DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
610 Medical Personnel, Nursing
611 Human Anatomy
612 Human Physiology
613 Promotion of Health
614 Forensic Medicine
615 Drugs & Therapies
616 Diseases
617 Surgery, Dentistry, etc.
618 Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pediatrics, etc.
619 Experimental Medicine
return to top
GENERAL HEALTH
Web Sites
Dr. Koop
Search by topic. Subscribe to Dr. Koop's newsletter. Special features include drug
information: "help make sure the medications you take do not interact with each other,
with over-the-counter medications or with food to cause an adverse reaction in your body."
Environmental Diseases from A to Z
Alphabetical listing of environmental diseases. Provides general but not detailed information.
FamilyDoctor.org- Conditions A to Z
Health conditions organized by category. Web site operated by the American Academy of Family
Physicians.
Genes and Diseases
Search by topic: cancer, metabolism, nervous system; or by chromosome number. Explains relationship
between genetics and disease.
HealthCentral
"HealthCentral.com provides you with 24-hour access online to the best health information,
search, news, in-depth topic centers, and personalization features on the web!"
Healthfinder
"Healthfinder is a free gateway to reliable consumer health and human services information web site
developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Healthfinder can lead you to selected
online publications, clearinghouses, databases, web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as
the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable information for the
public."
KidsHealth
"KidsHealth provides families with accurate, up-to-date, and jargon-free health information they
can use. . . KidsHealth has separate areas for kids, teens, and parents - each with its own design,
age-appropriate content, and tone. There are literally thousands of in-depth features, articles,
animations, games, and resources - all original and all developed by experts in the health of children
and teens."
Learn CPR
Online tutorial. Facts about CPR and choking. "This web site is to be used as a guide and an
informational resource, but cannot replace real CPR training. Please try to attend a CPR training
course in your community."
MayoClinic
"Reliable information for a healthier life." Information about diseases, drugs, and
healthy living.
Medicare.gov
Includes online publications, contact numbers, and Medicare health plans.
MedicineNet
Search for information about diseases, procedures, and pharmaceuticals. Site contributed to by
physicians.
MEDLINEplus Health Information
"MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted
sources on over 600 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a
medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information
on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands
of clinical trials."
Merck Manual- 2nd Home Edition
". . .a source of accurate, reliable information that should stimulate better communication
between patients and their doctors, nurses, pharmacists, therapists, and other health care
professionals."
NIH: Health Information
Health information organized by body location, wellness, and demographic groups. Information about clinical studies is also provided. Includes links to MEDLINEplus and Healthfinder.
National Center for Health Statistics
"NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status,
lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability,
and the use of health care."
The Natural Pharmacist
Complementary therapies. Natural Health Encyclopedia with information on 180+ conditions, conventional
& natural treatments. Over 200 supplements & herbs, plus drug-herb & drug-supplement interaction.
Aimed at 50+ year olds.
PDRhealth
Overview of diseases, drug information, and clinical trials.
Transweb
All about transplantation and donation.
Vaccine Page
Search by keyword or browse by topic. Latest vaccine news.
WebMD-Health
Information on medicine, health, and wellness.
Books
American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Boston : Houghton Mifflin,
c2002.
R 610.3 AMERICAN
Carlson, Karen J. The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health. Cambridge, Mass. :
Harvard University Press, 2004.
R 616.0082 CARLSON
Consumer Drug Reference. 2004 ed. Yonkers, N.Y. : Consumer Reports,
c2003.
R 615.11 CONSUMER
Drug Interaction Facts. St. Louis : Facts and Comparisons, c2004.
R 615.7045 TATRO
Dunne, Lavon J. Nutrition Almanac. 5th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, 2002.
R 613.2 DUNNE
Harvard Medical School Guide to Men's Health. Simon, Harvey B. New York : Free Press, c2002.
NONFIC 613.0423 SIMON
Johns Hopkins Consumer Guide to Medical Tests : what you can expect, how you should prepare.
what your results mean. New York : Rebus, 2001.
R 616.075 JOHNS
Johns Hopkins White Papers, 2003. New York : Rebus ; Baltimore, Md. : Johns Hopkins
Medicine, c2003.
R 616 JOHNS
Men's Health Home Workout Bible. Emmaus Pa. Rodale : St. Martin's Press,
c2002.
R 613.7044 SCHULER
New Atlas of Human Anatomy. London, MetroBooks, 2000, c1999.
R 611 NEW
PDR for Herbal Medicines. Montvale, N.J. : Medical Economics Co.,
c1998- .
R 615.321 PDR 2ND ED.
