BASIC REFERENCE TOOLS
Web Sites
Business Dictionaries from Your Dictionary.com
You can browse these and decide which are your favorites. The quick and easy way to find the
correct meanings of terms as they pertain to business.
U.S. Gazetteer
From the U.S Bureau of the Census. Includes population, latitude and longitude, ZIP codes
and maps.
Books
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, 16th ed. Detroit :
Gale Research Co., 2002.
Call No.: BREF 338.7 ENCYCLOP
"A bibliographic guide to more than 34,000 citations covering over 1,100 subjects
of interest to business personnel" --title page.
return to top
GENERAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION
Web Sites
Census Economic Briefing Rooms
Various economic indicators are provided with comparisons to previous figures.
Presented like news briefings, this is a quick way to get updated factual data
on national trends. Categories include information about manufacturing, construction,
housing, retail and sales, homeownership, income, and poverty.
Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA)
This state agency coordinates a variety of programs and services many of which are provided at
the local level through the multi-county Regional Development Centers. The DCA Web site has
information on economic development, grants and loans (these are primarily available to
governments and government agencies - few are available to individuals), housing, planning
codes, and environmental issues. DCA conducts research on local governments
and governmental authorities to collect information such as wage and salary data, and topic
areas for local government management.
Georgia Quickstart
"Georgia's Quick Start program is nationally recognized for providing high-quality
training services at no cost to new or expanding businesses in Georgia." The Department
of Technical and Adult Education has a number of technical schools and colleges throughout
the state graduating and training skilled employees.
Simon S. Selig, Jr. Center for Economic Growth,
Terry College of Business, University of Georgia
"Created to convey economic expertise to Georgia businesses and entrepreneurs,
the Selig Center for Economic Growth is primarily responsible for conducting research
on economic, demographic, and social issues related to Georgia's current and future growth."
Terry College of Business at the University
of Georgia
Provides access to information about Terry College and the News section can give you
information on people and events you need to be aware of. Also lists upcoming events,
seminars and programs conducted statewide by Terry College.
Books & Magazines
Georgia Trend
"The magazine of Georgia Business and Politics since 1985." Published monthly,
this slick magazine usually highlights at least one or more counties, regions, or towns for
an in-depth profile. There are regular columns written by experts such as George Benson,
Dean of the Terry College of Business, University of Georgia, and Bill Shipp, on the
political situation. This is an excellent source for keeping up with what is going on
in Georgia. Some parts of it are also available at
http://www.georgiatrend.com.
The current issue and the two preceding issues are available on 1st Floor in the
Browsing/Current Periodicals area of the A-CC Library. Back issues are in the Reference
Stack area on second floor.
Small Business Sourcebook : the entrepreneur's resource, 14th ed.
Detroit: Gale Group, 2001.
Call No.: BREF 658.022 SMALL
Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: vol. 1. Specific small business
profiles A-S -- vol. 2. Specific small business profiles T-Z, general small business topics,
general small business resources (includes state and federal sections).
Entrepreneur Magazine's Successful Sales and Marketing. Irvine: Entrepreneur Media, 1999.
Call No. : BREF 658.02 no. 1809
"Smart ways to boost your bottom line."
return to top
DEMOGRAPHICS AND STATISTICS
When reading demographic information or statistics of any kind it is important to
understand what the definitions are for what is being tracked.
Web Sites
2002 Economic Census
Profiles the US economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Economic
censuses are conducted by the Bureau of the Census in years ending with 2 and 7. For the
2002 Census, forms have been mailed to about 1 million small or new businesses. The forms
request a few facts that are needed to classify businesses correctly in the census. About
4 million forms will be mailed to larger businesses in December, requesting information
about business operations during calendar year 2002. Use this information to study your
industry, study business markets and evaluate investment opportunities.
American Factfinder
Locate census geographies and view census data in map format. Reference Maps: Locate states,
counties, urban areas, school districts, places, zip codes, census tracts, census blocks, and
other census geographies. Thematic Maps: View census data in graphical format for all
geographies from the nation to individual Census blocks.
County and City Data Book 2000
Great source for basic information on counties and cities, including city rankings and
some statistics from other agencies.
County Business Patterns
Annual series providing local information by industry.
"The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing
economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and
databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential,
measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and
developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning."
Fedstats
"The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies." Follow links from this page
to statistics or statistical agencies.
Georgia Community Indicators
"This is an interactive on-line resource where users can get information about their
communities. The database for Community Indicators includes data for more than 450 Georgia
communities. The Department of Community Affairs (DCA) has developed Community Indicators
to assist users with understanding and assessing the quality of life in the State's
communities. What makes Community Indicators unique is that it allows the user to obtain
information about local communities and permits the user to do comparisons among communities
from their own computer."
Georgia 2000 Information System
"Georgia 2000 [is] a powerful decision-support tool geared for business owners,
consultants, community planners, educators and researchers. This site for demographic
and statistical information on Georgia is developed by the Office of Information
Technology Outreach Services (ITOS)." Georgia 2000 offers reports in the
Demographic/Socioeconomic, Education, Economic Development and Health data categories.
Information is compiled "from the 2000 Census, county vital statistics, economic
development agencies, school districts and many more sources for Georgia and the Southeast."
