GENERAL WORKS
Web Sites
All About Native Americans
A social studies website compiled by Sue LeBeau, designed for "teachers, students and curious adults,"
includes tribal histories, stories, myths, poetry, recipes and foods, photographs and more.
American Historical Images On File--The Native American Experience
A collection of photographs, maps and drawings of Native Americans from the prehistoric period to the
present, compiled by Professor Troy Johnson, California State University, Long Beach.
American Indians
Information on the Apache, Blackfoot, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Lakota and Pueblo tribes, includes short
biographies, tribal histories and information on religious practices, art and society, part of
"Cybersoup's Wild West" website.
The Curtis Collection
Includes descriptions and photographs of western Native American tribes taken from Edward Curtis'
"The North American Indian," Curtis visited approximately 80 tribes between 1890 and 1930, and his
20 volume book has more than 2000 photographs.
Elementary Education Resources-Social Studies-History: Native American History and Current
Affairs
A large collection of links on Native American history and culture compiled by Bernie Poole and Yvonne
Singer, includes general information and information on specific Native American tribes.
First Nations Histories
Short histories of Native American tribes, written by Lee Sultzman.
Historical Maps of the United States
University of Texas at Austin General Libraries site, contains on-line maps of Indian tribes in the
United States.
History of the American West, 1860-1920--Photographs from the Denver Public Library
A collection of photographs from the Western History and Genealogy Department of the Denver Public
Library, includes many photographs of Native American tribes living west of the Mississippi River.
Native American Genealogy
Includes Native American rolls, tribal listings, tribal histories, census records, land patents,
cemeteries, treaties and more.
Native North America
Short overviews of many U.S. and Canadian Native American tribes, includes information on history,
culture and geographic locations.
Native American History and Culture
Smithsonian Institution site, Native American resources, exhibitions and recommendations for reading,
includes link to the Museum of the American Indian, which opens September 21, 2004.
Native American Nations
Lisa Mitten's index of webpages of individual Native American tribes, many of the pages are maintained
by the tribes themselves.
Pictures of Indians in the United States
National Archives and Records Administration site, 194 pictures of Native Americans from the mid 1800's
to the mid 1900's.
Powerful People
Short biographies of famous Native Americans, including Chief Joseph, Sitting Bull and Cochise.
WWW Virtual Library - American Indians, Index of Native American Resources on the
Internet
Very extensive collection of links, includes history, culture, art, music, education, languages and
much more.
Books
Brown, Dee Alexander. Bury my Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American
West. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1971.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.5 BROWN
Bruchac, Joseph. Lasting Echoes: An Oral History of Native American People. San Diego:
Silver Whistle, 1997.
Call Number: JNF 973.0049 BRUCHAC
Davis, Mary B, editor. Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia. New
York: Garland Pub., 1994.
Call Number: R 970.0049 NATIVE
Dudley, William, editor. Native Americans: Opposing Viewpoints. San Diego, CA:
Greenhaven Press, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0497 NATIVE
Francis, Lee. Native Time: A Historical Time Line of Native America. New York: St.
Martin's Press, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1021 FRANCIS
Hakim, Joy. The First Americans. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Call Number: JNF 973 HAKIM
Hazen-Hammond, Susan. Timelines of Native American History: Through the Centuries with
Mother Earth and Father Sky. New York: Berkley Pub. Group, 1997.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1021 HAZEN-HA
Hoxie, Frederick E., editor. Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Boston: Houghton
Mifflin Company, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.103 HOXIE
Jacobson, Daniel. Great Indian Tribes. Maplewood, NJ: Hammond, 1970.
Call Number: JNF 970.3 JACOBSON
Jennings, Jesse David, editor. Ancient Native Americans. San Francisco: W.H. Freeman,
1978.
Call Number: NONFIC 970 JENNINGS
Josephy, Alvin M. 500 Nations: An Illustrated History of North American Indians. New
York: Knopf, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1 JOSEPHY
Koppel, Tom. Lost World: Rewriting Prehistory, How New Science is Tracing America's Ice
Age Mariners. New York: Atria Books, 2003.
