lincoln's law
career, and Abraham and Mary Todd Lincoln genealogies.
The Papers of Jefferson Davis
Rice University site with timeline, speeches and letters of Jefferson Davis.
The Robert E. Lee Papers
Washington and Lee University site, includes full text of selected letters from 1837-1870.
Stonewall Jackson Resources--VMI Archives
Virginia Military Institute site, includes biographical information, Jackson's papers, photographs
and more.
William Tecumseh Sherman
Short biographical sketch of Sherman from the Virtual Museum of the City of San Francisco. Links to
additional sites.
Ulysses S. Grant Homepage
Includes biographical information, interviews with people who knew Grant, photographs and more.
Books
Allardice, Bruce S. More Generals in Gray. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University
Press, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.742 ALLARDICE
Boritt, Gabor S., editor. Jefferson Davis's Generals. New York : Oxford University
Press, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 JEFFERSON
Boritt, Gabor S., editor. Lincoln's Generals. New York: Oxford University Press,
1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 BORRITT
Chesnut, Mary Boykin Miller. Mary Chesnut's Civil War. Connecticut: Yale University Press,
1981.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.782 CHESTNUT
Connelly, Thomas Lawrence. The Marble Man: Robert E. Lee and his Image in American
Society. New York: Knopf, 1977.
Call Number: BIO LEE
Davis, Jefferson. The Rise and Fall of the Confederate Government. Richmond, VA: Garrett
and Massie, 1938, 2 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.7 DAVIS
Donald, David Herbert. Lincoln. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1995.
Call Number: BIO LINCOLN
Donald, David Herbert. "We are Lincoln Men": Abraham Lincoln and his Friends. New York:
Simon and Schuster, 2003.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7092 DONALD
Grant, Ulysses S. Memoirs and Selected Letters: Personal Memoirs of U.S. Grant, Selected
Letters 1839-1865. New York: Library of America, 1990.
Call Number: BIO GRANT
Hattaway, Herman. Jefferson Davis, Confederate President. Lawrence, KS: University Press
of Kansas, 2002.
Call Number: BIO DAVIS
Hirshson, Stanley P. The White Tecumseh: A Biography of General William T. Sherman.
New York: J. Wiley, 1997.
Call Number: BIO SHERMAN
Holzer, Harold, editor. The Lincoln Mailbag: America Writes to the President, 1861-1865.
Carbondale, IL.: Southern Illinois University Press, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7092 LINCOLN
Hurst, Jack. Nathan Bedford Forrest: A Biography. New York: A.A. Knopf, 1993.
Call Number: BIO FORREST
Lee, Robert E. The Wartime Papers of R.E. Lee. Boston: Little, Brown, 1961.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 LEE
Lincoln, Abraham. The Essential Lincoln. New York: F. Watts, 1971.
Call Number: NONFIC 818 LINCOLN
Morris, Roy. Sheridan: The Life and Wars of General Phil Sheridan. New York: Crown,
1992.
Call Number: BIO SHERIDAN
Reger, James P. Civil War Generals of the Confederacy. San Diego, CA: Lucent Books,
1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 REGER
Robertson, James I. Stonewall Jackson: The Man, the Soldier, the Legend.
New York, Macmillan, London: Prentice Hall International, 1997.
Call Number: BIO JACKSON
Sears, Stephen W. George B. McClellan: The Young Napoleon. New York: Ticknor and
Fields, 1988.
Call Number: BIO MCCLELLAN
Sherman, William T. Memoirs of General W.T. Sherman. New York: Library of America,
1990.
Call Number: BIO SHERMAN
Smith, Jean Edward. Grant. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2001.
Call Number: BIO GRANT
Taylor, Susie King. Reminiscences of My Life in Camp. Athens, GA: University of Georgia
Press, 2006.
Call Number: BIO TAYLOR
Thomas, Emory M. Bold Dragoon: The Life of J.E.B. Stuart. New York : Harper & Row,
1986.
Call Number: BIO STUART
Thomas, Emory M. Robert E. Lee: A Biography. New York: W.W. Norton, 1995.
Call Number: BIO LEE
Warner, Ezra J. Generals in Gray: Lives of the Confederate Commanders. Baton Rouge,
LA: Louisiana State University Press, 1959.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.742 WARNER
Waugh, John C. The Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomattox: Stonewall Jackson,
George McClellan, and their Brothers. New York: Warner Books, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 355 WAUGH
Wert, Jeffry D. General James Longstreet: The Confederacy's Most Controversial Soldier:
A Biography. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1993.