Georgia Career Information System
GCIC is available only in the Athens-Clarke County Library. This is a versatile tool that
can be used by almost anyone to help find a job, decide what they want to do, evaluate
skills to determine what suits them, to find out what kind of training and education
are required, to find out where to go in and out of state to get training to research
financial aid and scholarship options, and more.
It can also be used by business people to assist in the development of job descriptions and
determining payroll expectations. You can look at various industries in the state and
see number employed statewide, in particular towns and what that number is projected to
be in 5 years. The SKILLS test would be useful to have job applicants take to help
determine whether applicant has the potential to meet the employer's needs.
State and County Quick Facts
QuickFacts tables are summary profiles showing frequently requested data items from
various Census Bureau programs. Profiles are available at the national, state, and
county level.
Statistical
Abstract of the United States 2001
Major statistical tool from the U.S. government contains statistical tables on
population, vital statistics, health, education, law enforcement, geography, environment,
elections, and government. Other topics include national defense, veterans affairs, social insurance, labor, income, expenditures, prices, business, science and technology, agriculture, natural
resources, energy, construction and housing, manufactures, trade,
transportation, communication, banking, arts, entertainment, accommodation,
and foreign commerce and aid. Also includes comparative international statistics
and various other directories, as well as charts and an index.
U.S. Census 2000 Gateway
" Your gateway to Census 2000." Find links to categories of data compiled
from the 2000 census.
Books & Magazines
Georgia County Guide. Tifton: Rural Development Center, Cooperative Extension Service,
University of Georgia, 1981- .
Call No.: RREF 317.58
The current issue of this annual publication is kept at Ready Reference in the
Reference Area. Should you need historical information, the back issues are
shelved in The Heritage Room.
Georgia Statistical Abstract. Athens: University of Georgia, Terry College of Business,
Selig Center for Economic Growth, 1990- .
Call No.: RREF 317.58
The 2000-2001 issue has a CD that makes searching much easier and the data can be
copied and pasted, downloaded, or e-mailed. The current issue of this annual
publication is kept at Ready Reference in the Reference Area. The back issues
are shelved in The Heritage Room.
return to top
FINANCING
Web Sites
Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA)
This state agency coordinates a variety of programs and services many of which are provided
at the local level through the multi-county Regional Development Centers. The DCA Web site
has information on economic development, grants and loans (these are primarily available to
governments and government agencies - few are available to individuals), housing, planning
codes, and environmental issues. DCA conducts research on local governments and governmental
authorities to collect information such as wage and salary data, and topic areas for local
government management.
Books & Magazines
Entrepreneur Magazine's Financing Your Small Business
Call No. : BREF 658.02 No. 1806
From Entrepreneur Magazine's Business Management Series. "How to raise the money
you need."
return to top
MARKET ANALYSIS AND MARKETING
Web Sites
Coca-Cola Center for Marketing
Studies, Terry College of Business, University of Georgia
"...Seeks to advance professional marketing education and to identify and develop
new programs and methods which will better serve the marketing community's needs for
education and information." Contains links relating to marketing research.
GALILEO
Numerous articles from online databases can be searched in a variety of ways then
printed, downloaded or e-mailed. Remote access is available with an Athens Regional
Library system card that has no fines, fees, or other delinquencies. Call or come
by the library for the updated password upon giving your name and library card number.
Books & Magazines
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide. Rand McNally &
Co., c2001.
Call No.: REF 911
Revised annually this detailed, accurate and comprehensive tool has a wealth of
information on the United States. The colored state maps are large and show both
political and physical features. Statistics are given for counties and for MSAs
(Metropolitan Statistical Areas). For the currency and quality of geographic
information this tool is hard to beat.
return to top
SUPPLIERS AND VENDORS
Web Sites
ThomasNet®
"The most comprehensive resource for industrial information." Locate companies, product
information, industry news, and more. "Powered by ThomasRegister® and Thomas Regional®."
return to top
INDUSTRIES
Web Sites
The Baker Library Industry Guides
Prepared by the Baker Library staff at Harvard Business School. "The guides are generally
broad in scope, presenting information and information resources that cover the industry as
a whole and its major segments. The guides are not comprehensive: the resources selected are
considered the best and most useful for general research; other resources that can be
particularly helpful to individual users may not be listed here." While some sources/databases
are fee-based, many are free.
Industry Data Finder,
Cole Library, Rensselaer at Hartford [Connecticut]
Excellent guide put together by library staff to aid research on industry. Many of the
databases and sources this directs you to are free, but there are some that require a fee.
return to top
OTHER
Census State Data Centers: Georgia - Places in Georgia to find information from the Commerce Department
Materials and services include: Printouts, extracts, tape copies, and software for accessing and downloading
Census data, CD-ROM products and services, Online data services, News letter, technical journals, foreign trade,
mapping capabilities, ability to copy Census maps, and TIGER maps.
State Data and Research Center
101 Marietta Street, Suite 2500
Atlanta, GA 30303
Robert Giacomini, Dir.
robert.giacomini@sdrc.gadata.org
(404) 463-1115
FAX (404) 463-1137
University of Georgia Libraries
Government Documents Department
2nd Floor
Athens, GA 30602
Mr. John Prechtel
prechtel@libris.libs.uga.edu
(706) 542-3472
Gilbert Memorial Library
Government Information Department
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA 30332
Barbara Walker
barbara.walker@library.gatech.edu
(404) 894-4519
(404) 894-8190
return to top
|