Call Number: NONFIC 930.1 KOPPEL
LaDuke, Winona. All our Relations: Native Struggles for Land and Life. Cambridge, MA:
South End Press; Minneapolis, MN: Honor the Earth, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 333.2 LADUKE
Langer, Howard, editor. American Indian Quotations. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
1996.
Call Number: R 973.0497 AMERICAN
Malinowski, Sharon and Glickman, Simon, editors. Native North American Biography. New
York: UXL, 1996, 2 vols.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.0049 NATIVE
Marks, Paula Mitchell. In a Barren Land: American Indian Dispossession and Survival.
New York: William Morrow, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0497 MARKS
Matthiessen, Peter. In the Spirit of Crazy Horse. New York: Viking Press, 1983.
Call Number: NONFIC 305.897 MATHIESSEN
Miller, Lee, editor. From the Heart: Voices of the American Indian. New York: Knopf,
1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0497 MILLER
Page, Jake. In the Hands of the Great Spirit: The 20,000 Year History of American
Indians. New York: Free Press, 2003.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.049 PAGE
Rappaport, Doreen. We are the Many: A Picture book of American Indians. New York:
HarperCollins, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 970.004 RAPPAPORT
Richter, Daniel K. Facing East from Indian Country: A Native history of Early America.
Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.0049 RICHTER
Smith, Paul Chaat. Like a Hurricane: The Indian Movement from Alcatraz to Wounded Knee.
New York: New Press, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.033 SMITH
Spangenburg, Ray and Moser, Diane. The American Indian Experience. New York: Facts on
File, 1997.
Call Number: JNF 973 SPANGENBURG
Swanton, John Reed. The Indian tribes of North America. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian
Institution Press, 1969.
Call Number: R 970 SWANTON
Wilson, James. The Earth Shall Weep: A History of Native America. New York: Atlantic
Monthly Press; Berkeley, CA, distributed by Publishers Group West, 1999.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.0049 WILSON
return to top
THE SOUTHEAST
Web Sites
Among the Creeks
Includes history of the Creek War, portraits, documents, newspaper articles, excerpts from memoirs,
and short biographical sketches of Creek leaders.
Cherokee Nation
Cherokee history, includes a timeline, a map of the Trail of Tears, a Cherokee creation myth and
Cherokee prophecies.
The Cherokee "Trail of Tears"--1838-1839
Includes a timeline of the Trail of Tears, accounts of individual participants, a map of North
American Native American tribes in 1500 and a link to the Trail of Tears Missouri State Park homepage.
Chickasaw Historical Research Page
Includes government records, treaties, tribal rolls, letters, and excerpts from memoirs and interviews.
The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
Homepage of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, includes information on Choctaw history, legends, culture
and genealogy.
The Effects of Removal on American Indian Tribes
Essay by Clara Sue Kidwell on the removal of Choctaws, the Chickasaws, Cherokees, Creeks and the
Seminoles from the southeastern United States.
Five Civilized Tribes Museum and Center for Study of Indian Territory
Includes calendar of events, contacts for historical and genealogical research and links to the
official web sites of the Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw and Seminole nations.
New Echota Historic Site
A short history of the Cherokee capital, New Echota, includes short articles on Cherokee culture,
the Trail of Tears, the Cherokee language newspaper, "The Cherokee Phoenix," and Samuel Worcester,
a Christian missionary who was arrested by the state of Georgia for working on Cherokee territory
without the state's permission.
Pocahontas: Fact and Fiction
Short biography of Pocahantas and her relationship with the Jamestown colony.
The Seminole Tribe of Florida
Includes information on Seminole history, culture and tribal government.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
A Digital Library of Georgia site, letters, legal documents, financial documents and more from the
University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H.
McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum
of the Cherokee Indian, the site also has an introduction to Southeastern Native American history, a
recommended reading list and web links--Note: To access this site, type in "Southeastern
Native American Documents" at "Find a Database by Name:".
The Story of Pocahantas
Biographical essay by Charles Dudley Warner available in full-text through Project Gutenberg.
Books
Allen, Paula Gunn. Pocahontas: Medicine Woman, Spy, Entrepreneur, Diplomat. San
Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 2003.
Call Number: BIO POCAHONTAS
Anderson, William L., editor. Cherokee Removal: Before and After. Athens, GA: University
of Georgia Press, 1991.
