Adolescence
Child Development
Child Rearing
Child Psychology
Childbirth
Discipline of Children
Family Management
Infants, Care
Parent and Child
Parenthood
Parenting
Pregnancy
Prenatal Care
Preschooler
School-Age Child
Teenager
Toddlers
return to top
DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
155.4 Child Psychology & Development
305.23 Child Development
306.85 Family
306.874 Parenting
371.1 Parent-Teacher Conferences
372 Pre-school and Elementary Education
599 Pregnancy
612.6 Pregnancy & Child Development
618.2 Prenatal Care
649 Parenting
return to top
GENERAL
Web Sites
Child Development Institute
". . .award winning site for information on child development, psychology, parenting,
learning, health and safety as well as childhood disorders such as attention deficit disorder,
dyslexia and autism. We provide comprehensive resources and practical suggestions for parents
covering toddlers to teens."
Child & Family WebGuide
Contains information on parenting, education, development, mental health, and much more.
Topics are also arranged by age but can be searched using the index.
DrGreene.com
"By providing information, wisdom, and perspective, we strive to prepare parents to become
knowledgeable partners who can work with their children's physicians in a new and rich way." Contains articles, chat room, and discussion boards with stages ranging from prenatal to adolescents.
Dr. Spock Company
"Created by doctors and other experts, and enhanced by contributions from family members
like you, drSpock.com delivers original articles and answers to parents' questions in an
online-community environment that emphasizes a safe, lively exchange of advice and ideas.
"
Family & Parenting at PageWise,Inc.
Directory of sites that include development, health/safety, teenagers, education, child care, discipline, and much more.
Keep Kids Healthy
"A Pediatrician's guide to your children's health and safety." Covers newborns to
adolescents and includes information about nutrition, growth, first-aid, vaccines, health
problems, and safety issues.
National Parenting Center
"Dedicated to providing parents with comprehensive and responsible guidance from the
world's most renowned child-rearing authorities." Includes articles, chat, and product
reviews.
Parenting.com
"Parenting.com is the online home of Parenting magazine, but we want it to
be your online home-away-from-home, too. We offer useful tools, in-depth information, reality-
tested advice, and quick tips. Even more important to us is our lively community of moms who
share their experience, their support — and even their sense of humor."
Parentstages.com
Defines three parenting stages (expecting, baby & toddler, and child) and provides links and descriptions to a variety of articles from different websites for each stage.
Books
Cohen, Lawrence J. Playful Parenting: a Bold New Way to Nuture Close
Connections, Solve Behavior Problems, and Encourage Children's Confidence. New York:
Ballantine Books, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.5 COHEN
De Toledo and Deborah E. Brown. Grandparents as Parents: A Survival Guide
for Raising a Second Family. New York: Guilford Press, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 DE TOLEDO
Faber, Adele. How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk.
New York: Avon, 1980.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 FABER
Feigenbaum, Alan. A Parent's Guide to Money: Raising Financially Savvy
Children. Los Angeles: Parent's Guide Press, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 332.024 FEIGENBA
Melina, Lois Ruskai. Raising Adopted Children : a Manual for Adoptive Parents.
New York, N.Y.: Harper & Row, c1986.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.145 MELINA
Pantley, Elizabeth. Perfect Parenting: the Dictionary of 1,000 Parenting Tips. Lincolnwood, Ill.: Contemporary Books, 1999.
Call No.: J PARENT 649 PANTLEY
Parents Magazine's the Best Advice I Ever Got: 1,203 Fast Fixes, Simple
Solutions, and Wise Ideas for Raising Kids. Rodale: St. Martin's Press, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 PARENTS
Pleshette Murphy, Ann. The 7 Stages of Motherhood: Making the Most of Your
Life as a Mom. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2004.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.8743 PLESHETT
Ricci, Isolina. Mom's House, Dad's House : a Complete Guide for Parents Who
Are Separated, Divorced, or Remarried. New York: Simon & Schuster, c1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 306.89 RICCI
Videos
The Parenting Principle. Atlanta, GA: ImageMaster 1999.
Call No.: VC 649.1 PARENTIN
return to top
PREGNANCY & BIRTH
Web Sites
BabyCenter
Contains parenting advice, shopping guidance, and a support system with other parents.
Childbirth.org
Provides pregnancy information as well as support from educators, nurses, doulas, and midwifes. Includes pregnancy photos, calendar birth plans, stories, and much more.
