"The Ermine Portrait"- Image of 1585 painting of Queen Elizabeth I by Nicholas Hilliard.

Guide to Elizabethan England
(1533-1603)
a selection of resources

KEYWORDS : DDC NUMBERS :  PROMINENT FIGURES :
 GENERAL  : MONARCHY :  DRESS : EDUCATION :
 SCIENCE & MEDICINE

KEYWORDS

16th century England
Elizabethan
England
Golden Age
Queen Elizabeth I
Shakespeare
Society
Tudor


DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

306        Culture & Institutions
391        Costume & Personal Appearance
822.33  Shakespeare
914        Europe
940        General history of Europe
941        General history of Europe- British Isles
942        General History of Europe- England & Wales
Also See: BIO ELIZABETH   Queen Elizabeth I


PROMINENT FIGURES
Taken from lists in:
Wagner, John A. Historical dictionary of the Elizabethan world. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999.
Call No.: REF 942.055 WAGNER


Monarchy

King Henry VIII
King James I
Queen Mary I
Queen Elizabeth I

Music

William Byrd
Thomas Tallis

Religion

William Allen
John Aylmer
Henry Barrow
George Blackwell
Robert Browne
John Calvin
Edmund Campion
Thomas Cartwright
Richard Davies
John Foxe
Henry Garnet
Edmund Grindal
Richard Hooker
Matthew Hutton
John Jewel
Thomas Lever
William Morgan
Thomas Norton
Alexander Nowell
Matthew Parker
John Piers
Edwin Sandys
William Salesbury
John Whitgift

Government

Sir Nicholas Bacon
Sir Robert Cecil
Lord Burghley (William Cecil)
Sir Christopher Hatton
Sir Francis Knollys
Earl of Sussex (Thomas Radcliffe)
Earl of Bedford (Francis Russell)
Earl of Dorset (Thomas Sackville)
Sir Francis Walsingham

Literature

Sir Francis Bacon
George Gascoigne
Robert Greene
Ben Jonson
Thomas Kyd
Thomas Lodge
John Lyly
Christopher Marlowe
George Peele
William Shakespeare
Sir Philip Sidney
Edmund Spenser

Education

Roger Ascham
Ann Bacon
Lady Burghley (Mildred Cecil)
Sir Anthony Cooke
Lady Russell (Elizabeth Russell)

Science & Medicine

Sir Francis Bacon
William Borough
John Dee
Simon Forman


GENERAL
Web Sites

Aquinas-Mercy Renaissance Resources
Contains links to websites relating to Renaissance art, architecture, the Plague, dance, economy, and general resources. Be aware that this site covers all of Europe. Look for titles including "England" or "Elizabethan".

Elizabeth I and Elizabethan Life in England
"Architecture, literature, and daily life in Elizabethan England."

Elizabethan Era, Immanuel College Library Resource Centre
Contains links containing information about music, society, punishment, architecture, education, religion, theatre, war, and women during the Elizabethan era.

Eras of Elegance, Inc. Elizabethan Era
Includes information about politics, religion, science, arts, fashion, hairstyles, and cooking.

Life in Elizabethan England: A Compendium of Knowledge
Contains occupations, games, money, religion, family, social structure, and language from 1558-1603. Excellent site. Very extensive.

Modern History Sourcebook: William Harrison (1534-1593): Description Of Elizabethan England, 1577 (from Holinshed's Chronicles)
Contains information about towns, gardens, markets, food, livestock, animals, and punishments during the Elizabethan period.

Sixteenth Century Renaissance English Literature- Background information.
Contains link to general information as well as politics, economy, royalty, religion, science, the Plague, magic, women, images, music, theatre, dance, art, architecture, dress, and food.