Call Number: NONFIC 975.8 CHEROKEE
Burt, Jesse Clifton. Indians of the Southeast: Then and Now. Nashville, TN: Abingdon
Press, 1973.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.4 BURT
Carter, Samuel. Cherokee Sunset: A Nation Betrayed: A Narrative of Travail and Triumph,
Persecution and Exile. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1976.</strong>
Call Number: NONFIC 970 CARTER
Corkran, David H. The Cherokee Frontier: Conflict and Survival, 1740-62. Norman, OK:
University of Oklahoma Press, 1962.
Call Number: GR 970.3 CORKRAN
Debo, Angie. And Still the Waters Run: The Betrayal of the Five Civilized Tribes.
Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1968.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1 DEBO
Debo, Angie. The Rise and Fall of the Choctaw Republic. Norman,OK: University of
Oklahoma Press, 1961.
Call Number: NONFIC 976.004 DEBO
Doherty, Katherine M. The Chickasaw. Vero Beach, FL: Rourke Publications, 1994.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 DOHERTY
Foreman, Grant. The Five Civilized Tribes-- Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek,
Seminole. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press, 1989.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1 FOREMAN
Fundaburk, Emma Lila. Southeastern Indians: Life Portraits: A Catalogue of Pictures,
1564-1860. Luverne, AL, 1958.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1 FUNDABURK
Green, Michael D. The Creeks. New York: Chelsea House, 1990.
Call Number: JNF 975.0049 GREEN
Hoig, Stan. The Cherokees and their Chiefs: In the Wake of Empire. Fayetteville, AR:
University of Arkansas Press, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0497 HOIG
Hubbard-Brown, Janet. The Secret of Roanoke Island. New York: Avon Books, 1991.
Call Number: JNF 975.6 HUBBARD
Lassieur, Allison. The Creek Nation. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone Books, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 975.004 LASSIEUR
McDaniel, Melissa. The Powhatan Indians. New York: Chelsea Juniors, 1996.
Call Number: JNF 975 MCDANIEL
McLoughlin, William Gerald. The Cherokee Ghost Dance: Essays on the Southeastern
Indians, 1789-1861. Macon, GA: Mercer, 1984.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.45 MCLOUGHLIN
Milfort, Louis. Memoirs or A Quick Glance at my Various Travels and my Sojourn in the
Creek Nation. Savannah, GA: Beehive Press, 1972.
Call Number: GR 970.1 MILFORT
Milton, Giles. Big Chief Elizabeth: The Adventures and Fate of the First English
Colonists in America. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2000.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.0049 MILTON
Mooney, James. History, Myths, and Sacred Formulas of the Cherokees: Containing the
Full Texts of Myths of the Cherokee (1900) and The Sacred Formulas of the Cherokees (1891) as published
by the Bureau of American Ethnology, with a new biographical introduction, James Mooney and the Eastern
Cherokees, by George Ellison. Asheville, NC: Historical Images, 1992.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0497 MOONEY
Perdue, Theda and Green, Michael D. The Columbia guide to American Indians of the
Southeast. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001.
Call Number: R 975.0049 PERDUE
Press, Petra. The Seminole. Minneapolis, MN: Compass Point Books, 2001.
Call Number: JNF 975.9004 PRESS
Price, David. Love and Hate in Jamestown: John Smith, Pocahontas, and the Heart of a
New Nation. New York: Knopf, distributed by Random House, 2003.
Call Number: NONFIC 975.5425 PRICE
Rountree, Helen C. Pocahontas's People: The Powhatan Indians of Virginia through
Four Centuries. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 975.5 ROUNDTREE
Salas, Laura Purdie. The Trail of Tears, 1838. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone Books, 2003.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 SALAS
Snider, Billie Ford. Full Name Indexes Creek Indians East of the Mississippi.
Pensacola, FL: Antique Compiling, 1993.
Call Number: GR 929.375 SNIDER
Sherrow, Victoria. The Choctaw. Vero Beach, FL: Rourke Publications, 1997.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 SHERROW
Shumate, Jane. Sequoyah: Inventor of the Cherokee Alphabet. New York: Chelsea House
Publishers, 1994.