Pregnancy-Info.net
Topics include symptoms, planning, possible complications, teen pregnancy, diet, exercise, and much more.
Pregnancy Weekly
"PregnancyWeekly.com is a leading weekly, smart, e-newsletter for pregnant women. It is one
of the most personalized and comprehensive e-newsletters for expecting moms, and it's FREE!
It is the only e-newsletter to deliver a subscriber's caregiver practice information at the
appropriate week of pregnancy. PregnancyWeekly.com's editorial board includes obstetricians,
midwives, and childbirth educators."
StorkNet
"Created in April 1996, this award-winning site has grown from a list of pregnancy links
to over 7000 pages of rich content covering pregnancy, parenting, and more, along with a very
active community of devoted members." Among the useful tools provided are a baby name
database, due date calculator, and bedrest survival guide.
Books
Connolly, Maureen and Dana Sullivan. The Essential C-Section Guide: Pain Control,
Healing at Home, Getting Your Body Back--and Everything Else You Need to Know About a Cesarean
Birth. New York: Broadway Books, 2004.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.86 CONNOLLY
Curtis, Glade B. Your Pregnancy Week by Week. Tucson: Fisher Books, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.2 CURTIS
Murkoff, Heidi Eisenberg, Arlene Eisenberg, and Sandee Eisenberg Hathaway. What to Expect When You're Expecting. New York: Workman Publishing Company, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.24 EISENBER
Korte, Diana. The VBAC Companion: the Expectant Mother's Guide to Vaginal
Birth after Cesarean. Boston: Harvard Common Press, 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.4 KORTE
Kitzinger, Sheila. The Complete Book of Pregnancy and Childbirth. New York: A.
A. Knopf, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.2 KITZINGE
Simkin, Penny. The Birth Partner: Everything You Need to Know to Help a Woman
Through Childbirth. Boston : Harvard Common Press, c1989.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.4 SIMKIN
Stoppard, Miriam. Conception, Pregnancy, and Birth. New York, Dorling Kindersley,
2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.24 STOPPARD
Swinney, Bridget. Eating Expectantly: a Practical and Tasty Approach to Prenatal
Nutrition. New York: Meadowbrook Press, 1996.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.24 SWINNEY
Tsiaras, Alexander. From Conception to Birth, a Life Unfolds. New York: Doubleday,
2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 618.32075 TSIARAS
Videos
It's Family Time. Dallas, TX: Learning Through Entertainment, 1993.
Call No.: J PARENT 618.2 IT'S
Call No.: VC 618.2 IT'S
Nutrition in Pregnancy. Sherman Oaks, CA: Academy Communications, n.d.
Call No.: VC 618 NUTRITIO
return to top
INFANTS & TODDLERS
Web Sites
AskDrSears.com
"AskDrSears.com is intended to help parents become better information consumers of
health care. The information presented in this site gives general advice on parenting and
health care." Main topics include pregnancy, bottlefeeding, nutrition, discipline,
sleep problems, illness, and medicine. An A to Z index is also available.
The Baby Booklet
Text of a newborn handout provided to new parents by the Alliance Medical Group. Includes
information about the body, growth, temperament, habits, and common concerns.
Oh Baby!
" We developed the Oh Baby site for you--parents who strive to be the very best parents
for their kids. People who understand what a sacred job this is we do--to be the nurturer,
provider, mentor and molder of a young life. We wanted to provide easy access to information
that will enrich your parenting experience. Even just a little information about important
issues like bonding, health, and infant stimulation can make all the difference."
Covers infant stimulation, funny baby stories, milestones, and health.
ParentCenter
"ParentCenter.com is an easy-to-navigate one-stop resource designed
to help parents of children ages 2 to 8 better manage and enjoy the day-to-day
challenges of raising great kids. ParentCenter takes a friendly and informative
approach to content, offering helpful experts and a vibrant online community.
ParentCenter includes more than a thousand original articles created especially
for the Web, covering the topics of children's health, fun and activities,
learning, and parenting. Information is organized by age and grade so you can find
the most relevant information for your child's situation quickly and easily."
Parenting Toddlers
" Practical advice and tips for raising toddlers. . . Ensuring your toddlers' safety, potty training, disciplining your toddler, and various activities for your toddler. This site is
dedicated to all parents with toddlers to help alleviate their headaches on handling
toddlers."
