GENERAL WRITERS' RESOURCES
Web Sites
Absolute Write
"One stop web home for professional and beginning writers." Writing instruction in all areas. Subscription, plus extensive free articles and e-newsletters with information on markets, jobs, writers' guidelines, contests, and more.
BookWire
Portal to the book industry for authors, publishers, & booksellers. Daily publishing news,
events, industry links; from R. R. Bowker.
*** Burryman Writers Center
"A worldwide community of writers" - freelance job links, meet the author, bios, links to agents
& editors under Helpful Resources. Publishers by genre & topic, markets, agents for
freelancers, fiction & non-fiction writers.
HollyLisle.com
Loaded with how-to info on writing & the writing life.
***
Internet Resources
Links on every aspect of the writers' life - networking, reference, research, fiction & non-
fiction writing, business, etc. One of Writer's Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers.
Write From Home
Articles to help work-at-home writers: tips, info and resources. Past issues searchable.
Writer Gazette
"The e-magazine for every writer." Articles, how-tos, interviews, news, etc. The calls for
submissions section is particularly valuable for freelancers.
Writers Digest
Staple writers' magazine offers links to a variety of web sites for writers. Subscription
required for some services.
Writers Online Workshops
Through the Writers Digest, professional instructors offer writing instruction online.
Writers Write
Interviews, articles, featured sections, job & markets, how-to on fiction, self-publishing,
blogging, e-publishing and technical writing.
Writing.com
"Online community for readers & writers of all interests and skill levels." Find online
writing & critique groups. Free membership. Over 400,000 members.
Books
DeMarco-Barrett, Barbara. Pen on fire: a busy woman's guide to igniting the fire
within. Orlando: Harcourt, c2004.
NONFIC 808.02 DEMARCO
Edelstein, Scott. Title: 100 things every writer needs to know. New York, N.Y.:
Perigee Books, c1999.
NONFIC 808.02 EDELSTEI
George, Elizabeth. Write away: one novelist's approach to fiction and the writing
life. New York: HarperCollins, c2004.</strong>
NONFIC 808.3 GEORGE
Glatzer, Jenna. Make a real living as a freelance worker: how to win top writing
assignments. White River Junction, Vt.: Nomad Press, c2005.
NONFIC 808.02 GLATZER
Goldberry, Steven. Writer's book of wisdom; 101 rules for mastering the craft.
Cincinnati, Ohio: Writers Digest, c2005.
NONFIC 808.02 GOLDSBER
The practical writer: from inspiration to publication / edited by Therese Eiben
and Mary Gannon, with the staff of Poets & Writers Magazine. New York: Penguin Books, 2004.
NONFIC 808.02 EIBEN
Lamott, Anne. Bird by bird: some instructions on writing and life. New York:
Pantheon Books, c1994.
NONFIC 808.02 LAMOTT
Orr, Alice. No more rejections: 50 secrets to writing a manuscript that sells.
Cincinnati, OH: Writer's Digest Books, 2004.
NONFIC 070.52 ORR
Sellers, Heather. Page after page: discover the confidence & passion you need
to start writing & keep writing (no matter what!). Cincinnati, OH: Writers Digest Books,
c2005.
NONFIC 808.02 SELLERS
The writer's handbook 2004, edited by Elfrieda Abbe. 68th ed. Waukesha, WI:
Kalmbach Publishing, c2003.
NONFIC 808.02 WRITERS
return to top
MARKETS, EDITORS & AGENTS
Web Sites
AgentResearch.com
Tool for checking out an agent's public record, & whether there are any negative reports on
the agent's business practices.
*** Preditors & Editors
Invaluable guide to publishers and writing services for serious writers, with warnings and
recommendations. Links to other useful resources. Agents, awards, publishers, contests, conventions, organizations, & more.
Towse's Guide
Towse's links to online submission guidelines, agents, publishers, and markets for writers.
*** Writers Market
"Instant access to thousands of editors & agents." Fee-based by month or year with free
information located in the A-Z writer's encyclopedia. Up-to-date.
Books
Allen, Moira Anderson. The writer's guide to queries, pitches & proposals. New
York: Allworth Press, c2001.
NONFIC 070.52 ALLEN
Children's writer's & illustrator's market, 2006. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's
Digest Books, c2006.
R 070.52 CHILDREN
Deval, Jacqueline. Publicize your book! an insider's guide to getting your book
the attention it deserves. New York: Berkley Pub., 2003.