Call Number: JB SEQUOYAH
return to top
THE NORTHEAST
Web Sites
Historical Perspective of the Narragansett Indian Tribe
A short history of the Narragansett tribe from the prehistoric period to the present.
History of the Mayflower, the Pilgrims, and early Plymouth Colony
Includes a biography of Tisquantum (Squanto) and a short essay on the first Thanksgiving.
The Iroquois Nation
A short history of the Iroquois nation, includes Iroquois legends and information of Iroquois masks
and ceremonies.
Iroquois.net
Includes information on Iroquois history, archaeological research and Iroquois museums and cultural
centers.
Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation History
From the The Mashantucket Pequot Museum and Research Center website, includes a short history of the
Mashantucket Pequot tribe and a timeline of events.
Oneida Indian Nation
A short history of the Oneida nation, Oneida land claims and the texts of the most important Oneida
treaties.
The Pilgrim Story
The Pilgrim Hall Museum's history of the Plymouth Colony, includes information on the Wampanoag Nation
and their relations with the colonists, which culminated in King Philip's War.
War With The Pequods
A short history of the Pequot War taken from "0ur Country," Vol. 1.
Books
Demos, John. The Unredeemed Captive: A Family Story from Early America. New York:
Vintage Books: Distributed by Random House, Inc., 1994.
Call Number: BIO WILLIAMS
Duvall, Jill. The Oneida. Chicago: Childrens Press, 1991.
Call Number: JNF 973.049 DUVALL
Englar, Mary. The Iroquois: The Six Nations Confederacy. Mankato, MN: Capstone Press,
2003.
Call Number: JNF 974.0049 ENGLAR
Hubbard-Brown, Janet. The Mohawk Indians. New York : Chelsea House, 1993.
Call Number: JNF 073.0497 HUBBARD
Newman, Shirlee Petkin. The Pequots. New York : Franklin Watts, 2000.
Call Number: JNF 974.0049 NEWMAN
Press, Petra. The Iroquois. Minneapolis, MN: Compass Point Books, 2001.
Call Number: JNF 970.19755 PRESS
Riehecky, Janet. The Wampanoag: The People of the First Light. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone
Books, 2003.
Call Number: JNF 974.4004 RIEHECKY
Roman, Joseph. King Philip, Wampanoag Rebel. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1992.
Call Number: JB PHILIP
Simmons, William Scranton. The Narragansett. New York: Chelsea House Publishers,
1989.
Call Number: JNF 974.0049 SIMMONS
Time-Life Books, editors. Algonquians of the East Coast. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life
Books, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 974.0049 ALGONQUIANS
Time-Life Books, editors. Realm of the Iroquois. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books,
1993.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.0497 REALM
Wilbur, C. Keith. Woodland Indians. Philadelphia : Chelsea House, 1996.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 WILBUR
return to top
THE SOUTHWEST
Web Sites
Anasazi
History of the Anasazi, includes photographs of sites and drawings of petroglyphs.
Apache Nation
Includes sections on Apache history, clothing, religious practices, food and social structure.
A Comanche History
A short history of the Comanches by Barbara Goodin.
Purple Hawk's Nest--The Apache Nation
Includes Apache history and folklore, short biographies of famous Apache leaders and photographs.
Southwest Indian History
A Council of Indian Nations site, an overview of Southwest Indian history from the prehistoric period
to the present.
Southwest Native Americans
Short articles on the Apache, Hopi, Navaho, Pueblo and Zuni tribes.
Books
Aaseng, Nathan. Navajo Code Talkers. New York: Walker, 1992.
Call Number: NONFIC 940.54 AASENG
Bonvillain, Nancy. The Zuni. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 BONVILLAIN
Bourke, John Gregory. On the Border with Crook. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books,
1980, Reprint, originally published: New York: Scribner, 1891.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.8 BOURKE
Bruchac, Joseph. Navajo Long Walk: The Tragic Story of a Proud People's Forced March
from their Homeland. Washington, DC: National Geographic Society, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 979.1004 BRUCHAC
Cremony, John Carey. Life among the Apaches. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1981,
reprint of the 1868 edition published by A. Roman, San Francisco.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.3 CREMONY
Davis, Britton. The Truth about Geronimo. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press,
1976, reprint of the 1929 edition published by Yale University Press, New Haven.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.0049 DAVIS
Dobyns, Henry F. The Pima-Maricopa. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1989.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.1004 DOBYNS
Griffin-Pierce, Trudy. Native Peoples of the Southwest. Albuquerque: University of
New Mexico Press, 2000.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.0049 GRIFFIN
Jeffery, David. Geronimo. Milwaukee: Raintree Publishers, 1990.