Books

Bindoff, S. T. Tudor England. Harmondsworth: Penguin Books, 1950.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 BINDOFF

Dodd, A. H. Life in Elizabethan England. New York: Putnam, 1961.
Call No.: NONFIC 914.2 DODD

Emerson, Kathy Lynn. The Writer’s Guide to Everyday Life in Renaissance England, from 1485-1649. Cincinnati: Writer’s Digest Books, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 EMERSON

McMurtry, Jo. Understanding Shakespeare’s England. Hamden: Archon Books, 1989.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.055 MCMURTRY

Oxford Illustrated History of Tudor & Stuart Britain. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 941.06 MORRILL

Pritchard, Ronda D. Shakespeare’s England life in Elizabethan and Jacobean time. Stroud: Sutton, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 828.308 PRITCHAR

Rowse, A. L. The England of Elizabeth: the structure of society. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1978.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.055 ROWSE

Rowse, A. L. The Elizabethan Renaissance: the life of the society. NewYork: Scribner, 1972.
Call No.: NONFIC 914.2

Singman, Jeffrey L. Daily life in Elizabethan England. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1995.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 SINGMAN
Call No.: REF 942.05 SINGMAN

Tudor England: an encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 2001.
Call No.: REF 942.05 TUDOR

Wagner, John A. Historical dictionary of the Elizabethan world. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999.
Call No.: REF 942.055 WAGNER


MONARCHY
Web Sites

TudorHistory.org
Contains information about the Tudor monarchy as well the people, life, and architecture during their reign. Contains maps.

History of the Monarchy- The Tudors- Elizabeth I
Contains information about Queen Elizabeth I and the foreign policy, arts, economy, and government during her reign.

The Life and Times of Elizabeth I
Contains information about Queen Elizabeth I, the church, the role of women in society, and Western Europe.

Books

Cannon, John Ashton, and Ralph Alan Griffiths. The Oxford Illustrated History of the British Monarchy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
Call No.: NONFIC 941 CANNON

Plowden, Alison. The Young Elizabeth: the first twenty-five years of Elizabeth I. Stroud: Sutton, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.055 PLOWDEN

Ridley, Jasper Godwin. The Tutor Age. Woodstock: Overlook Press, 1990.
Call No.: NONFIC 942.05 RIDLEY

Somerset, Anne. Elizabeth I. New York: Knopf, 1991.
Call No.: BIO ELIZABET

Williams, Neville, and Antonia Fraser. The Life and Times of Elizabeth I. New York: Shooting Star Press, 1995.
Call No.:BIO ELIZABET


DRESS
Web Sites

Elizabethan Costume: History and Technique
Contains information about social life, dress for different orders, fabrics, jewelry, and accessories.

Elizabethan Sumptuary Statutes
Laws regarding appearance and dress for different classes during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I.

The Elizabethan Costuming Page
Detailed information about the clothing worn during the reign of Elizabeth I. Includes descriptions of outer dress as well as undergarments, fabrics, colors, patterns, and accessories. Portraits and pictures of period dress can also be viewed at this site.

The Costumer’s Manifesto: 16th Century Costume Links
General information about 16th century dress as well as dress for specific classes and occupations. Also includes information about accessories.

Books

Ashelford, Jane, and Andreas Einsiedel. The Art of Dress: clothes and society, 1500-1914. London: Abrams, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 391.0094 ASHELFOR

Peacock, John. Costume, 1066-1990s. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1994.
Call No.: NONFIC 391 PEACOCK


EDUCATION
Web Sites

Life in Elizabethan England: What Every Schoolboy Knows
Contains information about public education as well as topics covered in education during this time period.

Books

Cressy, David. Literacy and the social order: Reading and Writing in Tudor and Stuart England. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1980.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.4 CRESSY


SCIENCE & MEDICINE
Web Sites

Herbal Medicine in Shakespeare’s England
Online article about John Hall, herbal medicine, and the diseases during the late 16th century and early 17th century in England.

Books

Salzberg, Hugh W. From caveman to chemist: circumstances and achievements. Washington, D.C.: American Chemical Society, 1991.
Call No.: NONFIC 540.9 SALZBERG

Woolley, Benjamin. The queen’s conjurer: the science and magic of Dr. John Dee, advisor to Queen Elizabeth I. New York: Henry Holt, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 133.092 WOOLLEY



Return to Pathfinder Directory


Athens Regional Library System
2025 Baxter Street · Athens, Georgia 30606 · (706) 613-3650