Call Number: BIO LONGSTREET
Wooster, Robert. The Civil War 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential People in the War
Between the States. Secaucus, NJ: Carol Pub. Group, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7092 WOOSTER
Yancey, Diane. Civil War Generals of the Union. San Diego, CA: Lucent Books, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 YANCEY
return to top
PRISONERS OF WAR
Web Sites
Andersonville Civil War Prison
Short overview of Andersonville Prison, includes Andersonville prisoner name search.
Civil War Prisons
Short articles on the major Union and Confederate prisons.
The Trial of Captain Henry Wirz, Commandant Andersonville Prison, 1865
Includes excerpts from the trial transcript, biographical sketches of the key participants,
photographs and maps.
Books
Beitzell, Edwin W. Point Lookout Prison Camp for Confederates. Abell, MD: St. Mary's
County Historical Society, 1983.
Call Number: GR 973.772 BEITZELL
Denney, Robert E. Civil War Prisons and Escapes: A Day-by-Day Chronicle. New York:
Sterling Pub. Co., 1993.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.77 DENNEY
Joslyn, Maurie. Immortal captives: the story of 600 Confederate officers and the
United States prisoner of war policy. Shippensburg, PA: White Mane Pub. Co., 1996.
Call Number: GR 973.772 JOSLYN
McElroy, John. This was Andersonville: The True Story of Andersonville Military Prison
as told in the Personal Recollections of John McElroy, Sometime Private, Co. L, 16th Illinois Cavalry.
New York, McDowell, Obolensky, 1957.
Call Number: GR 973.711 MCELROY
Roberts, Edward F. Andersonville Journey. Shippensburg, PA: Burd Street Press, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 ROBERTS
Segars, J.H., editor. Andersonville: The Southern Perspective. Atlanta, GA: Southern
Heritage Press, 1995.
Call Number: GR 973.771 ANDERSONVILLE
Speer, Lonnie R. Portals to Hell: Military Prisons of the Civil War. Mechanicsburg, PA:
Stackpole Books, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.771 SPEER
return to top
DISSENTERS, DESERTERS & SPIES
Web Sites
Andrews Raid--The Great Locomotive Chase
Chronology of the seizure of the locomotive, The General, and the subsequent locomotive chase,
includes photographs, drawings and a map.
Desertion in the Civil War Armies
Short overviews of desertion in the Union and Confederate Armies, from Shotgun's Home of the
American Civil War site.
Copperheads
Short Wikipedia Encyclopedia article on the anti-war Democrats in the North.
Illinois Copperheads and the American Civil War
Anti-war sentiment in Illinois.
The New York City Draft Riots of 1863
Short passage on the New York City draft riots, from "In the Shadow of Slavery: African Americans
in New York City" by Leslie M. Harris.
Peace Democrats, Copperheads and Draft Riots
Short article on anti-war opposition in the North.
Peace Societies In The Confederacy
Short article on anti-war activities in the Confederacy, from Shotgun's Home of the American Civil War.
Wartime Spies
A Court TV article on Union spies, focusing on Allan Pinkerton's Civil War service.
Books
Beals, Carleton. War Within a War: The Confederacy Against Itself. Philadelphia:
Chilton Books, 1965.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.717 BEALS
Bulloch, James Dunwody. The Secret Service of the Confederate States in Europe, or,
How the Confederate Cruisers were Equipped. New York: Modern Library, 2001, originally published:
New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1884.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.786 BULLOCH
Dyer, Thomas G. Secret Yankees: The Union Circle in Confederate Atlanta. Baltimore,
MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 DYER
Feis, William B. Lincoln. Grant's Secret Service: The Intelligence War from Belmont
to Appomattox. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 2002.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.785 FEIS
Fishel, Edwin C. The Secret War for the Union: The Untold Story of Military Intelligence
in the Civil War. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.785 FISHEL
Inscoe, John C. and Kenzer, Robert C., editors. Enemies of the Country: New Perspectives
on Unionists in the Civil War South. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2001.
Call Number: GR 973.71 ENEMIES
Lonn, Ella. Desertion during the Civil War. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press,
1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.78 LONN
Markle, Donald E. Spies and Spymasters of the Civil War. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.78 MARKLE
Rehnquist, William H. All the Laws but One: Civil Liberties in Wartime. New York: Knopf,
1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 342.7308
Schultz, Duane P. The Dahlgren Affair: Terror and Conspiracy in the Civil War. New York:
W.W. Norton, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.736 SCHULTZ
Sigaud, Louis A. Belle Boyd, Confederate Spy. Richmond, VA, The Dietz Press, Incorporated,
1944.