Call Number: JB GERONIMO
Hubbard-Brown, Janet. The Disappearance of the Anasazi. New York: Avon, 1992.
Call Number: JNF 978.9 HUBBARD
Lund, Bill. The Apache Indians. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone Books, 1998.
Call Number: JNF 978 LUND
Petersen, David. The Anasazi. Chicago: Childrens Press, 1991.
Call Number: JNF 979 PETERSEN
Press, Petra. The Pueblo. Minneapolis, MN: Compass Point Books, 2001.
Call Number: JNF 978.9 PRESS
Roberts, David. In Search of the Old Ones: Exploring the Anasazi world of the Southwest.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.01 ROBERTS
Schwarz, Melissa. Cochise, Apache Chief. New York: Chelsea House, 1992.
Call Number: JB COCHISE
Sneve, Virginia Driving Hawk. The Hopis. New York: Holiday House, c1995.
Call Number: JNF 970.3 HOPI
Sweeney, Edwin R. Cochise: Chiricahua Apache Chief. Norman, OK: University of
Oklahoma Press, 1991.
Call Number: BIO COCHISE
Time-Life Books, editors. Tribes of the Southern Plains. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life
Books, 1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 TRIBES
Wood, Leigh Hope. The Navajo Indians. New York: Chelsea House, 1991.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 WOOD
return to top
THE MIDWEST & THE GREAT PLAINS
Web Sites
The Battle of the Little Bighorn, 1876
An account of the battle, from EyeWitnesstoHistory.com.
The Battle of Little Bighorn--An Eyewitness Account by the Lakota Chief Red Horse recorded
in pictographs and text at the Cheyenne River Reservation, 1881
A Lakota account of the battle, from the website for the PBS program, "The West".
Blackfeet History and Culture
Contains information about the current status of the Blackfeet tribe and reservation.
The Official Site of the Blackfoot Nation
Contains information about Blackfoot culture, including a full-text representation of the, "Niitsitapii
Ahsisto," the manifesto of the Blackfoot Confederacy.
Cheyenne Indians
A short history of the Cheyennes, includes a detailed description of the Sundance ceremony.
Crow Web Resources
A Little Big Horn College Library project, includes sections on Crow history, Crow genealogy and
Crow tribal government.
Lakota
Dustyn Medicine Wolf's site, contains a short history of the Lakota people, a biography of Crazy
Horse and an essay on the Sundance ceremony.
Lakota History
Large collection of links managed by Rev. Raymond A. Bucko, S.J. of Creighton University, includes
essays on the Battle of the Little Bighorn, the Ghost Dance, the Dakota War and the Fort Laramie
treaties, biographies of prominent Lakota leaders and links to Native American photographic
collections.
The Dakota Conflict Trials, 1862
Part of the Famous American Trials website, includes a chronology, trial records, accounts of the
trials and executions, biographical sketches of major participants, maps, and photographs.
Sioux Nation--Lakota, Dakota, Nakota
Includes a list of the Sioux tribes, a chronology of Sioux history and short biographical sketches
of selected Sioux leaders.
Books
Adams, Alexander B. Sitting Bull: An Epic of the Plains. New York: Putnam Sons,
1973.
Call Number: BIO SITTING BULL
Bancroft-Hunt, Norman. The Indians of the Great Plains. London: Orbis, 1982.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 BANCROFT
Bonvillain, Nancy. The Teton Sioux. New York: Chelsea House, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 BONVILLAIN
Connell, Evan S. Son of the Morning Star. San Francisco: North Point Press, 1984.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.478 CONNELL
Custer, George Armstrong. My life on the Plains; or, Personal Experiences with Indians.
Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press, 1962.
Call Number: BIO CUSTER
Donovan, Jim. Custer and the Little Bighorn: The Man, the Mystery, the Myth. Stillwater,
MN: Voyageur Press, 2001.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.8209 DONOVAN
Freedman, Russell. The Life and Death of Crazy Horse. New York: Holiday House,
1996.
Call Number: JB CRAZY HORSE
Grinnell, George Bird. The Fighting Cheyennes. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma
Press, 1956.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.0049 GRINNELL
Grinnell, George Bird. Pawnee, Blackfoot, and Cheyenne: History and Folklore of the
Plains. New York: Scribner, 1961.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1 GRINNELL
Halaas, David Fridtjof and Masich, Andrew Edward. Halfbreed: The Remarkable True Story
of George Bent: Caught Between the Worlds of the Indian and the White Man. Cambridge, MA: Da Capo
Press, 2004.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 HALAAS
Hoig, Stan. The Battle of the Washita: The Sheridan-Custer Indian Campaign of 1867-69.
Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1976.
Call Number: NONFIC 976.6 HOIG
Lacey, Theresa Jensen. The Pawnee. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1996.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 LACEY
Lassieur, Allison. The Blackfeet Nation. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone Books, 2001.
Call Number: JNF 971.23 LASSIEUR
Lassieur, Allison. The Cheyenne. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone Books, 2001.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 LASSIEUR
McMurtry, Larry. Crazy Horse. New York: Viking/Lipper Book, 1999.
Call Number: BIO CRAZY HORSE
Parkman, Francis. The Oregon Trail. Harmondsworth, Middlesex, England; New York, NY:
Penguin Books, 1982.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.02 PARKMAN
Press, Petra. The Shawnee. Minneapolis, MN: Compass Point Books, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 974.004 PRESS
Sandoz, Mari. The Battle of the Little Bighorn. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1966.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.1 SANDOZ
Sandoz, Mari. Cheyenne Autumn. New York: Avon Books, 1953.
Call Number: NONFIC 978.0049 SANDOZ
Sugden, John. Tecumseh: A Life. New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1998.
Call Number: BIO TECUMSEH
Todd, Anne M. Crazy Horse, 1842-1877. Mankato, MN: Blue Earth Books, 2003.
Call Number: JB CRAZY HORSE
Todd, Anne M. Sitting Bull, 1831-1890. Mankato, MN: Blue Earth Books, 2003.
Call Number: JB SITTING BULL
West, Elliott. The Contested Plains: Indians, Goldseekers, and the Rush to Colorado.
Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas, 1998.
Call Number: NONFIC 978 WEST
Welch, James and Stekler, Paul Jeffrey. Killing Custer: The Battle of the Little Bighorn
and the Fate of the Plains Indians. New York: W.W. Norton, 1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 973.82 WELCH
Wood, Leigh Hope. The Crow Indians. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1993.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 WOOD
return to top
THE GREAT BASIN & THE COLUMBIAN & COLORADO PLATEAUS
Web Sites
The Lemhi-Shoshone Tribes
Includes a timeline and essays on Lemhi removal and on Sacajawea's role in the Lewis and Clark
expedition.
The Flight of the Nez Perce
Contains a history of the Nez Perce campaign of 1877, including a map of the flight of the Nez Perce.
Offered by the Discovering Lewis and Clark website.
Indians of the Great Basin
An overview of the Great Basin tribes by Tad Beckman, includes information on archaeology, art,
prehistoric culture and history of the Great Basin tribes.
Klamath Tribes History
A short history of the Klamaths, the Modocs and the Yahooskin tribes.
Native American Indians of Utah
Includes histories of the Utes, Goshutes, Paiutes and Shoshones.
Nez Perce Information and Education--Courtesy of Western Treasures
Nez Perce history, language and culture, includes Chief Joseph's surrender speech, essays on Nez Perce
history and culture, maps and photographs, part of Stan Hoggatt's Western Treasures website.
Paiute Indians--Ghost Dancers
Paiute history and legends, including history of the ghost dance.
Shoshone-Paiute Tribes History
Shoshone and Paiute history and legends.