Professional Guide to Diseases. 7th ed. Springhouse, Pa. : Springhouse Division,
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2001.
R 616 PROFESSI
Rybacki, James J. The Essential Guide to Prescription Drugs. New York, NY :
HarperResource, c2004.
R 615.1 RYBACKI
Shoquist, Jennifer. The Encyclopedia of Sexually Transmitted Diseases. New York,
NY : Facts On File, c2004.
R 616.951 SHOQUIST
return to top
AGING
Web Sites
Alliance for Aging
Non-profit organization supporting medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and
health.
Clinical Trials
Clinical trials database from the National Institutes of Health. Searchable by disease,
location, treatment, etc.
NIH Senior Health
Up-to-date information on specific diseases & condition, treatment, and medications for seniors
from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE Plus.
Books
Carnot, Edward J. Is Your Parent in Good Hands? : protecting your aging parent
from financial abuse and neglect. Sterling, Va. : Capital Books, c2004.
NONFIC 362.6097 CARNOT
Devi, Gayatri. What your doctor may not tell you about Alzheimer's disease : the
complete guide to preventing, treating, and coping with memory loss. New York : Warner Books,
c2004.
NONFIC 616.831 DEVI
Mittelman, Mary S. The Alzheimer's Health Care Handbook : how to get the best medical
care for your relative with Alzheimer's Disease, in and out of the hospital. New York : Marlowe
& Co., c2003.
NONFIC 362.1 MITTELMA
Reichman, Judith. Slow Your Clock Down : the complete guide to a healthy, younger you.
New York : William Morrow, c2004.
NONFIC 613 REICHMAN
Telford, Gillian Eades. Making the Right Move : housing options for seniors. North
Vancouver, B.C. : International Self-Counsel Press, 2004.
NONFIC 363.5946 TELFORD
Trafford, Abigail. My Time : making the most of the rest of your life. New York :
Basic Books, c2004.
NONFIC 305.244 TRAFFORD
return to top
ALTERNATIVE AND COMPLEMENTARY MEDICINE
Web Sites
HerbMed
"An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific
data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource for
professionals, researchers, and general public. HerbMed® is a project of the Alternative
Medicine Foundation, Inc, provided as a freely available, public resource."
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Health information, research, training, clinical trials in alternative medicine.
Quackwatch
A guide to health fraud, quackery, and intelligent decisions.
Schools, Training, and Licensure in Alternative Medicine
Links to sources of information on the training, licensing, and schools in alternative medicine.
Books
Altshuler, Laurence. Balanced Healing : combining modern medicine with safe &
effective alternative therapies. Gig Harbor, WA : Harbor Press, c2004.
NONFIC 615.5 ALTSHULE
A Barefoot Doctor's Manual : a concise edition of the classic work of eastern
herbal medicine. Philadelphia, Pa. : Running Press, c2003.
NONFIC 616.0095 BAREFOOT
Fink, John M. Third opinion : an international resource guide to alternative therapy
centers for treating and preventing cancer, arthritis, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, MS, CFS, and other diseases. 4th ed. Garden City Park, NY : Square One Publishers, c2005.
R 362.1969 FINK
Han, Henry. Ancient Herbs, Modern Medicine : improving your health by combining Chinese
herbal medicine and Western medicine. New York : Bantam Books, 2003.
NONFIC 615.321 HAN
McFadden, Christine. A Harvest of Healing Foods : recipes and remedies for the mind,
body and soul. London : Vega, 2002.
NONFIC 641.563 MCFADDEN
return to top
ANXIETY AND DEPRESSION
Web Sites
National Mental Health Association
Information on mental health and illness, local support groups, and treatment resources.
Anxiety Disorders Association of America
Learn about various anxiety disorders, their causes and effective treatments.
Clinical Depression
Symptoms, commonly asked questions, screening, and types of treatment for clinical depression.
Online Depression Screening Test
An online depression screening test from New York University's Department of Psychiatry.
Books
Amen, Daniel G. Healing Anxiety and Depression. New York : Putnam c2003.
NONFIC 616.85 AMEN
Hockey, Kathleen Panula. Raising Depression-free Children : a parent's guide to
prevention and early intervention. Center City, Minn. : Hazelden, c2003.
NONFIC 618.9285 HOCKEY
Klein, Donald F. Understanding depression : a complete guide to its diagnosis and
treatment. 2nd ed., rev. and expanded ed. New York : Oxford University Press, c2005.
NONFIC 616.8527 KLEIN
Murray, Bob. Creating Optimism : a proven, seven-step program for overcoming depression.
New York : Contemporary Books, c2004.