Call Number: BIO BOYD
Stern, Philip Van Doren. Secret missions of the Civil War: First-hand Accounts by Men
and Women who Risked their Lives in Underground Activities for the North and the South, Woven into a
Continuous Narrative. Chicago, Rand McNally, 1959.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 STERN
Varon, Elizabeth R. Southern Lady, Yankee Spy: The True Story of Elizabeth Van Lew, a
Union agent in the Heart of the Confederacy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Call Number: BIO VAN LEW
Williams, David. Rich Man's War: Class, Caste, and Confederate Defeat in the Lower
Chattahoochee Valley. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1998.
Call Number: GR 975.8 WILLIAMS
return to top
CIVIL WAR WEAPONS
Web Sites
The Civil War Artillery Page
Includes information on organization, weapons, ammunition and equipment.
Civil War Weapons
Links to short articles on artillery.
Books
Blashfield, Jean F. Mines and Minie Balls: Weapons of the Civil War. New York:
Franklin Watts, 1997.
Call Number: JNF 623.4 BLASHFIELD
Davis, William C. Weapons of the Civil War. New York: Mallard Press, 1991.
Call Number: GR 973.7 DAVIS
Hogg, Ian V. Weapons of the Civil War. New York: Military Press; distributed by Crown,
1987.
Call Number: NONFIC 623.4 HOGG
return to top
CIVIL WAR FLAGS
Web Sites
Alabama Civil War Period Flag Collection
Alabama Department of Archives and History site includes infantry and cavalry regimental flags,
artillery battery flags, naval flags and more.
Confederate Flags
Illustrations of the three Confederate national flags and flags of the Confederate Armies and the
Navy, also has some of the rejected designs for the first Confederate national flag.
Flags of the Civil War
National Park Service site has illustrations of a Civil War era U.S. flag, the three Confederate
national flags, and the Southern cross battleflag.
Flags That Have Flown Over Georgia
Carl Vinson Institute of Government site includes Confederate flags, U.S. flags, and state flags.
Books
Cannon, Devereaux D. The Flags of the Confederacy: An Illustrated History. Memphis,
TN: St. Lukes Press; Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot Pub., 1988.
Call Number: GR 929.92 CANNON
Cannon, Devereaux D. The Flags of the Union: An Illustrated History. Gretna: Pelican
Pub. Co., 1994.
Call Number: GR 929.2 CANNON
Coski, John M. The Confederate Battle Flag: America's Most Embattled Emblem. Cambridge,
MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2005.
Call Number: NONFIC 929.9209 COSKI
Ellingson, Paul. Confederate Flags in the Georgia State Capitol Collection. Atlanta,
GA: Georgia Office of Secretary of State, 1994.
Call Number: GR 355.15 GEORGIA
return to top
CIVIL WAR MEDICINE
Web Sites
Civil War Battlefield Medicine
General information on Civil War medical practices, includes sections on surgery and dentistry
and short medical histories of selected Civil War generals.
Civil War Medicine
Information on surgery, battle wounds, diseases, Civil War nurses, the U.S. Sanitary Commission, and
the Confederate Medical Department.
Virginia Commonwealth Libraries' Civil War Medicine Site
Extensive site includes information on hospitals, surgery and nursing, has bibliography and related links.
Books
Beller, Susan Provost. Medical Practices in the Civil War. Cincinnati, OH: Betterway
Books, 1992.
Call Number NONFIC 973.775 BELLER
Cumming, Kate. The Journal of Kate Cumming: A Confederate Nurse, 1862-1865. Savannah,
GA: The Beehive Press, 1975.
Call Number GR 973.776 CUMMING
Denney, Robe. Civil War Medicine: Care and Comfort of the Wounded. New York: Sterling
Pub, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.775 DENNEY
Morris, Roy. The Better Angel: Walt Whitman in the Civil War. Oxford; New York: Oxford
University Press, 2000.
Call Number: NONFIC 811.3 BETTER
Oates, Stephen B. A Woman of Valor: Clara Barton and the Civil War. New York: Free
Press; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1994.
Call Number: BIO BARTON
United States, Department of the Army, Office of the Surgeon General. The Medical and
Surgical History of the Civil War. Wilmington, NC: Broadfoot Pub. Co., 1990, 12 vols.