NONFIC 070.52 DEVAL
Guide to literary agents. Cincinnati, OH: F&W Publications, c2006.
R 070 GUIDE 2006
International directory of little magazines and small presses. Len Fulton, editor.
Paradise, CA : Dustbooks, 2004.
R 070.5 INTERNAT 2004-05
Marshall, Evan. The Marshall plan for getting your novel published: 90 strategies
and techniques for selling your fiction. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's Digest Books, c2003.
NONFIC 808.02 MARSHALL
Novel & short story writer's market, 2006. Cincinnati, OH: Writer's Digest
Books, c2006.
R 808 NOVEL 2006
The Writer's market. Cincinnati, F & W Publications, 2006.
R 070.52 WRITER'S 2006
return to top
TOOLS FOR WRITERS
Web Sites
AllExperts
Free expert advice archived; also can be queried.
Bartleby.com
Access to classic reference books, poetry, fiction & nonfiction. Keyword searches
available.
Cliché Finder
Over 3,300 searchable clichés.
Common Errors in English
Extensive list of misused words, plus links to grammar resources.
Creative Commons
Nonprofit organization that offers flexible copyright licenses for creative work. Writers can
choose to put works online that they've already published & don't intend to re-sell for use,
for example, by teachers.
Fun-with words.com
Anagrams, palindromes, pangrams, oxymorons, tongue twisters, and more.
Google
Versatile major search engine with handy special features for writers like blog searches, Google
scholar, maps, news & more.
Internet Archive
The Wayback Machine. Tool for surfing more than 40 billion archived Web Pages, plus a "digital
library of Internet sites & other cultural artifacts in digital form."
Ixquick Search
Searches multiple search engines plus pictures and news.
Jux2 Search Engine
"Compare Google, Yahoo, and MSN with One Search."
*** Library Spot
Links to innumerable reference sites; like a library in one site.
Nolo Law
"Everyday law for everyday people." Topics and tools on all legal matters, including copyright.
Phrontistery
Extensive word lists of rare & unusual words on various topics, compiled "in order to spread
the joy of the English language."
*** Refdesk
Invaluable for research - huge collection of links to information of many kinds.
Thinkexist.com
"More than 300,000 quotations by over 20,000 authors."
US Copyright Office
Information about copyright, copyright law. Searchable, with a special link for literary works.
Writing Center
Stages of the writing process, grammar and punctuation, style, citing references, and more.
Books
Kress, Nancy. Beginnings, middles and ends. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's Digest;
London: Hi Marketing, 1999.
NONFIC 808.3 KRESS
Perry, Susan K. Writing in flow: keys to enhanced creativity. Cincinnati, Ohio:
Writer's Digest Books, c1999.
NONFIC 808.02 PERRY
Ragland, Margit Feury. Get a freelance life: mediabistro.com's insider guide to
freelance writing. New York: Three Rivers Press, c2006.
NONFIC 808.02 RAGLAND
Saltzman, Joel. If you're writing, let's talk: a road map past writers' blocks
from page one to the end. Rocklin, CA: Prima Pub., c1997.
NONFIC 808.02 SALTZMAN
Smiley, Jane. Thirteen ways of looking at the novel. New York: Knopf, 2005.
NONFIC 813.54 SMILEY
return to top
JOBS, GRANTS, & FREELANCING
Web Sites
FundsforWriters
Search for grants and contests that fund writing or research projects, as well as freelance and
contract job market opportunities.
JournalismJobs.com
Job site for magazine, newspaper, wire, radio/TV, freelance, and online journalists.
return to top
WRITERS ORGANIZATIONS, GROUPS & CONFERENCES
Web Sites
*** Georgia Writers Association
"Statewide association serving Georgia's diverse literary communities."
Guides to Writers' Conferences & Workshops
From Shaw Guides, a free online directory of upcoming writers' conferences and workshops
worldwide.
Mystery Writers of America
"Premier organization for mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime writing field,
aspiring crime writers, and those that are devoted to the genre."
Romance Writers of America
Professional association for 9,500 published and aspiring romance writers.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America
Primary organization for science fiction and fantasy writers.
Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators
Professional organization for writers and illustrators of children's books.
Universal Writers Group
"One of the best writer's groups on the internet." Critique boards on all genres.