Zero To Three: For Parents
" ZERO TO THREE's mission is to promote the healthy development of our nation's infants and toddlers by supporting and strengthening families, communities, and those who work on their
behalf. We are dedicated to advancing current knowledge; promoting beneficial policies and
practices; communicating research and best practices to a wide variety of audiences; and
providing training, technical assistance and leadership development." Includes topical
index, tip of the week, how the brain develops, and much more.
Books
Acredolo, Linda P. Baby Signs: How to Talk With Your Baby Before Your Baby Can
Talk. Chicago: Contemporary Books, 1996.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.122 ACREDOLO
Call No.: NONFIC 649.122 ACREDOLO
Eisenberg, Arlene, Heidi Eisenberg Murkoff, and Sandee Eisenberg Hathaway. What to Expect the Toddler Years. New York: Workman Publishing Company, 1994.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.112 EISENBER
Hogg, Tracy. Secrets of the Baby Whisperer: How to Calm, Connect, and Communicate
with Your Baby. New York: Ballantine Books, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.122 HOGG
Hogg, Tracy. Secrets of the Baby Whisperer for Toddlers. New York: Ballantine
Books, 2002.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.122 HOGG
Call No.: NONFIC 649.122 HOGG
Iovine, Vicki. The Girlfriend's Guide to Toddlers, a Survival Manual to the
"Terrible Twos" (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty, and the First
Word ("No") to the Last Blankie. New York: Berkley Publishing Group, 1999.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.1 IOVINE
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 IOVINE
Karp, Harvey. The Happiest Baby on the Block: the New Way to Calm Crying and Help
Your Baby Sleep Longer
Call No.: J PARENT 649.122 KARP
Kurcinka, Mary Sheedy. Raising Your Spirited Child : a Guide For Parents Whose
Child is More Intense, Sensitive, Perceptive, Persistent, Energetic. New York, NY:
HarperCollins, c1991.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 KUR
Leach, Penelope. Your Baby & Child. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 1997.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.122 LEACH
Call No.: NONFIC 649.122 LEACH 1997
Malmstrom, Patricia Maxwell. The Art of Parenting Twins: the Unique Joys and
Challenges of Raising Twins and Other Multiples. New York: Ballantine Books, 1999.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.144 MALMSTRO
Call No.: NONFIC 649.144 MALMSTRO
Sears, William. The Baby Book, Everything You Need to Know about Your Baby- From
Birth to Age Two. Boston: Little and Brown, 1993.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.122 SEARS
Severe, Sal. How to Behave So Your Preschooler Will, Too. New York: Viking,
2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.123 SEVERE
Videos
A Baby's World. Santa Monica, CA: Family Home Entertainment, 2000.
Call No.: J PARENT 305.231 BABY's
return to top
SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN
Web Sites
FamilyEducation.com
". . . the best of the Internet's content, resources, and shopping for parents, teachers,
and kids. Launched in September, 2000, the company's mission is to be an online consumer
network of the world's best learning and information resources, personalized to help parents,
teachers, and students of all ages take control of their learning and make it part of their
everyday lives."
ParentCenter
"ParentCenter.com is an easy-to-navigate one-stop resource designed
to help parents of children ages 2 to 8 better manage and enjoy the day-to-day
challenges of raising great kids. ParentCenter takes a friendly and informative
approach to content, offering helpful experts and a vibrant online community.
ParentCenter includes more than a thousand original articles created especially
for the Web, covering the topics of children's health, fun and activities,
learning, and parenting. Information is organized by age and grade so you can find
the most relevant information for your child's situation quickly and easily."
ParentSmart.com
"This is your guide to the best and most helpful information about how to help your
child succeed in school." Evaluates, reviews, and provides access to useful articles
about education. Search by keyword.
RAISIN- Currents for Parents Raisin' Children
Provides information on education, health, safety, entertainment, and more to parents of
children age 12 and under.
School Success Info.org
" Today's parents work long hours, extra jobs and must handle other responsibilities
that limit their time. These web pages can offer tips and ideas so you can use what little
time you have to ask the right questions, know where to turn and help your child succeed.
"
Talking With Kids About Tough Issues
". . . a national initiative by Children Now and the Kaiser Family Foundation to encourage parents to talk with their children earlier and more often about tough issues like sex,
HIV/AIDS, violence, alcohol, and drug abuse." Includes tips, booklets, and other
resources.
WholeFamily.com- School Age
"During these years, your child acquires new skills, new friends, a new sense of
him/herself... Read about ways to deal with school, behavior and communication challenges
with kids aged 6 - 12."