Sacajawea
A short biography of Sacajawea, who was an interpreter and guide for the Lewis and Clark expedition.
Southern Ute Tribal History
Includes a timeline of Ute history, maps and Southern Ute tribal council history.
Books
Beal, Merrill D. "I Will Fight No More Forever": Chief Joseph and the Nez Perce War.
Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1963.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.0049 BEAL
Clark, Ella Elizabeth and Edmonds, Margot. Sacagawea of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1980.
Call Number: BIO SACAGAWEA
Flanagan, Alice K. The Utes. New York : Children's Press, 1998.
Call Number: JNF 978 FLANAGAN
Gidley, M. With one Sky above Us: Life on an Indian Reservation at the Turn of the
Century. New York: Putnam, 1979.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.4 GIDLEY
Hyde, Dayton O. The Last Free Man: The True Story Behind the Massacre of Shoshone Mike
and his Band of Indians in 1911. New York, Dial Press, 1973.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.6 HYDE
Mattern, Joanne. The Shoshone People. Mankato, MN: Bridgestone Books, 2001.
Call Number: JNF 979.0049 MATTERN
Press, Petra. The Nez Perce. Minneapolis, MN: Compass Point Books, 2002.
Call Number: JNF 979.5004 PRESS
Scordato, Ellen. Sarah Winnemucca: Northern Paiute Writer and Diplomat. New York:
Chelsea House, 1992.
Call Number: JB HOPKINS
Shaughnessy, Diane. Chief Joseph: Nez Perce Peacekeeper. New York: Rosen Pub.
Group's PowerKids Press, 1997.
Call Number: JB JOSEPH
Shaughnessy, Diane. Chief Ouray: Ute Peacemaker. New York: Rosen Publishing
Group's PowerKids Press, 1997.
Call Number: JB OURAY
Shaughnessy, Diane. Sacajawea, Shoshone Trailblazer. New York: PowerKids Press, 1997.
Call Number: BIO SHAUGHNESSY
Time-Life Books, editors. People of the Western Range. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books,
1995.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.0049 PEOPLE
Wood, Nancy C. When Buffalo Free the Mountains. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1980.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.3 WOOD
return to top
CALIFORNIA & THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST
Web Sites
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
University of Washington Libraries site, extensive collection of essays, photographs, and documents.
Chinook Tribes
A short history of the Chinook nation.
A History of American Indians in California
History of California Native Americans from prehistory to 1980.
Pomo People: Brief History
An article on the history of the Pomo tribe by Paula Giese.
Short Overview of California Indian History
An article on Native American history in California by Professor Edward D. Castillo.
Books
Bancroft-Hunt, Norman. People of the Totem: The Indians of the Pacific Northwest.
London: Orbis Pub., 1979.
Call Number: NONFIC 971.100497 BANCROFT
Bean, Lowell John. The Cahuilla. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1989.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.4004 BEAN
Bleeker, Sonia. The Sea Hunters: Indians of the Northwest Coast. New York: Morrow,
1951.
Call Number: JNF 970.1 BLEEKER
Freedman, Suzanne. The Pomo. Vero Beach, FL: Rourke Publications, 1997.
Call Number: JNF 973.0497 FREEDMAN
Gibson, Karen Bush. The Chumash: Seafarers of the Pacific Coast. Mankato, MN: Capstone
Press, 2004.
Call Number: JNF 979.4004 GIBSON
Kroeber, Theodora. Almost Ancestors: The First Californians. San Francisco: Sierra Club,
1968.
Call Number: NONFIC 970.4 KROEBER
Kroeber, Theodora. Ishi in Two Worlds. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press,
1976.
Call Number: BIO ISHI
Petersen, David. Ishi: The Last of his People. Chicago: Childrens Press, 1991.
Call Number: JB ISHI
Stanley, Jerry. Digger: The Tragic Fate of the California Indians from the Missions to
the Gold Rush. New York: Crown Publishers, 1997.
Call Number: JNF 979.401 STANLEY
Time-Life Books, editors. The Indians of California. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books,
1994.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.4004 INDIANS
Time-Life Books, editors. Keepers of the Totem. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1993.
Call Number: NONFIC 979.5004 KEEPERS
return to top
|