NONFIC 616.8527 MURRAY
Rabens, Peter V. Getting old without getting anxious : conquering late-life anxiety.
New York : Avery, c2005.
NONFIC 618.9768 RABINS
Servan-Schreiber, David. The Instinct to Heal : curing stress, anxiety, and depression
without drugs and without talk therapy. [New York] St. Martin's Press, c2004.
NONFIC 616.85 SERVAN-S
Thase, Michael E. Beating the Blues : new approaches to overcoming dysthymia and
chronic mild depression.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2004.
NONFIC 616.8527 THASE
return to top
ARTHRITIS
Web Sites
Arthritis Foundation
Includes information on medications, alternative therapies, children and arthritis, treatments, and an assessment.
Johns Hopkins Arthritis Center
Medical news, education on arthritis and medications, disease management, and clinical trials.
Books
Fox, Barry. Arthritis for dummies. 2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley Pub.,
c2004.
NONFIC 616.722 FOX
McIlwain, Harris H. Pain-free Arthritis : a 7-step plan for feeling better again. New York :
H. Holt, 2003.
NONFIC 616.722 MCILWAIN
Millar, A. Lynn. Action Plan for Arthritis. Champaign, Ill. Human Kinetics,
c2003.
NONFIC 616.722 MILLAR
Theodosakis, Jason. The Arthritis Cure : the medical miracle that can halt, reverse, and may
even cure osteoarthritis. 1st rev. ed. New York : St. Martin's Press, 2004.
NONFIC 616.7223 THEODOSA
return to top
ASTHMA AND ALLERGIES
Web Sites
AllAllergy.net
"Your gateway to all asthma, allergy and intolerance information on the Web."
American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology
An extensive library of information on allergies and asthma. Information also available in
Spanish.
Books
Dozor, Allen J. The asthma and allergy action plan for kids : a complete program to
help your child live a full and active life. New York : Simon & Schuster, c2004.
NONFIC 618.9297 DOZOR
Fanta, Christopher H. et al. The Harvard Medical School Guide to Taking Control of
Asthma : a comprehensive prevention and treatment plan for you and your family. New York : Free
Press, 2003.
NONFIC 616.238 FANTA
Meggs, William Joel. The Inflammation Cure : how to combat the hidden factor behind
heart disease, arthritis, asthma, diabetes, Alzheimer's disease, osteoporosis, and other diseases
of aging. Chicago : Contemporary Books, c2004.
NONFIC 616.0473 MEGGS
Pescatore, Fred. The Allergy and Asthma Cure : a complete 8-step nutritional program.
New York, NY : Wiley, c2003.
NONFIC 616.975 PESCATOR
return to top
CANCER
Web Sites
American Cancer Society
Information about a variety of cancers. Locate your local ACS chapter.
Oncolink
Search by disease or medical specialty. Includes section on prevention and cancer screening, support
resources, and latest research.
Books
Bubley, Glenn J. What your doctor may not tell you about prostate cancer : the breakthrough information and treatments that can help save your life. New York : Warner Books,
c2005.
NONFIC 616.9946 BUBLEY
Grobstein, Ruth H. The breast cancer book : what you need to know to make informed
decisions. New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press, c2005.
NONFIC 616.9944 GROBSTEI
Hartmann, Lynn C. Mayo Clinic guide to women's cancers. Rochester, Minn. : Mayo
Clinic, c2005.
NONFIC 616.994 MAYO
Kornmehl, Carol L. Best News About Radiation Therapy : how to cope and survive.
Academic Radiation Oncology Press, 2003.
NONFIC 616.994 KORNMEHL
Morra, Marion E. Choices. 4th ed. New York : Quill, 2003.
NONFIC 616.994 MORRA
return to top
DIABETES
Web Sites
American Diabetes Association
All about diabetes including nutrition and recipes, weight loss and exercise, prevention, research
and news.
Diabetes Public Health Resource
From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, news and information
on diabetes.
Books
Becker, Gretchen. Prediabetes : what you need to know to keep diabetes away. New York
: Marlowe, c2004.
NONFIC 616.462 BECKER
Guthrie, Diana W. The Diabetes Sourcebook. McGraw-Hill, c2004.
NONFIC 616.462 GUTHRIE
Kaufman, Francine Ratner. Diabesity : the obesity-diabetes epidemic that threatens America-- and what we must do to stop it. New York, NY : Bantam Books, c2005.
NONFIC 362.1964 KAUFMAN
Peters, Anne L. Conquering diabetes : a cutting-edge, comprehensive program for prevention and treatment. New York, NY : Hudson Street Press, c2005.