Books
Bennett, William J. The Educated Child: a Parent's Guide from Preschool
through Eighth Grade. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2000.
Call No.: NONFIC 371.192 BENNETT
Berkenkamp, Lauri. Talking to Your Kids About Sex: From Toddlers to Preteens.
Norwich, VT: Nomad Press, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 155.418 BERKENKA
Chase, Bob. The New Public School Parent: How to Get the Best Education for Your
Elementary School Child. New York: Penguin Books, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 371.192 CHASE
Coloroso, Barbara. Kids are Worth It!: Giving Your Child the Gift of Inner
Discipline. New York: W. Morrow, 1994.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.64 COLOROSO
Faber, Adele. How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk.
New York: Avon, 1982.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 FABER
Greenspan, Stanley I. and Jacqueline Salmon. Playground Politics: Understanding
the Emotional Life of Your School-Age Child. Reading, Mass.: Addison-Wesley, 1994.
Call No.: NONFIC 155.4124 GREENSPA
Radencich, Margaret, Jeanne Schumm, and Pamela Espeland. How to Help your
Child with Homework: Every Caring Parent's Guide to Encouraging Good Study Habits and Ending
the Homework Wars: for Parents of Children Ages 6-13. Minneapolis: Free Spirit Pub., 1988.
Call No.: JNF 371.3028
Stevenson, Howard C. Stickin' To, Wachin' Over, and Gettin' With: an African
American Parent's Guide to Discipline. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2001.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.64 STEVENSO
Videos
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12. Glen Ellyn, IL: Child
Management, 1990.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.1 ONE
return to top
TEENAGERS
Web Sites
Parenting Teens (Focus Adolescent Services)
"Focus Adolescent Services is an internet clearinghouse of information and resources to
help and support families with troubled and at-risk teens." Includes a directory of
family help organizations, articles, special schools, books, and events.
Parenting of Adolescents
Guide to sites and articles ranging from curfews to stocking stuffer ideas.
Parents. The Anti-Drug.
"TheAntiDrug.com was created by the National Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign to equip
parents and other adult caregivers with the tools they need to raise drug-free kids. Working
with the nation's leading experts in the fields of parenting and substance abuse prevention,
TheAntiDrug.com serves as a drug prevention information center, and a supportive community
for parents to interact and learn from each other."
Parents in Crisis
"The purpose of the organization is to provide information to parents of "at-risk" teens by introducing them to programs that might be helpful to their particular situations, by providing
them with useful tools in better coping with the crisis in their home, and by using the
internet as a tool to keep them abreast of resources that may be of concern to them and their
children."
Books
Bradley, Michael J. and Carroll O'Connor. Yes, Your Teen is Crazy! Loving Your
Kid Without Losing Your Mind. Gig Harbor, Wash.: Harbor Press, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.125 BRADLEY
Cline, Foster. Parenting Teens with Love & Logic: Preparing Adolescents for Responsible Adulthood. Colorado Springs: Pinon Press, 1992.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.125 CLINE
Deak, JoAnn and Teresa Barker. Girls will be Girls: Raising Confident and
Courageous Daughters. New York: Hyperion, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.133 DEAK
DeBecker, Gavin. Protecting the Gift: Keeping Children & Teenagers Safe (& Parents Sane). New York: Dial Press, 1999.
Call No.: NONFIC 649.1 DEBECKER
Garbarino, James and Ellen DeLara. And Words Can Hurt Forever: How to Protect Adolescents From Bullying, Harassment, and Emotional Violence. New York: Free Press, 2002.
Call No.: NONFIC 373.158 GARBARIN
McCarthy, Alice R. Healthy Teens: Success in High School and Beyond. 2nd ed.
Birmingham, MI: Bridge Communications, 1997.
Call No.: NONFIC 613.0433 MCCARTHY
Videos
Active parenting of teens. Vols. 1-5. Marietta, GA: Active Parenting, Inc.,
1999.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.1 ACTIVE
Parenting for Today: Who's in Charge?. New York: Wellspring Media, 1995.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.1 PARENTIN
Surviving your adolescents. Glen Ellyn, IL: Child Management, 1999.
Call No.: J PARENT 649.125 SURVIVIN
CDs
Cameron, Bruce W. 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage
Daughter [sound recording]. Abridged. Los Angeles: Audio Renaissance, 2002.
Call No.: CD 814.6 CAMERON
return to top
|