![]() |
How to Start a Business in Georgia
|
||
|
PURPOSE This Guide was created because many people are interested in starting their own businesses and do not know where to begin. If you are one of these, this Guide should help you locate both basic information and more specific information to learn what is involved in starting a business and running it. You can find sources for information about topics like business plans, marketing plans, and legal issues. These are things that a prospective business owner needs to be aware of. Hopefully, this guide should help you gain a clear understanding of what is involved before you get started. | |||
|
BASICS : OWNERSHIP : TYPES :
START UP KITS & MANUALS : | |||
BASICS
Web Sites
Business Dictionaries
from Your Dictionary.com
Business dictionaries containing information ranging from bankruptcy to commercial fraud.
Over fifteen different dictionaries to choose from. The quick and easy way to find the
correct meanings of terms as they pertain to business.
Business N@tion
"Small business center: how-to advice & ideas for starting a small business, 350,000+
web site links; 2,500+ small business articles, forms & letters, resources...." Read about
business opportunities, news, polls, and additional resources.
Georgia Career Information System
Subscription database available in the Athens-Clarke County Library. Information covers starting a business, laws, market strategies, self-employment information,
and financial needs.
Small Business Administration - Starting Your Business
Contains start-up basics, planning, financing, marketing, and employing. Also contains legal
aspects and tax information.
OWNERSHIP
Web Sites
The Business Link
Although Canadian, this site is designed to assist entrepreneurs as they begin and build their businesses.
Included are links to pages that cover characteristics of successful entrepreneurs and self-analysis questions
to evaluate entrepreneurial traits and skills.
Business Owner's Toolkit- Do You Have What It Takes?
Designed to make prospective business owners think through the process
and the consequences of starting their own business. Includes an online small business advice column, links to tools
including downloadable forms, checklists, model business plans, and a bookstore.
Georgia Career Information System
Subscription database accessible from the Athens-Clarke County Library. The Self-Employment
section contains forms, laws, opportunities, ideas, and guidelines
for owning and operating a business.
Small Business Development Centers
Describes SBA(Small Business Administration) services and offices. Includes development,
financing, legislation, research, and employment information.
Typical Characteristics Of
Successful Entrepreneurs
Site from the University of Alabama Birmingham, Small Business Development Center. Lists some of
the traits that are characteristic of people who build successful businesses.
TYPES OF BUSINESSES
Web Sites
Georgia Career Information System
Subscription database accessible from the Athens-Clarke County Library. Under the Self-Employment
section find business ideas, examples of self-employment opportunities,
and information about buying a business or franchise.
Startup Journal- Wall Street Journal Center for Entrepreneurs
Articles on franchising to assist in finding a fit between the franchise and prospective owner. The Franchises
for Sale section has a brief description of a variety of franchising opportunities and one can click to request
more information via e-mail.
The Top 40 Homebased Business Resources
An article by Laura Tiffany in the August 2002 online magazine,
HomeOfficeMag.com. Lists the best resources for home-based businesses.
START UP KITS & MANUALS
Web Sites
Start-Up Kits
Easy to read guides on how to start and run more than 40 different types of businesses.
Follow links to the SmallBizBooks.com bookstore to order additional materials.
FINANCING
Web Sites
Counseling the Small Business Client in Georgia: How to
Finance the Small Business
Information compiled by Scott Withrow for the National Business Institute in Atlanta on May 5, 1999.
Discusses marketing and financing a small business. A list of various business loans is given along with
an explanation of them. "This site includes a summary of certain legal issues facing small businesses
today. This site does not, and is not intended to, give legal advice."
Small Business Development Center Gopher/
Financial Assistance
Takes user to text documents from the Small Business Administration on all aspects of financing a business.
LEGAL ISSUES
Web Sites
BusinessLaw.gov
"BusinessLaw.gov is an online resource guide designed to provide legal and
regulatory information to America's small businesses. Because laws and regulations
affect every aspect of business strategy, topics covered on the site range from
the most basic and crucial, such as choosing a business structure, to the most complex
and specialized such as e-commerce and exporting."
FindForms.com
A legal forms search engine that can help you locate both free and "Premium" (state specific legal forms) that
can be purchased. The free forms are divided into such categories as wills, eviction, bankruptcy, powers of
attorney, and leases.
FindLaw for Business
This site provides online articles and guides to all kinds of business information from finding space for an
office to intellectual property issues. There are links to search a legal dictionary and for all sorts of
legal forms, contracts, and cases and codes. In addition, you can register for a free newsletter.
MARKET ANALYSIS & MARKETING PLANS
Web Sites
Georgia Community Indicators
"This is an interactive on-line resource where users can get information about their
communities. The database for Community Indicators includes data for more than 450 Georgia
communities. The Department of Community Affairs (DCA) has developed Community Indicators
to assist users with understanding and assessing the quality of life in the State's communities."
Georgia 2000 Information System
"Georgia 2000 [is] a powerful decision-support tool geared for business owners, consultants, community
planners, educators and researchers. This site for demographic and statistical information on Georgia is
developed by the Office of Information Technology Outreach Services (ITOS)."
