KEYWORDS
16th century England
Elizabethan
England
Golden Age
Queen Elizabeth I
Shakespeare
Society
Tudor
return to top
DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
306 Culture & Institutions
391 Costume & Personal Appearance
822.33 Shakespeare
914 Europe
940 General history of Europe
941 General history of Europe- British Isles
942 General History of Europe- England & Wales
Also See:
BIO ELIZABETH Queen Elizabeth I
return to top
PROMINENT FIGURES
Taken from lists in:
Wagner, John A. Historical dictionary of the Elizabethan world. Phoenix:
Oryx Press, 1999.
Call No.: REF 942.055 WAGNER
Monarchy
King Henry VIII
King James I
Queen Mary I
Queen Elizabeth I
Music
William Byrd
Thomas Tallis
Religion
William Allen
John Aylmer
Henry Barrow
George Blackwell
Robert Browne
John Calvin
Edmund Campion
Thomas Cartwright
Richard Davies
John Foxe
Henry Garnet
Edmund Grindal
Richard Hooker
Matthew Hutton
John Jewel
Thomas Lever
William Morgan
Thomas Norton
Alexander Nowell
Matthew Parker
John Piers
Edwin Sandys
William Salesbury
John Whitgift
Government
Sir Nicholas Bacon
Sir Robert Cecil
Lord Burghley (William Cecil)
Sir Christopher Hatton
Sir Francis Knollys
Earl of Sussex (Thomas Radcliffe)
Earl of Bedford (Francis Russell)
Earl of Dorset (Thomas Sackville)
Sir Francis Walsingham
Literature
Sir Francis Bacon
George Gascoigne
Robert Greene
Ben Jonson
Thomas Kyd
Thomas Lodge
John Lyly
Christopher Marlowe
George Peele
William Shakespeare
Sir Philip Sidney
Edmund Spenser
Education
Roger Ascham
Ann Bacon
Lady Burghley (Mildred Cecil)
Sir Anthony Cooke
Lady Russell (Elizabeth Russell)
Science & Medicine
Sir Francis Bacon
William Borough
John Dee
Simon Forman
return to top
GENERAL
Web Sites
Life in Elizabethan England: A Compendium of Knowledge
"Everyday life in Tudor England - food, occupations, games,
pastimes, religion, fashion, manners, and education in the time of
Queen Elizabeth I and Shakespeare."
Modern History Sourcebook: William Harrison (1534-1593): Description Of
Elizabethan England, 1577 (from Holinshed's Chronicles)
Contains information about towns, gardens, markets, food, livestock, animals, and punishments
during the Elizabethan period.
Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603)
"Queen Elizabeth. Biographical information, overview of reign, texts, poetry, essays,
articles, links, and resources."
Time Travelers Guide to Tudor England
"Everything the adventurous traveller needs to journey to the time of Henry VIII,
Bloody Mary and the Virgin Queen."
Treasures from the National Archives | Tudors and Stuarts (1485-1714)
"Treasures from The National Archives, collected over 1000 years of British history.
Browse all the exhibitions and treasures by a date range - Middle Ages, Tudors and Stuarts,
Eighteenth century, Nineteenth century or Twentieth century."
Tudor England: 1485-1603
Biographies, portraits, FAQs, quizzes and more. Includes links to primary and secondary
sources.
Tudor England- Britain Express
"Events and daily life in the Tudor period."
Books
Bindoff, S. T. Tudor England. Harmondsworth: Penguin Books, 1950.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 BINDOFF
Dodd, A. H. Life in Elizabethan England. New York: Putnam, 1961.
Call No.: NONFIC 914.2 DODD
Emerson, Kathy Lynn. The Writer’s Guide to Everyday Life in Renaissance
England, from 1485-1649. Cincinnati: Writer’s Digest Books, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 EMERSON
McMurtry, Jo. Understanding Shakespeare’s England. Hamden: Archon Books,
1989.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.055 MCMURTRY
Oxford Illustrated History of Tudor & Stuart Britain. Oxford: Oxford
University Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 941.06 MORRILL
Pritchard, Ronda D. Shakespeare’s England life in Elizabethan and Jacobean
time. Stroud: Sutton, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 828.308 PRITCHAR
Rowse, A. L. The England of Elizabeth: the structure of society.
Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1978.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.055 ROWSE
Rowse, A. L. The Elizabethan Renaissance: the life of the society.
New York: Scribner, 1972.
Call No.: NONFIC 914.2
Singman, Jeffrey L. Daily life in Elizabethan England. Westport:
Greenwood Press, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 SINGMAN
Call No.: REF 942.05 SINGMAN
Tudor England: an encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 2001.
Call No.: REF 942.05 TUDOR
Wagner, John A. Historical dictionary of the Elizabethan world. Phoenix:
Oryx Press, 1999.
Call No.: REF 942.055 WAGNER
return to top
MONARCHY
Web Sites
BBC- History- Elizabeth I: An Overview
"Clever, enigmatic and flirtatious, she remains one of England's most fascinating
monarchs. But what was she really like? By Alexandra Briscoe."
Gloriana: The Life and Reign of Elizabeth I
Detailed biography that includes portraits and lists sources. Also contains a timeline.
History of the Monarchy-The Tudors- Elizabeth I
Contains information about Queen Elizabeth I and the foreign policy, arts, economy, and
government during her reign.
The Life and Times of Elizabeth I
"Information on the life and reign of Queen Elizabeth I 1533-1603 including biography, bibliography, courtiers, Elizabethan life, Shakespeare, links, quizzes and more."