NONFIC 616.462 PETERS
Wysocki, Tim. The Ten Keys to Helping Your Child Grow Up with Diabetes. American Diabetes
Association, 2004.
NONFIC 362.1989 WYSOCKI
return to top
DIET, EXERCISE, AND FITNESS
Web Sites
Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition
Consumer advice & publications on food safety, nutrition, and cosmetics.
Mayo Clinic
The section from the Mayo Clinic web site on healthy living, includes fitness, food &
nutrition among other topics.
SeekWellness
Wellness section featuring fitness, nutrition, and weight control.
Books
Decker, Joe. The World's Fittest You : four weeks to total fitness. New York, N.Y.
: Dutton, c2004.
NONFIC 613.7 DECKER
Hastings, John. ChangeOne : the breakthrough 12-week eating plan : lose weight simply,
safely, and forever. Pleasantville, NY : Reader's Digest, c2003.
NONFIC 613.25 HASTINGS
Ilg, Steve. Total Body Transformation : a 3-month fitness prescription for a strong,
lean body and a calmer mind. New York : Hyperion, c2004.
NONFIC 613.7 ILG
Sanders, Lisa. The Perfect Fit Diet : combine what science knows about weight loss
with what you know about yourself. Emmaus, Pa. : Rodale, 2004.
NONFIC 613.25 SANDERS
Sepe, Frank. The Truth : the only fitness book you'll ever need. Carlsbad, Calif.
: Hay House, c2003.
NONFIC 613.71 SEPE
Weight watchers Cook It Quick! : speedy recipes with low points value in 30 minutes or less.
New York : Fireside, 2004, c2002.
NONFIC 641.5635 WEIGHTWA
return to top
GASTROINTESTINAL TOPICS
Web Sites
MEDLINEplus Digestive System Information
MEDLINEplus section on digestive disorders and functions.
National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse
A to Z of digestive disease with information and links. Available in Spanish.
Books
Miskovitz, Paul F. The doctor's guide to gastrointestinal health : preventing and
treating acid reflux, ulcers, irritable bowel syndrome, diverticulitis, celiac disease, colon cancer, pancreatitis, cirrhosis, hernias, and more. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2005.
NONFIC 616.33 MISKOVIT
Salt, William B. Irritable Bowel Syndrome and the Mind-Body-Spirit Connection :
seven steps for living a healthy life with a functional bowel disorder, Crohn's disease or
colitis. Rev. ed. Columbus, Ohio : Parkview Publishing, 2002.
NONFIC 616.342 SALT
Sklar, Jill. Eating for Acid Reflux : a handbook and cookbook for those with
heartburn. New York. Publishers Group West. c2003.
NONFIC 616.32 SKLAR
return to top
HIV AND AIDS
Web Sites
AEGIS
"The largest HIV/AIDS website in the world. Updated hourly." Explore topics affecting
and affected by HIV and AIDS. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
The Body: AIDS & HIV Info
Access articles on a variety of topics: AIDS basics and prevention, treatment, quality of life,
government. Includes online magazine, POZ, and links to other support resources.
Books
Clark, Rebecca A. A woman's guide to living with HIV infection. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, c2004.
NONFIC 362.1969 CLARK
Goosby, Eric. Living with HIV/AIDS : the black person's guide to survival. Roscoe, IL : Hilton Publishing Company, c2004.
NONFIC 362.1969 GOOSBY
return to top
HEALTH ORGANIZATIONS
Web Sites
American Psychiatric Association
Click on "Public Information" for help choosing a psychiatrist. Fact sheets on mental
illness. Also includes professional resources.
National Safety Council
The mission of the National Safety Council is "to educate and influence society to adopt
safety, health and environmental policies, practices and procedures that prevent and mitigate
human suffering and economic losses arising from preventable causes."
World Health Organization
"The World Health Organization, the United Nations specialized agency for health, was
established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the
attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health."
return to top
HEART DISEASE
Web Sites
American Heart Association
"Fighting heart disease and stroke." Information about warning signs, diseases, CPR, and
how to live a healthy life.
Mayo Clinic Heart Center
Heart health basics and information on disorders and treatment.
Merck Manual on Heart & Blood Vessel Disorders
Merck Manual's home edition chapters on heart & blood vessel disorders.
Books
Arnot, Robert Burns. Seven steps to stop a heart attack. New York : Simon &
Schuster, c2005.
NONFIC 616.123 ARNOT
Bernstein, Jonathan Sackner. Before It Happens to You : a breakthrough program for
reversing or preventing heart disease. Da Capo Press, 2004.