Writers Guild of America
Organization for writers in motion picture, cable, broadcast and new media industries. Research
links, industry news, online script registration.
return to top
SPECIAL CATEGORIES: Journalism, Movies, Romance, Poetry, SF, Electronic
Web Sites
Charlotte Dilon's Resources for Romance Writers
Useful for romance writers. Links, manuscript preparation, character development, publisher and
agent information.
Christian Writers' Market Guide
Publisher lists for books & magazines, conferences, & other tools for writers in the
Christian genres.
Critters Workshop
Online workshop for science fiction, fantasy, and horror writers. Members may submit one
critique/week in return for having their work critiqued.
Done Deal
Screenwriting news resource, includes info on agents, managers, contests, law firms, production
companies for script writers, advice columns, forums, chat, and newsletter. Examples of query
letters, contracts, outlines, etc.
Freelance Writing Organization, International
Tries to have "world's largest, free, online writing resource database."
Hollywood Lit Sales
Screenwriters can submit material or use the phone evaluation service; tips, jobs, contests, ask
a Hollywood pro.
JournalistExpress
Links and lists to help journalists doing research - news, magazines, reference tools,
statistics, databases and more.
Poetic Voices
Encouragement and tools for the poet. Mechanics of writing poetry, conferences, contests,
links.
Power Reporting
Research portal with thousands of tools for journalists and writers in general.
Ralan's SpecFic & Humor Webstravaganza
Good resources for SF and fantasy writers with extensive links for all writers. Good articles,
tips, and how-tos.
Smart Writers
For writers for children, market listings, conference info, submission guidelines, info for
schools & bookstores to contact authors for appearances.
The Poetry Market
Free e-zine for poets - contests, markets, reviews, & message board.
Web del Sol
Electronic publishing site whose purpose is to "promote, fund, & support the writing,
publishing, & reading of contemporary literature in electronic media."
WriteMovie.com
Portal for film makers.
WritersWeekly
E-zine on freelancing, with articles, markets, forum.
Books
Bova, Ben. Craft of writing science fiction that sells. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's Digest Books, c1994.
NONFIC 808.3876 BOVA
Corvasce, Mauro V. Murder one: a writer's guide to homicide. Cincinnati, Ohio:
Writer's Digest Books, c1997.
NONFIC 808.3 CORVASCE
Curtis, Richard. How to get your e-book published. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's
Digest Books, 2002.
NONFIC 070.5797 CURTIS
Frey, James N. How to write a damn good mystery: a practical step-by-step guide
from inspiration to finished manuscript. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2004.
NONFIC 808.3872 FREY
Golub, Marcia. I'd rather be writing. Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's Digest Books,
c1999.
NONFIC 808.02 GOLUB
Haddad, Michael. The screenwriter's sourcebook: a comprehensive marketing guide
for screen and television writer's. Chicago, Ill.: Chicago Review Press, c2005.
NONFIC 808.2306 HADDAD
Litowinsky, Olga. It's a bunny-eat-bunny world. New York: Walker, 2001.
NONFIC 808.06 LITOWINS
Rabiner, Susan. Thinking like your editor: how to write great serious nonfiction
- and get it published. New York: W. W. Norton, c2002.
NONFIC 808.02 RABINER
Wainger, Leslie J. Writing a romance novel for dummies. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley,
c2004.
NONFIC 808.385 WAINGER
Woolley, Persia. How to write and sell historical fiction. Cincinnati, Ohio:
Writer's Digest Books, c1997.
NONFIC 808.381 WOOLLEY
Writing, directing and producing documentary films and videos. Carbondale:
Southern Illinois University Press, 2002.
NONFIC 070.18 ROSENTHA
return to top
SELF-PUBLISHING
Web Sites
Go Publish Yourself
"Pipeline of self-publishing information & resources." Articles, interviews, links, and
advice from self-publishing authors for self-publishing authors.
Para Publishing
Dan Poynter shows how to write, produce, promote and market your book. Use the "Information On"
tab to navigate the resources.
Small Publishers Association of North America
"One-stop online resource for book publishing know how" for small publishers and self-publishing
authors.
Books
Poynter, Dan. The self-publishing manual: how to write, print, and sell your own
book. 14th ed., rev. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Para Publishing, 2003.
NONFIC 070.593 POYNTER
Salisbury, Linda G. Smart self-publishing: an author's guide to producing a
marketable book. 2nd ed. Charlotte Harbor, Fla.: Tabby House, c1997.
NONFIC 070.593 SABAH
return to top
|