Tudor & Elizabeth Portraits
"This is a site that is dedicated to making portraits and other works of art from the
Tudor and Elizabethan era available to everyone for the purpose of research and
education." Scroll to the bottom of the page for links to specific monarchs.
TudorHistory.org
Contains information about the Tudor monarchy as well the people, life, and architecture
during their reign. Includes maps.
The Tudors
Need to know more about the Tudor family? Find the family tree, individual chronologies,
special dates in the realm of art and music, and more.
Books
Cannon, John Ashton, and Ralph Alan Griffiths. The Oxford Illustrated History
of the British Monarchy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
Call No.: NONFIC 941 CANNON
Plowden, Alison. The Young Elizabeth: the first twenty-five years of
Elizabeth I. Stroud: Sutton, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.055 PLOWDEN
Ridley, Jasper Godwin. The Tutor Age. Woodstock: Overlook Press, 1990.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 RIDLEY
Somerset, Anne. Elizabeth I. New York: Knopf, 1991.
Call No.: BIO ELIZABET
Williams, Neville, and Antonia Fraser. The Life and Times of Elizabeth I.
New York: Shooting Star Press, 1995.
Call No.: BIO ELIZABET
return to top
DRESS
Web Sites
Elizabethan Costume: History and Technique
Contains information about social life, dress for different orders, fabrics, jewelry, and
accessories.
Elizabethan Sumptuary Statutes
Laws regarding appearance and dress for different classes during the reign of Queen
Elizabeth I.
The Elizabethan Costuming Page
Detailed information about the clothing worn during the reign of Elizabeth I. Includes
descriptions of outer dress as well as undergarments, fabrics, colors, patterns, and
accessories. Portraits and pictures of period dress can also be viewed at this site.
The Costumer’s Manifesto: 16th Century Costume Links
General information about 16th century dress as well as dress for specific classes and
occupations. Also includes information about accessories.
Books
Ashelford, Jane, and Andreas Einsiedel. The Art of Dress: clothes and society,
1500-1914. London: Abrams, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 391.0094 ASHELFOR
Peacock, John. Costume, 1066-1990s. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1994.
Call No.: NONFIC 391 PEACOCK
return to top
EDUCATION
Web Sites
Elizabethan Education
"Educational resource about The Childhood & Education of William Shakespeare.
Comprehensive facts about Elizabethan Education."
Educating Shakespeare: school life in Elizabethan England
"Facts and information about sixteenth-century education. Includes subjects
studied, the school day, boys’ property and punishments meted out by the
schoolmasters."
The Identity of the Mathematical Practitioner in 16th Century England
Though centered on mathematical practice, this piece covers the changing academic environment at
the time.
Books
Cressy, David. Literacy and the social order: Reading and Writing in Tudor
and Stuart England. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1980.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.4 CRESSY
return to top
FOOD
Web Sites
Elizabethan Recipes & Food
"Taste Elizabethan England through the mists of time. Our range of recipes for Elizabethan
England foods are made to 400 year old Elizabethan food recipes." Includes articles on
Elizabethan life that cover diet, recipes, general history, weddings, and more.
Medieval and Renaissance Food Homepage: Sources, Recipes, and Articles
Links to period cookbooks and recipes.
A Renaissance Cookery Book
"Recipes & additional text from the 16th century culinary
manuscript, A Propre new booke of Cokery (1545).
Included with the 49 original receipts are our translations & contemporary redactions."
Old Elizabethan Recipes
"Fast and accurate details and facts about Old Elizabethan Recipes."
return to top
LITERATURE, MUSIC & ART
Web Sites
Art History Resources on the Web: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe and Spain - 16th
century
Great site for an overview of art in the region during this time period. Look under "Hans Holbein
the Younger" for "Portraits of Henry VIII and his Family".
Vol. 3. Renascence and Reformation. The Cambridge History of English and American Literature:
An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes. 190721
Access The Cambridge History of English and American Literature through Bartleby.com.
Full-text and contains a timeline.
Elizabethan Sonneteers
"An archive of English sonnets, commentary, audio, and relevant web links."
Elizabethan England | Special Topics Page | Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum
of Art
Overview of art with links to individual works.
return to top
RELIGION
Web Sites
Norton Anthology of English Literature: The 16th Century: Dissent, Doubt, and Spiritural
Violence in the Reformation
Chapter overview with links to period texts and illustrations.
return to top
SCIENCE & MEDICINE
Web Sites
Herbal Medicine in Shakespeare's England
Online article about John Hall, herbal medicine, and the diseases during the late 16th century
and early 17th century in England.
Books
Salzberg, Hugh W. From caveman to chemist: circumstances and achievements.
Washington, D.C.: American Chemical Society, 1991.
Call No.: NONFIC 540.9 SALZBERG
Woolley, Benjamin. The queen’s conjurer: the science and magic of Dr. John Dee,
advisor to Queen Elizabeth I. New York: Henry Holt, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 133.092 WOOLLEY
return to top
WARFARE & WEAPONRY
Web Sites
The Geometry of War, 1500-1750
"The application of mathematical science in the context of the battlefield." An on-line
exhibit from the Museum of the History of Science in Oxford.
myArmoury.com: Featured Content and Articles
"A resource for historic arms and armor collectors with photo galleries, reviews, reference
materials, and a comparison tool."
Books
Fernandez-Armesto, Felipe. The Spanish Armada: the experience of war in 1588.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
Call No.: NONFIC 946.04 FERNANDE
Kelsey, Harry. Sir Francis Drake: the Queen's pirate.
New Haven: Yale University Press, c1998.
Call No.: BIO DRAKE
return to top
|