NONFIC 616.1205 BERNSTEI
Fleming, Richard M. Stop Inflammation Now!: a simple, step-by-step program to
prevent and red arterial inflammation--a leading cause of heart disease, diabetes, cancer,
arthritis, high blood-pressure, and many other conditions.G.P. Putnam's, c2004.
NONFIC 616.0473 FLEMING
Freeman, Mason W. Harvard Medical School guide to lowering your cholesterol.
New York : McGraw-Hill, c2005.
NONFIC 616.123 FREEMAN
Mosca, Lori. Heart to heart : a personal plan for creating a heart-healthy
family your guide to the good life. Deerfield Beach, FL : Health Communications,
c2005.
NONFIC 616.123 MOSCA
Nelson, Miriam E. Strong women, strong hearts : proven strategies to prevent
and reverse heart disease now. New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2005.
NONFIC 616.1205 NELSON
Roberts, Barbara H. How to Keep from Breaking Your Heart : what every woman needs
to know about cardiovascular disease. Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2004.
NONFIC 616.12 ROBERTS
return to top
HOSPITAL AND DOCTOR SELECTION
Web Sites
AMA Physician Select
"AMA Physician Select provides information on virtually every licensed physician in the
United States and its possessions, including more than 650,000 doctors of medicine (MD) and
doctors of osteopathy or osteopathic medicine (DO). Search by name or specialty and location.
American Hospital Directory
Use the Free Information section to locate a hospital by name, city, or state. Includes additional
information about hospital: number of beds, services provided, and financial data.
HealthGrades
"HealthGrades is a healthcare quality ratings, information and advisory services company."
Provides grades and profiles for hospitals, physicians, nursing homes, and home health agencies.
Rural Health Care Resources Database
"Contains listing of health providers, wellness resources and related services in Georgia's
rural areas. You can search the database by any one of the following criteria: Organization, County,
Services, and City."
return to top
MENTAL HEALTH
Web Sites
American Psychological Association Help Center
Provides access to articles about dealing with life's problems including when to seek help and where
to find it.
Internet Mental Health
Includes information on over 50 disorders and their medical treatment. Online diagnosis available;
however it cannot substitute for a doctor's diagnosis.
National Mental Illness Screening Project
"The National Mental Illness Screening Project (NMISP) is a nonprofit organization developed to
coordinate nationwide mental health screening programs and to ensure cooperation, professionalism,
and accountability in mental illness screenings." Includes information on other screening
projects: alcoholism, eating disorders, and anxiety.
Books
Castle, Lana R. Bipolar Disorder Demystified : mastering the tightrope of manic
depression. New York : Marlowe & Co, c2003.
NONFIC 616.895 CASTLE
Faraone, Stephen V. Straight Talk About Your Child's Mental Health : what to do when
something seems wrong. New York : Guilford Press, c2003.
NONFIC 362.2083 FARAONE
Goleman, Daniel. Destructive Emotions : how can we overcome them? : a scientific
collaboration with the Dalai Lama. New York : Bantam Books, 2003.
NONFIC 294.3375 GOLEMAN
Hicks, James Whitney. Fifty signs of mental illness : a guide to understanding mental
health. New Haven : Yale University Press, c2005.
NONFIC 616.89 HICKS
return to top
PREGNANCY
Web Sites
Pregnancy on Healthfinder
Healthfinder's detailed web provides links on all aspects of pregnancy.
MEDLINEplus Pregnancy Topics
Information on healthy pregnancies, nutrition, research, special conditions, news, and more.
Books
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Your pregnancy & birth. 4th
ed. Washington, DC : American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, c2005.
NONFIC 618.2 YOUR
Curtis, Glade B. Your Pregnancy Week By Week. 5th ed. Cambridge, MA : Da Capo Press,
2004.
NONFIC 618.2 CURTIS
Evans, Joel M. The whole pregnancy handbook : an obstetrician's guide to integrating
conventional and alternative medicine before, during, and after pregnancy. New York : Gotham Books,
c2005.
NONFIC 618.2 EVANS
Fierro, Pamela. The everything twins, triplets, and more book. Avon, MA : Adams Media,
c2005.
NONFIC 618.25 FIERRO
Hall, Nancy Wilson. Balancing Pregnancy and Work : how to make the most of the next 9
months on the job. Emmaus, Pa. : Rodale, 2004.
NONFIC 618.24 HALL
Kitzinger, Sheila. The Complete Book of Pregnancy & Childbirth. 4th ed. New York :
Alfred A. Knopf, 2004.
NONFIC 618.2 KITZINGE
Stoppard, Miriam. Conception, pregnancy & birth. Rev. ed. New York, N.Y. : DK Pub.,
c2005.
NONFIC 618.2 STOPPARD
return to top
|