Call Number: GR 973.775 MEDICAL
Woolsey, Jane Stuart. Hospital Days: Reminiscence of a Civil War Nurse. Roseville, MN:
Edinborough Press, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 WOOLSEY
return to top
CIVIL WAR BATTLEFIELD PARKS & MEMORIALS
Web Sites
African American Civil War Memorial
Memorial and museum for the African American soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Clara Barton National Historic Site
Includes a biographical chronology and photographs.
The Lincoln Memorial
Information on the Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C.
The Museum of the Confederacy
Located in the former White House of the Confederacy in Richmond, Virginia, the collection includes
uniforms, weapons, flags, paintings, sculptures, and photographs.
National Museum of Civil War Medicine
Exhibits include camp life, evacuation of the wounded, and a field hospital.
National Park Service Civil War Battlefield Sites
Links to NPS battlefield sites and link to non-NPS Virginia battlefield sites.
"Stonewall" Jackson Shrine--The House Where the Confederate General Died
Jackson died in a small house on the Chandler plantation, which is now part of the Fredericksburg and
Spotsylvania National Military Park.
USS Constellation--The Only Surviving Civil War Ship
USS Constellation is in Baltimore's Inner Harbor; this site includes the history of the Constellation.
Books
Gleason, Michael P. The Insiders' Guide to Civil War Sites in the Eastern Theater.
Manteo, NC: Published and distributed by Insiders' Pub. Inc., 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 GLEASON
Lawliss, Chuck. Robert E. Lee Slept Here: Civil War Inns and Destinations, a Guide for
the Discerning Traveler. New York: Ballantine Books, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 647.9473 LAWLISS
Lenz, Richard J. The Civil War in Georgia: An Illustrated Traveler's Guide: Historic
Homes, Battlefields, Museums, Cemeteries, Memorials, Parks, Attractions, Maps. Watkinsville, GA:
Infinity Press, 1995.
Call Number: GR 917.5804 LENZ
McPherson, James M. Hallowed Ground: A Walk at Gettysburg. New York: Crown Publishers,
2003.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7349 MCPHERSON
Savage, Kirk J. Standing Soldiers, Kneeling Slaves: Race, War, and Monument in
Nineteenth-Century America. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 SAVAGE
Shaara, Jeff. Jeff Shaara's Civil War Battlefields: Discovering America's Hallowed Ground.
New York: Ballantine Books, 2006.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 SHAARA
Shively, Julie. The Ideals Guide to American Civil War Places. Nashville, TN: Ideals
Publications, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.73 SHIVELY
Thomas, Emory M. Travels to Hallowed Ground: A Historian's Journey to the American
Civil War. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1987.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 THOMAS
return to top
CIVIL WAR REENACTORS & HERITAGE ORGANIZATIONS
Web Sites
The Civil War Reenactors Home Page
How to become a Civil War reenactor and obtain the necessary uniforms and accessories, also includes a
calendar of Civil War events.
Sons of Confederate Veterans
About the SCV, SCV news, and membership eligibility.
Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
About the SUV, a listing of upcoming events, membership eligibility, and a searchable graves database
of Union soldiers.
United Daughters of the Confederacy
About the UDC.
28th Massachussetts Infantry, Company K, the Mayhew Guards
Includes regimental history, flags, soldiers' letters and information on the recreated infantry of
today.
42nd Georgia Volunteer Infantry, Company "B" - Gwinnett County "Independent Rebels" Army of
Tennessee
Includes a regimental history, historical documents and information on the Stone Mountain
Historical Reenactors.
Books
Brackman, Barbara. Civil War Women: Their Quilts, their Roles, Activities for
Re-enactors. Lafayette, CA: C&T Pub., 2000.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.708 BRACKMAN
Hadden, Robert Lee. Reliving the Civil War: A Reenactor's Handbook. Mechanicsburg, PA:
Stackpole Books, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 HADDEN
Horwitz, Tony. Confederates in the Attic: Dispatches from the Unfinished Civil War.
New York: Pantheon Books, c1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.7 HORWITZ
Poppenheim, Mary Barnett. The History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.
Richmond, VA: Garrett and Massie, 1938, vol 1. Raleigh, NC: Edwards and Broughton, 1956, vol 2.
Raleigh, NC: Edwards and Broughton, 1988, vol 3.
Call Number: GR 369.17 UNITED
return to top
|