Registration is FREE. Reports are available by counties, municipalities, states and other geographies. Report information
includes education, rent, housing value, income, industry, mortgage status, and occupation.
SCORE - Counselors to America's Small Business
". . . a nonprofit association dedicated to providing entrepreneurs with free, confidential
face-to-face and email business counseling .... From marketing advice to finances, sales and operations, SCORE
counselors will help you find the answers. Just as important, counselors will help you develop and think
through your business plan to make sure you’re asking the right questions."
SCORE Atlanta
These web pages provide information on the national organization, contact information for the Atlanta
chapter of SCORE, and gives the satellite branches for counseling throughout Georgia. (One is listed in Athens)
BUSINESS PLANS
Web Sites
Finding Demographic Information
Prepared April 1997 by Cal Gough for The Ivan Allen, Jr., Department (Business, Science & Technology) at the Central Library of
of the Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library System. A pathfinder leading you through the
process and sources to use so you learn how to locate demographic information in commercially-produced sources,
federal government documents, state and local sources, and in periodicals. Although geared to Atlanta-Fulton
Public Library, the sources can be found many other places and the steps for research are useful.
The Simon Selig Center, University of Georgia
This research division of the Terry College of Business at UGA, publishes a variety of information with some
of the most valuable being major economic impact studies, economic forecasts, and data products, like the Georgia
Statistical Abstract. The purpose is to help guide business decisions and public policy directions by making
accurate information available for decision makers.
Small Business Administration- Business Plan Basics
Learn how to write a business plan and view examples. A breakdown of the business plan includes description,
marketing, finances, and management. Available in Spanish.
Writing a Business Plan
Small Business Development Center, Georgia State University. This document clearly spells out why you do a
business plan and even tells you how long each section should be and how to make it look good. The author
of this document stresses the fact that a business plan should be developed unemotionally.
INCUBATORS
Web Sites
National Business Incubation Association
"The National Business Incubation Association (NBIA) is the world's leading organization advancing
business incubation and entrepreneurship. It provides thousands of professionals with the information,
education, advocacy and networking resources to bring excellence to the process of assisting early-stage
companies worldwide."
WOMEN & MINORITIES
Web Sites
SBA - Online Women's Business Center
"OWBO promotes the growth of women-owned businesses through programs that address business training
and technical assistance, and provide access to credit and capital, federal contracts, and international
trade opportunities." Available in English, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, Icelandic, and Arabic.
Georgia Women ENtrepreneurs (GWEN)
"In 1999, the GSBDC began a statewide initiative for women business owners called Georgia Women
Entrepreneurs (GWEN) that operates as part of the Georgia SBDC Network. This initiative has two major
goals: to provide technical assistance needed to help women-owned businesses grow and become a even
greater economic force in Georgia, and to provide sharing and networking opportunities among Georgia
women business owners."
Governor's Small Business Center -
Department of Administrative Services
"The Governor’s Small Business Center, works with state agencies, authorities, commissions, boards
and institutions to provide the small and minority business communities with access to information and
bid opportunities. In addition to providing information, technical assistance, and training, we aim to
help you understand exactly how to do business with the state."
National Association of Women Business Owners, Atlanta Chapter
"The Atlanta Chapter provides monthly meetings to support and educate women business owners in the
Atlanta area." Topics include owner certification, administration, procurement, financing, educational opportunities, and
bid opportunities.
National Women Business Owners Corporation
"The National Women Business Owners Corporation TM, a national 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation, was
established to increase competition for corporate and government contracts through implementation of a pioneering
economic development strategy for women business owners. NWBOC is a sister organization to the National
Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) and the Center for Women's Business Research (CWBR)."
GEORGIA & ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY RESOURCES
Web Sites
georgia.gov- Business Services and Employment
Includes information about starting and operating a business, doing business with the state, employment, licensing, industry, and
consumer protection.
Georgia Small Business Development Center Network, University of Georgia
This web site describes the mission, services offered by, and information available to help small business owners
from the GSBDC. There are links to publications and articles on a variety of topics. The Resources section is
especially helpful with information not easily obtained elsewhere plus there is a fairly comprehensive list of
useful links.
Local Information- Small Business Administration
Services and Centers
Online list of types of SBA services and SBA Offices. Each service or office is then listed by state.
The types of SBA services you can access include: Business Information Centers, Certified Development Companies,
Certified-Preferred Lenders, Minority Enterprise Development Staff, Microloan Lender Participants, Public Information
Officers, Service Corps of Retired Executives, Small Business Development Centers, Small Business Investment Companies,
and United States Export Assistance Centers. There are also state economic profiles
that you can choose by year to get historical information for research.
State Business Information - Georgia
Part of the Bankrate.com web site that includes business, consumer and financial information for each state.
Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County
"The Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County's Home on the Internet." Links to the Code of
Athens-Clarke County, purchasing and bid requirements and procedures, and information on business workshops and
other programs(under Human and Economic Development).

Athens Regional Library System
2025 Baxter Street · Athens, Georgia 30606 · (706) 613-3650